MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

MIT logo Search Contact

13th Cycle Nominees for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture

More than 1900 images of nominated sites are now available.

Information on and images of 137 projects nominated during the 13th cycle of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (AKAA) is now available on Archnet.  The prestigious prize is awarded every 3 years to projects that set new standards of excellence in architecture, planning practices, historic preservation and landscape architecture.

The diverse list of AKAA nominees includes a wide variety of projects in more than 40 countries around the world.  There are rehabilitation and construction projects in Tunisia, SpainPalestine and Bahrain; housing projects in Yemen, Turkey, and Indonesia; educational and cultural facilities in Kenya, Iran, Australia, and Algeria and Afghanistan; mosques in Switzerland, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, and China; gardens or parks in Lebanon and Kuwait; development projects for disadvantaged communities in Rwanda and India; and much more.


More detailed information is available about the 19 projects shortlisted for the 13th cycle, including the 5 recipients announced in October 2016.


Related posts