MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

MIT logo Search Contact

OA policies at other universities

This list includes U.S. and Canadian colleges and universities who have passed open access policies. If the policy does not cover the entire faculty or is an opt-in or ‘encouragement’ based policy, it is identified as such.

Allegheny College
Amherst College
Arizona State University (“hybrid policy:” applies automatically for faculty who have grants from funders with an OA requirement, but is otherwise opt-in.)
Arizona State University Libraries
Boston University
Brigham Young University (ONLY: Dept. of Instructional Psychology and Technology; Library)
Bryn Mawr
Bucknell University
California Institute of Technology
California State University
College of Wooster
Columbia Earth Observatory and School of Social Work (ONLY: Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Libraries, School of Social Work)
Concordia University
DePauw University
Dartmouth College (School of Engineering and Faculty of Arts & Sciences)
Duke University
Emory University
Florida State University
Georgia Tech
Grinnell College (Permissions-based policy but dependent on individual author negotiation with publisher)
Gustavus Adolphus College Library (ONLY: Library)
Harvard Business School
Harvard Divinity School
Harvard Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Harvard Law School
Harvard Kennedy School of Government
Harvard University Graduate School of Design
Harvard University Graduate School of Education
Harvard Medical School (Includes clinical faculty)
Harvard School of Public Health
Indiana University Bloomington
Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne
Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Lafayette College
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Miami University of Ohio (ONLY: Library)
Middlebury College
North Carolina State University (Not a true policy)
Oberlin College
Olin College
Oregon State University
Penn State
Princeton University
Rice University (Does not include license to university)
Rollins College
Rutgers University
Simon Fraser University
Smith College
Southern Illinois University, Carbondale (Not true policy: opt in approach)
Stanford School of Education
Trinity University
University of Arizona
University of Arkansas Fayetteville
University of California San Francisco
University of California system
University of Colorado Boulder
University of Delaware
University of Hawaii-Manoa (Has graduate student policy also)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
University of Iowa (Not true policy)
University of Kansas
University of Maryland
University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Minnesota
University of North Carolina. Chapel Hill
University of North Texas
University of North Carolina Greensboro (ONLY: Library)
University of Northern Colorado Library Faculty (ONLY: Library)
University of Oregon (ONLY: Dept. of Romance Languages and Library Faculty)
University of Pennsylvania (Not true policy: opt in approach)
University of Puerto Rico School of Law
University of Rhode Island
University of Texas at Austin (ONLY: Library)
University of Virginia (Not true policy)
Utah State University
University of Washington (Not true policy)
Virginia Tech
Wake Forest University (ONLY: Library)
Wellesley College

Page last updated June 10, 2022