New Simon Rattle DVDs in the Lewis Music Library

The Lewis Music Library now has all 7 volumes of the DVDs series “Leaving home: orchestral music in the 20th century: a conducted tour by Sir Simon Rattle.”


  • 1, Dancing on a volcano: Wagner, Schönberg, Mahler, Strauss, Webern, Berg.
    MT125.L43 2005 v.1 [DVD]
  • 2, Rhythm: Stravinsky, Varèse, Ligeti, Reich, Boulez, Messiaen, Mahler, Nancarrow.
    MT125.L43 2005 v.2 [DVD]
  • 3, Colour: Debussy, Stravinsky, Boulez , Messiaen, Takemitsu, Ravel.
    MT125.L43 2005 v.3 [DVD]
  • 4, Three journeys through dark landscapes: Bartók, Shostakovich, LutosÅ‚awski.
    MT125.L43 2005 v.4 [DVD]
  • 5, The American way: Gershwin, Ives, Cage, Carter, Feldman, Copland, Adams, Weill, Riley, Bernstein.
    MT125.L43 2005 v.5 [DVD]
  • 6, After the wake: Strauss, Schoenberg, Webern, Boulez, Stockhausen, Britten, Stravinsky.
    MT125.L43 2005 v.6 [DVD]
  • 7, Threads: Berio, Henze, Kurtág, Birtwistle, Turnage, Knussen, Gubaidulina.
    MT125.L43 2005 v.7 [DVD]

DVDs circulate for 3 days (limit of 5, no renewals). The Lewis Music Library is located in Bldg. 14E-109 and IAP hours are Mon-Fri, 10am-6pm; Sat-Sun, 1pm-5pm.