IAP 2013: Culture, Arts, and Society

Posted December 20th, 2012 by Mark Szarko

Join the MIT Libraries for a series of classes on topics that range from bookbinding to multimedia sites to hidden treasures in the MIT Archives. Some classes require preregistration.

book spines

Photo: L. Barry Hetherington

Creative Bookbinding
Tue Jan 8, 10:00am-12:00pm, 14-0513
Wed Jan 9, 10:00am-12:00pm, 14-0513
Contact: Andrew Haggarty, ahaggart@mit.edu

Reading Programming Code as a Cultural Object
Wed Jan 9, 4-5:00pm, 14E-311
Contact: Patsy Baudoin, patsy@mit.edu

Arts and Culture Multimedia in the MIT Libraries
Thu Jan 10, 3-4:00pm, 14N-132
Contact: Mark Szarko, szarko@mit.edu

Weird Science: Finding the Unexpected in the Libraries’ Rare Book Collections
Fri Jan 11, 10:30am-12:00pm, 14N-118
Contact: Audrey Pearson, pearsona@mit.edu

Using Images in Your Work: A Look at Fair Use, Open Licensing, Copyright, and Identifying and Citing Images
Fri Jan 11, 12-1:00pm, 14N-132
Contact: copyright-lib@mit.edu

Rare Books 101: Discover MIT’s Rare Book Collections – Cancelled
Fri Jan 18, 10:30-11:30am, 14N-118
Contact: Stephen Skuce, skuce@mit.edu

MIT Enters a Brave New World: A Snapshot of Life at MIT in the 1960s
Fri Jan 25, 2-3:30pm, 14N-118
Contact: Camille Torres, cttorres@mit.edu

Exploring the Institute Archives and Special Collections
Fri Feb 1, 1-2:00pm, 14N-118
Contact: Nora Murphy, nmurphy@mit.edu

For a complete list of IAP classes offered by the Libraries on other topics, please see our Calendar of Events.

--