At MIT

At Academic Institutions

At US Government Sites

At Industry/Research
Organizations

Subject Index



Anne Graham
Barker Engineering
Library
grahama@mit.edu




MIT
MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Publication Types

Technical Reports

Technical Reports at United States Government Sites

General:

Agency Specific:

NTIS
GPO Monthly Catalog
EnergyPortal
GrayLIT
DTIC
DOE
EPA
MCEER
NASA
NRC
USGS

General Technical Reports Sources

NTIS

*Only accessible to MIT community*

A database of citations to scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related research sponsored by the U.S. Government and international sources from 1964 to the present. Some reports from before 1964 are also in the NTIS database.
Top of page
GPO Monthly Catalog

*Only accessible to MIT community*

The most comprehensive listing of federal publications. It attempts to index all the unclassified publications of federal government agencies; publications that cover all subject areas from 1976 to the present.
Top of page
Energy Portal Searches one or all of the following databases:
  • DOE Information Bridge
  • DTIC Technical Reports Database
  • DOE OpenNet Database
  • IBM Patents Database
  • DOE Reports Bibliographic Database
  • NASA CASI Technical Reports
  • DOE R&D Accomplishments
  • PubSCIENCE (prior to 1990)
  • DOE R&D Project Summaries Database
  • PubSCIENCE (1990 - present)
  • CANCERLIT Bibliographic Database
  • Combined Health Information Database
  • PubMed Database
  • Electronic Resource Plutonium Library
  • Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
  • Atmospheric Radiation Measurement Program
  • Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center
  • Environment Management Science Research Projects
  • EPA Technical Reports
  • NOAA Photo Collection (Images)
  • OBER Abstracts Database
  • American Petroleum Institute Database
  • US Geological Survey Energy Resources Database
  • NASA Image Exchange (Images)
  • Alternative Fuels Data Center
  • Bioenergy Information Network
  • NREL Photographic Information Exchange (Images)
Top of page
GrayLIT Network

*ONLY RETRIEVES FULL-TEXT REPORTS*

Searches one or all of the following databases:
  • DTIC Report Collection
  • NASA Jet Propulsion Lab Reports
  • DOE Information Bridge
  • NASA Langley Technical Reports
  • EPA Reports - NEPIS
Top of page
Top of page

Agency Specific Technical Reports Sources

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Technical Reports Database Citations and full-text of unclassified/unlimited technical reports published since late December 1974.
Top of page

Department of Energy (DOE) Information Bridge

DOE Data Explorer
Citations and full-text reports (1940s-present) detailing basic and applied scientific research in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.energy sciences and related areas. Developed and maintained by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI).
Top of page
U.S. EPA Technical Reports and Publications Provides links to the following report series:
  • Environmental Test Methods and Guidelines
  • National Center for Environmental Publications and Information (NCEPI)
  • Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards (OAQPS) Technology Transfer Network (TTN)
  • Office of Research and Development (ORD) Publications
    • 1997 Technical Assistance Directory for the Office of Research and Development
    • National Center for Environmental Assessment Publications - recent risk assessments and guidelines.
    • NERL - Ecosystems Research Division - (1994-1997).
    • NERL - Environmental Sciences Division - recently published research.
    • NHEERL - Gulf Ecology Division Publications (division of National Health and Environmental Effects Research Laboratory).
    • NHEERL - Mid-Continent Ecology Division - published reports and presentations (1995-present).
    • Environmental Monitoring and Assessment Program (EMAP)
  • Office of Science and Technology (OST) water quality publications.
  • Office of Solid Waste Catalog of Hazardous and Solid Waste Publications: 11th Edition. A select list of EPA's hazardous and solid waste documents through September 1998.
    • Hazardous Waste Identification Studies - Download copies of the solvent and petroleum refining residuals studies.
    • RCRA Online - Identifies and indexes RCRA correspondence.
    • Technology Transfer and Support Division [formerly (CERI)]
    Top of page
MCEER Publications Catalog Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (formerly the National Center for Earthquake Engineering Research). Citations (1987-present).
Top of page
NASA Technical Reports

MIT Aeronautics and Astronautics Library's Finding Guide for NASA Technical Reports.

Top of page

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)

*ONLY RETRIEVES FULL-TEXT REPORTS*

Full-text, but only a subset of NUREGs published since 1997. This is only a small percentage of the total number of NUREGs published by the agency and does not include archival reports published through 1996.
Top of page
USGS Publications Warehouse

 

The reports and thematic maps database currently contains more than 69,000 USGS bibliographic citations, including USGS numbered series begun as early as 1880. Citations and online documents are added regularly. Availability of content ranges from full text to bibliographic citation only.

The database will eventually include citations for all USGS-authored products. Currently it primarily contains products published by the USGS.

The ability to search recently published reports has been added. Recently released reports and maps can be searched by month. This listing is for those reports for which the USGS is the publisher and have been registered with the Publications Warehouse. This does not include the articles published in scientific journals at this time.


Top of page
Top of page




This page was last updated on 07/16/08
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT