Overview Locating Reports Sources Other Websites
Annual Reports Collection (paper reports) Compact D/SEC (aka Compact Disclosure) Compustat North America & Compustat Global Disclosure Microfiche Disclosure Reports Disclosure Select International Annual Reports Disclosure Select Top Companies Laser/D & Laser/D International LexisNexis Academic Listing Statements of the New York Stock Exchange Mergent/Moody’s Manuals Moody’s International Annual Reports & Moody's Global Annual Reports NAARS Annual Reports (aka AICPA Annual Reports) Orbis SEC-File Standard & Poor’s Stock Reports Worldscope
Annual Reports Collection (paper reports) - Paper - (1830s-1990s) – US & Non-US companies
Our collection of approximately 33,000 paper annual reports from over 2,400 companies was collected over many decades. Reports are stored off-campus.
To determine if a particular company report is in the Annual Reports Collection: browse the alphabetical index of companies (note: this is a 3MB XLS file).
Viewing reports: To have reports delivered to Dewey Library for viewing on-site, please fill out an Annex Request Form for each report desired. In your request, use the title "Corporate Annual Reports" and include in the Notes field the company name, year, specific box number and box barcode for each report which you are requesting (this information is included in the alphabetical index of companies). Also, you must select Dewey Library as your pickup location. Reports will not be delivered to other locations. Alternatively, you can view reports off-site at the Annex by appointment. Please refer to the Library Storage Annex website for procedures and guidelines. [Barton record]
(back to top)
Compact D/SEC (aka Compact Disclosure) – CD-ROM - (May 1989 – Jun 2006) – US companies - MIT & REGISTERED CARDHOLDERS ONLY
Includes financials and text extracted from 10-Ks and other SEC filings. Each company report contains the most current information available as of the date on the disc, as well as several previous years of financials. Each monthly disc includes the entire database of available companies. Using multiple discs is only required when earlier data is needed. The latest disc is installed on the Corporate Reports Workstations (PCs #24 & #25) in Dewey Library. Earlier discs can be requested by date at the Dewey service desk and used on the Corporate Reports Workstation. Alternatively, earlier discs can be checked out (MIT only) and used on a user’s computer, as each disc contains an executable file named DISC.EXE which enables access to the contents on each disc without installing any software to one's hard drive. For later reports similar to Compact D/SEC, use Disclosure Reports via LexisNexis Academic (see entry below). [Barton record]
Compustat North America – Online via WRDS - (1950-present) & Compustat Global (1987-present) – US and Non-US companies – MIT ONLY
Contains financial data extracted from company filings. Footnote codes are used to complement financial statements, but full Notes to Financial Statements are not included. MIT web certificates required for both on- and off-campus access.
Disclosure Microfiche - Fiche - (1968-1991, incomplete) – US & Non-US Companies
This microfiche collection includes reproductions of 10-K filings (1975-1991) and annual reports to shareholders (1968-1991) for US companies, as well as a small number of non-US annual reports from 1989. There is no online checklist to this collection. Fiche are filed alphabetically by company name in filing cabinets in the basement of Dewey Library. A fiche reader is located adjacent to the cabinets for viewing and printing from fiche.
Disclosure Reports – Online via LexisNexis Academic - (most recent report only) – US companies
Includes financials and text extracted from 10-K and other SEC filings. For earlier analogous reports, use Compact D/SEC (see entry above). Off-campus access (MIT ONLY) requires MIT web certificates.
To search: from the opening screen, select the red Sources tab at the top. Search for Disclosure. Select Disclosure(R) Online Database.
Disclosure Select International Annual Reports – CD-ROM - (1994-1999) – Non-US companies - MIT & REGISTERED CARDHOLDERS ONLY
This collection includes annual reports to shareholders spanning hundreds of CD-ROMs. Discs are numbered 2-0001 thru 2-0730 and are on reserve at Dewey. Software is installed on the Corporate Reports Workstations (PC #24) at Dewey. First, use the software's index to look up a company's available reports and the corresponding discs. Discs may then be requested from the service desk at Dewey and used with the software.
NOTE: This software conflicts with software for Disclosure Select Top Companies, requiring that they be installed on different machines.
Disclosure Select Top Companies – CD-ROM - (1995-1999) - US and Non-US companies - MIT & REGISTERED CARDHOLDERS ONLY
Includes 10-K filings, annual reports to shareholders, and proxy statements. Discs are numbered E0001-E0353 are on reserve at Dewey. Software is installed on the Corporate Reports Workstations (PC #25) at Dewey. First, use the software's index to look up a company's available reports and the corresponding discs. Discs may then be requested from the service desk at Dewey and used with the software.
NOTE: This software conflicts with software for Disclosure Select International Reports, requiring that they be installed on different machines.
Laser/D – CD-ROM - (1991-1996) & Laser/D International (1990-1996) – US and Non-US companies - MIT & REGISTERED CARDHOLDERS ONLY
Includes 10-K, 20-F, proxy statements, other SEC filings, and annual reports to shareholders. This source spans hundreds of CD-ROMs: Laser/D discs are numbered A0364 -A1324; Laser/D International discs are numbered I0001 - I0740. Discs are on reserve at Dewey. Software (called Global Access) is installed on the Corporate Reports Workstation (PC #24) in Dewey Library. The software contains an index to available reports and their corresponding discs from both products . Discs may then be requested from the service desk at Dewey and used with the software.
LexisNexis Academic – Online - (1987-present) - US and Non-US companies
The LexisNexis Academic interface is simple and provides quick access to SEC filings, although coverage is limited to larger-sized public companies. Includes the following SEC filings: 10-K, 10-Q, 20-F, 8-K, proxy statements, prospectuses, registration statements, Form 4 & Form 144. Off-campus access (MIT ONLY) requires MIT web certificates.
To search: Go to LexisNexis Academic. From the opening screen, select the red Search-Business tab at the top of the screen, then select the SEC Filings link at right.
Listing Statements of the New York Stock Exchange - Paper - (1884-1945) - US companies
Listing Statements contains financials, prospectuses, and other reported information published in advance of new issues of a company's stock trading on the NYSE. Dewey Library owns a nearly-complete run of Listing Statements from Vol. 1, 1884 thru Vol. 172, 1945 (only Vol. 169 is missing). All volumes are bound and stored off-campus.
To search: First, consult the alphabetical index on pages 2-39 of the Complete Index, Volumes I to CLXXII (note: this is a 7MB PDF file) to determine the entry numbers for your desired companies. Then, consult the Listing Statement Volume Numbers on page 1 of the Index to determine the volumes in which your entry numbers are contained. Lastly, consult the Barton record and the Library Storage Annex website for procedures for requesting or accessing individual volumes.
Mergent/Moody’s Manuals – Paper - (1900-present) - US and Non-US companies - shelved in Dewey Library Reference Collection at REFERENCE HG4501.M62
These annual series of bound volumes contain brief reports on companies. Financial and textual information is culled from SEC filings and other sources. Each year’s volumes are divided into manuals named for the types of companies they contain: Industrial Manual, Bank & Finance Manual, International Manual, etc. An annual paper index entitled Mergent Complete Corporate Index (we have the indices from 2001-present) identifies which companies are covered and in which manuals they can be found. This index is shelved with the manuals. Online access to these manuals is also available through WebReports, although not all manuals and years are included, and the print quality is sometimes poor.
Note: from 1900-1998, these books were commonly known as “Moody’s Manuals” until the brand was changed to “Mergent” in 1999.
Moody’s International Annual Reports – CD-ROM - (1992-1998) & Moody's Global Annual Reports (1995-1998) - US and Non-US companies - MIT & REGISTERED CARDHOLDERS ONLY
Includes annual reports to shareholders. Moody’s International Annual Reports discs are numbered IAR00001 - IAR00136. Moody's Global Annual Reports discs are numbered GAR00001 - GAR00047 (discs GAR00040 and GAR00044 are missing). Both titles share a single software platform, located on the Corporate Reports Workstation (PCs #24 & #25) in Dewey Library. The software contains an index to all available reports in both products and their corresponding discs. The list of companies covered by these two sources has also been reproduced as an Excel file called Index to Moody's IAR and GAR. Discs can then be requested from the service desk at Dewey and used with the software. [Barton records for Moody's IAR & GAR]
NAARS Annual Reports (aka AICPA Annual Reports) – Online via LexisNexis Academic - (1972-1995) - US companies
Includes portions of annual reports to shareholders and information extracted from SEC filings, including financial statements, footnotes, auditor's opinions, material incorporated by reference and management responsibility letters. Off-campus access (MIT ONLY) requires MIT web certificates.
To search: from the opening screen, select the red Sources tab at the top. Search for AICPA. Select Annual Reports - Corporate (AICPA).
NOTE: The official title of this source in LexisNexis Academic is now Annual Reports - Corporate (AICPA). It was formerly and more popularly known as NAARS Annual Reports in LexisNexis Academic, although it was originally produced by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA).
Orbis – Online - (1990s-present) - US and Non-US companies
This is the best source for EDGAR-era SEC filings and annual reports to shareholders. Includes as-reported and restated financials. Off-campus access is available (MIT ONLY) with MIT web certificates.
To search for annual reports, 10K filings, and other SEC filings in Orbis: Go to Orbis. Select Quick Search, then search for your company (a ticker symbol search is the most efficient method). On the results screen, click on the "globe" icon to the left of the desired company to see available annual reports to shareholders. Or, click on the "EOL" icon to the left of the desired company to view available 10K and other SEC filings.
SEC-File - Fiche - (1991-1998) - US companies
This microfiche collection includes reproductions of 10-K filings, annual reports to shareholders, and proxy statements. The fiche are numbered sequentially and filed by number in filing cabinets in the Dewey Basement. An index covering 1991-93 is available in microfiche format and filed in the cabinets before the first numbered fiche. A print update to the fiche index, covering 1991-1998, resides in a 3-ring binder adjacent to the fiche cabinets. A fiche reader is located adjacent to the cabinets for viewing and printing from fiche. Published by Q-Data Corporation.
Standard & Poor’s Stock Reports – Online via Market Insight - (2000-present) - US companies - shelved in Dewey Library Reference Collection at REFERENCE HG4907.S72 (see record in Barton for complete holdings)
Tearsheet reports on public companies. Latest several reports are available online. The latest print edition is in reference at Dewey Library while earlier editions are shelved in the basement
To search: Go to Market Insight. Use the Company tab to find your desired company. Once you are on a company’s main screen, you will find a link to S&P Stock Reports. Off-campus access (MIT ONLY) requires MIT web certificates.
Worldscope – via Datastream - (1973-present) - US and Non-US companies – MIT ONLY
Includes financials and other company data extracted from 10-K and other SEC filings. Datastream is only available to the MIT community on the Data/GIS Workstation (PC #12) at Dewey Library, in the MIT Sloan School of Management (in the Trading Room), and in the MIT Department of Economics. Users must log in with a Kerberos ID.
To search: In Datastream, search for companies by first conducting a Series search (in the Equities data category). Then conduct a Datatype search in Equities. The Group dropdown menu allows you to limit your search only to available Worldscope Data Items.
This page was last updated on 08/01/08