Maps in Rotch

   - Boston      Sanborn

   - Historic      Topos

   - MA      Sanborn

MIT campus maps

Map Databases & E-Journals

Maps on the Web

Online Travel Maps

Boston Area Map
Resources

Map Guides & Atlases



Topographic Maps

Geologic Maps

GIS Resources



Rotch Reference
rotch-ref@mit.edu


MIT
MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Publication Types

Maps- Urban Studies

Boston Sanborn Maps

Online | Microfilm | Print Collection

Boston Sanborn Maps Online

Electronic Sanborn Maps
Find Boston area Sanborn maps online using the digitized version of the Chadwyck-Healey Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Massachusetts. Years of coverage ranges from 1867-1970. These maps show:
  • the footprint of every building and record building size, use, address numbers.
  • vulnerability to fire, flood, and earthquakes.
  • industrial uses, dumps, parks, and cemeteries, making them useful for environmental and health assessments.
  • These maps record the social and architectural history of American cities and towns in Massachusetts.

Boston Sanborn Maps on Microfilm

  • detailed fire insurance maps by the Sanborn Map Company show building
    footprints, lot size, land use, etc.
  • Microfilm located in file cabinets at rear of Level 1 in Rotch Library
  • NOTE: Neighborhood boundaries may differ from their modern counterparts.
    Ex: Brighton
    was a separate municipality from Boston; the 1884 Brighton
    map is in Reel 11 with other towns.
  • modern Boston Sanborns (1964 and 1990) are in the microfilm of Sanborn
    maps for other Massachusetts cities and towns.

Contents of the microfilm collection of Sanborn maps from 1867-1982. [7 reels]
G1230.S26 1983

Reel 4

Town

Year

Vol.

Area

Sections

Beverly

1886-1937

Blackstone

1885-1940

Boston

1867

v. 1

Downtown

1885

v. 1

Downtown - South End

1-25C

1887

v. 2

Back Bay - South End

29-59

1888

v. 3

Roxbury - Jamaica Plain - West Roxbury, parts of Brighton & Brookline

62-100

1888

v. 4

South Boston - Dorchester - Mattapan

106-141

 

1888

v. 5

Charlestown - East Boston

146-178

Reel 5

top of page

Town

Year

Vol.

Area

Sections

Cambridge/ Somerville

1888

v. 6

parts of Somerville & Cambridge

182-219

Boston 1895 v. 1 Downtown - Chinatown

1-58

  1897 v. 2 Back Bay - South End - North Dorchester

1-83

1897

v. 3

Roxbury - Mission Hill - Jamaica Plain (aka "West Roxbury")

1-112

 

1899

v. 4

South Boston - North Dorchester

1-104

 

1900

v. 5

Charlestown - East Boston (incl Breed's Isl.)

1-111

Reel 6

Town

Year

Vol.

Area

Sections

Boston

1898

v. 6

Allston-Brighton, part of Brookline

1-118

  1898 v. 7 Jamaica Plain - Roslindale - West Roxbury - Hyde Park

1-118

  1899 v. 8 North Dorchester - Mattapan

1-110

1904

Central Business District

 

1922

water mains - Downtown  
 

1922

 

"Congested district" (Downtown) - shows bldg material type

 
  1909 v. 1 Downtown 1-58
  1929 v. 1N North End - West End - Downtown 1-34
      Central Bus. Distr. 1:250  
  1929 v. 1S Downtown - Chinatown - part of South End 35-68

Reel 7

top of page

Town

Year

Vol.

Area

Sections

Boston

1914

v. 2

Back Bay - South End

1-89

  1937 v. 2N Back Bay - Fenway

201-250

  1938 v. 2S South End

251-299

1919

v. 3

Fenway - Mission Hill - Jamaica Plain - Roxbury

1-114

1923

v. 4

South Boston - North Dorchester 401-499H
 

1927

v. 5

East Boston - Charlestown

501-599G

Reel 8

Town

Year

Vol.

Area

Sections

Boston

1925

v. 6

Allston - Brighton

601-699I

  1928 v. 7 Jamaica Plain - Roslindale - West Roxbury

1-98

  1931 v. 8 mid-Dorchester - Roxbury

801-899B

1908

v. 9

Dorchester

1-116

1931

v. 9

South Dorchester 901-999G
 

1929

v. 10

Roslindale - West Roxbury

1001-1095

Reel 9

top of page

Town

Year

Vol.

Area

Sections

Boston

1930

v. 11

Hyde Park - South Dorchester - West Roxbury

1101-1238

  1929 revised to 1946 v. 1N Downtown, incl. water supply mains & congested district maps

1-68

  1937 rev. to 1951 v. 2N Back Bay - Fenway

201-250

1938 rev. to 1950

v. 2S

South End

251-299

1919 rev. to 1947

v. 3

Fenway - Mission Hill - Jamaica Plain - Roxbury 1-114
 

1923 rev. to 1947

v. 4

South Boston - North Dorchester

401-499H

Reel 10

Town

Year

Vol.

Area

Sections

Boston

1927 revised to 1947

v. 5

East Boston - Charlestown

501-599H

  1925 rev. to 1949 v. 6 Allston - Brighton

601-699I

  1928 rev. to 1947 v. 7 Jamaica Plain - Roslindale - West Roxbury

1-98

1931 rev. to 1946

v. 8

Dorchester - Roxbury

801-899B

1931 rev. to 1947

v. 9

Dorchester 901-999H
 

1929 rev. to 1948

v. 10

Roslindale - West Roxbury

1001-1096

Reel 11

Town

Year

Vol.

Area

Sections

Boston

1930 revised. to 1950

v. 11-12

Hyde Park - South Dorchester - West Roxbury

1101-1239

Boston- misc. sheets 1916 v. 6 Brighton

88

  1917-1919 v. 4 South Boston

30, 65, 107

1920

v. 6

Brighton

26

Beverly-misc.sheets

1920

  58
Boston-misc. sheets

1922

v. 4

South Boston

9, 11, 19
  1922 v. 4 Dorchester 91
Bourne 1913-1941      
Braintree 1886-1935      
Bridgewater 1885-1936      
**Brighton 1884      
Brockton 1885-1950      

top of page

Boston Sanborn Maps Print Collection

The latest Boston Sanborns (1992/1995) are located on reserve.

The Reference/Indexes area has print collections for 1962, 1974, 1981, 1988.

Limited Access Collection (available Monday-Friday 10-5):

Note: no photocopying allowed due to fragility of these materials

Boston 1882 G1234.B6.C5 1882 (G.M. Hopkins)
Boston 1883 G1234.B6.A74 1883 v.1 (G.W. Bromley & Co.)*
Boston 1902 G1234.B7.B76x 1902 (G.W. Bromley & Co.)*
Boston 1917 G1234.B6.B868 1917 (G.W. Bromley & Co.)*
Boston 1922 G1234.B6.B868 1922 (G.W. Bromley & Co.)*
Boston 1928 G1234.B6.A75 1928 (G.W. Bromley & Co.)*
Boston 1929 G1234.B6 v. 1-5 (Sanborn)
Cambridge 1900 G1234.C2.S198 v. 2 (Sanborn)
Cambridge 1930 G1234.C3.A74 1930 (G.W. Bromley & Co.)

*Bromley covers downtown Boston and Back Bay/Fenway/South End only.




This page was last updated on 11/13/07
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT