 |
Maps on
the Web
Boston
Maps on the Web
The
Boston Atlas:
Is one of the best on-line web sites for historical and current
maps about Boston. Use the web site to:
MIT
Digital Ortho Photo Archive
- Boston
area digital orthophotos at several different zoom levels, with
pan, zoom, and download functionality.
- Digital
orthos provide detailed imagery with known and consistent coordinates.
Electronic
Sanborn Maps
Digitized
versions of the Chadwyck-Healey Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
of Massachusetts. Years of coverage range from 1867-1970.
These maps show:
-
the footprint of every building and record building size, use,
address numbers.
- vulnerability
to fire, flood, and earthquakes.
- industrial
uses, dumps, parks, and cemeteries, making them useful for environmental
and health assessments.
- These
maps record the social and architectural history of American
cities and towns in Massachusetts.
Boston Streets: Mapping Directory Data
"...contextualizes the people, places, and events that have shaped the city from the years before the American Civil War through 20th century urban renewal."
Digital
Atlas of Boston
Electronic
maps that indicate population and race, income, ancestry, etc.
for Boston and vicinity.
- Historic USGS Maps of New England & NY
This online collection of over 1500 USGS topographic maps includes complete geographical coverage of New England and New York from the 1890s to 1950s.
top
of page
Map Meta
Sites
American Memory - Library of Congress
Map Collections: 1500- present
David
Rumsey Historical Map Collection
Provides
a search database of their expansive collection. The Collection
focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America
cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe,
Asia and Africa are also represented.
- Berkeley's
Map & Cartography Site
Printed
and electronic resources, Internet resources in cartography,map
dealers & other publishers online.
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 450,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, includingilluminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
-
Oddens'
Bookmarks:
The Fascinating World of Maps & Mapmaking. More than 11,000
cartographic links from the University of Utrecht.
- Perry-Castaneda
Library Map Collection (Univ. of Texas)
Many
electronic maps from all over the world. An excellent site for
historical maps and with extensive links to other internet map
sites.
U.S.
Geological Survey
- National Mapping Information
Ordering
information for printed maps, software, aerial photos, and satellite
images. Ftp digital data sets and access geospatial data standards.
List of map dealers nationwide.
US University Map collection websites -page hosted by University of
Florida, George A. Smathers Libraries
ReliefWeb:
Reference and thematic maps concerning current and past humanitarian emergencies and natural disasters.
Put together by the humanitarian information Web site/service of the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA).
top of page
|
 |