 |
Maps in
Rotch
Finding
Maps in Barton Catalog
-
do an advanced search by collection type maps
- search
by subject, typing the place name and then maps:
ex:
United States maps, Massachusetts maps, Boston maps
- other
subject terms to try:
map
collections, maps and mapping, maps, early, cartography
- maps
are often included as plates in books; use a subject
search in Barton, then choose the "Full display" option to see
whether the book includes maps.
- for
atlases, use a combined keyword search: subject [place
name] and keyword [atlas*]
Locating Maps
in Rotch Library
- Most
maps: in cases located on Level 1. See a Reference Librarian
for access (M-F, 9am-5pm).
-
Atlases:
on the 6th floor or in the Indexes Alcove of the reference area
(along the back wall of the Library's main floor). Check Barton
catalog for location of specific items.
top
of page
Sanborns
& Bromleys
- Detailed
city maps showing building footprints, lot size, land use
- Fire
insurance maps published by Sanborn Map Company
- Real
estate atlases published by G.W. Bromley & Co.
Electronic
Sanborn Maps
Digitized
versions of the Chadwyck-Healey Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
of Massachusetts. Years of coverage range from 1867-1970.
These maps show:
-
the footprint of every building and record building size, use,
address numbers.
- vulnerability
to fire, flood, and earthquakes.
- industrial
uses, dumps, parks, and cemeteries, making them useful for environmental
and health assessments.
- These
maps record the social and architectural history of American
cities and towns in Massachusetts.
On
Microfilm (in file cabinets at rear of Level 1, new building):
Massachusetts towns, late 19th c.-1990:
contents of microfilm
[16 reels] G1230.F57 1991
Boston Sanborn maps 1867-1982:
contents of microfilm
[7 reels] G1230.S26 1983
Latest
Sanborns on reserve at the Circulation Desk:
-
| Boston |
1992/95
revised |
| Cambridge |
1996 |
| Brookline |
1957
revised to 1965 |
-
-
-
-
-
Reference
area, Indexes Alcove:
-
| Boston |
1962,
1974, 1981, 1988 |
| Brookline |
1957,
revised to 1965 |
| Cambridge |
1962,
1975/1976/1981, 1988, 1991 |
| Chelsea |
1911
ed. republished 1955, revised to 1966 |
| Everett
|
1910
ed. republshed 1955, revised to 1966 |
| Somerville
|
1960/62,
1975, 1981, 1988 |
| Arlington |
1973 |
| Winthrop |
1906
ed. republished 1954, revised to 1966 |
-
-
-
-
top of page
Atlas
Folio Stacks (6th floor rear):
-
| Manhattan
|
1920 |
G1254.N42.S198
1920 |
|
| Manhattan |
1921 |
G1254.N42.B8
1921 |
|
| Belmont
|
1931/1968
|
G1234.B4.S6
1931 |
|
| Savannah |
1955 |
G1314.S28.S26
1955 |
(by
rear stairwell) |
| Chicago |
1906 |
G1409.C6.S26
1906 |
(by
rear stairwell) |
| New
Orleans |
1994
|
G1364.N5.S26
1994 |
(by
rear stairwell) |
-
-
-
-
Limited Access Collection (available Monday-Friday 10-5):
Note:
no photocopying allowed due to fragility of these
materials
| Boston |
1882 |
G1234.B6.C5
1882 |
(G.M.
Hopkins) |
| Boston |
1883 |
G1234.B6.A74
1883 v.1 |
(G.W.
Bromley & Co.)* |
| Boston |
1902 |
G1234.B7.B76x
1902 |
(G.W.
Bromley & Co.)* |
| Boston |
1917 |
G1234.B6.B868
1917 |
(G.W.
Bromley & Co.)* |
| Boston |
1922 |
G1234.B6.B868
1922 |
(G.W.
Bromley & Co.)* |
| Boston
|
1928 |
G1234.B6.A75
1928 |
(G.W.
Bromley & Co.)* |
| Boston |
1929 |
G1234.B6
v. 1-5 |
(Sanborn) |
| Cambridge |
1900 |
G1234.C2.S198
v. 2 |
(Sanborn) |
| Cambridge |
1930 |
G1234.C3.A74
1930 |
(G.W.
Bromley & Co.) |
| Manhattan |
1970 |
G1254.N42.B8
1970 |
(G.W.
Bromley & Co.) |
*Bromley
covers downtown Boston and Back Bay/Fenway/South End only.
-
top
of page
Uncataloged
Maps in Rotch
- transportation
and public works (Level One, Map Room)
- aerial
photo maps, various dates - 1938, 1952, 1965, ... (Level
One, Map Room)
- Topographic
for a few states (Level 1 map file cases). The Science Library
holds a complete set of US topo maps (Stein Club Map Room)
- Photometric
base maps of Boston from the Boston Redevelopment Authority
(Level One, Map Room)
- Travel
maps for U.S. and foreign cities (Reference area)
- Boston
zoning maps (on reserve at Circ Desk, with the Boston Zoning
Code Notebook)
- Boston
street maps (Level One, Map Room)
top
of page
|
 |