 |
Boston
Area Map Resources
Sanborn
& Bromley Maps at Local Libraries
Boston
Public Library, One Copley Square, phone: 536-5400
Extensive
map collections; Bromley and Sanborn maps are available in the
Research Library.
Cambridge Public Library, 449 Broadway,
phone: 498-9080
G.W.
Bromley & Co. maps of Cambridge for 1894, 1903, 1906 and 1930
only.
Insurance
Library Assoc. of Boston,
156 State Street, phone: 227-2087
Sanborn maps for most New England towns; Sanborn maps of Boston
from 1800s to early 1970s. Open to the public for reference use,
M-F 9 to 5.
Massachusetts
State Library, Special Collections Dept., State House, Room
55, phone: 727-2595
Sanborn maps for most Massachusetts cities and towns available
on microfilm; many also available in hard copy.
Harvard
Map Collection in Pusey Library,
Harvard Yard, phone: 495-2417
Nearly
60,000 Sanborn fire insurance maps for Massachusetts, including
the very first Sanborn published (Boston, 1867).
For
the most up-to-date revisions, contact the local building departments
in town or city halls.
Boston:
Building Department, 1010 Massachusetts Ave., phone: 442-0046
Cambridge: Building Department 797 Massachusetts
Ave., phone: 498-9013
top
of page
Map
Repositories in the Boston Area
Boston
Public Library (Rare Book Reading Room), Copley Square, phone:
536-5400. Mon-Fri. 9 to 5.
Large
collection of both local and world maps and atlases with a strong
collection of South American and European maps; 16th century maps
of well-known cartographers and publishers; 19th century "birds
eye view" maps; 275 maps of the West Indies.
Harvard
Map Collection in Pusey Library, Harvard Yard, phone: 495-2417.
Mon-Fri, 9-4:45. Call for holiday hours and university vacations.
While
primarily serving the Harvard community, Pusey Library is open to
the public and encourages qualified researchers to use its collections.
The collection comprises 400,000 maps, 6,000 atlases and 5,000 reference
books. Collections include large-scale current topographic maps
for geographic areas throughout the world, early state maps, county
maps, and town maps from the mid-19th century.
Massachusetts
State Archives, Columbia Point, Boston, phone: 727-2816.
The
largest manuscript map collection in the state from colonial times
to the 1950s.
Massachusetts
State Library, Special Collections Department, State House,
Room 55, phone 727-2595. Mon-Fri, 9-5.
A
broad and rich historic and current collection of maps covering
most Massachusetts communities, especially 19th and 20th century
commercial publications. It includes county land ownership maps,
current and historic topographic maps, panoramic view of Massachusetts
communities, maps of Boston harbor, 19th century maps and plans
of railroads, 19th and 20th century atlases for most Massachusetts
counties and communities, Sanborn fire insurance maps, and printed
maps issued by Massachusetts state government agencies, including
the Massachusetts Board of Harbor and Land Commissioners.
Buying
Maps
Globe Corner Book Store, 28 Church St,
Cambridge (Harvard Sq.), 497-6277. E-mail: info@gcb.com
Topographical maps for all of New England, travel maps and guides
and a lot more.
Boston
Redevelopment Authority, Boston City Hall, Government Center,
phone 722-4300. Current
maps of neighborhoods, wards, precincts and districts.
top
of page
|
 |