Ask Us!

Databases &
E-journals

MIT Libraries Guide to Resources in Psychology

Related Links


MIT Department of Brain and Cognitive Science


Mark Szarko
Instruction Coordinator,
Humanities Library
szarko@mit.edu





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Psychology

MIT Libraries Guide to Resources in Psychology


This guide is intended to be an introduction to selected sources in psychology in the MIT Libraries. As such, it is not exhaustive. Due to the diversity of teaching and research in psychology, the collection is divided among four libraries:
Humanities and Science Libraries
general psychology, history of psychology, animal behavior, experimental psychology, psycholinguistics, physiological psychology, neurophysiology, neuroanatomy, and neuropsychology.
Dewey Library
social psychology, industrial and organizational psychology.
Rotch Library
aspects of psychology related to art, architecture, and environmental and urban design.

Abbreviations used in this guide are as follows:

Annex:
Library Storage Annex (Ask at a reference desk)
DEW:
Dewey Library (E53-100)
HUM:
Humanities Library (14S-200)
RCH:
Rotch Library (7-238)
SCI:
Science Library (14S-100)
To find publications at MIT not listed in this guide use:
  • Barton, the online catalog
  • Dewey Decimal Microfiche for some materials acquired before 1963
If you can't find what you are looking for, ask a librarian.

Table of Contents

  1. GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE
  2. ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES
  3. BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  4. STYLE MANUALS
  5. HANDBOOKS
  6. ACCESS TO ELECTRONIC JOURNALS AND DATABASES
  7. LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATIONS RELEVANT TO PSYCHOLOGY
  8. USE OF THE TEUBER LIBRARY

I. Guides to the Literature

•Baxter, Pam. Psychology: a Guide to Reference and Information Sources. Colorado : Libraries Unlimited, 1993.
HUM REF BF121.B39 1993
This volume brings together over 500 selected sources in psychology, the social sciences, and related non-social science disciplines.
•Psychology : an introductory bibliography. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press ; Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, 1996.
HUM REF BF121.P79 1996
Includes articles as well as books. Annotated entries cover "each of the major subdivisions of psychology" to give the reader the "lay of the land regarding a given topic."
•Reed, Jeffrey G. and Pam Baxter. Library Use: A Handbook for Psychology. Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association, 1992. HUM REF BF76.R43 1992
Published by the American Psychological Association, this tool provides guidance in selecting and defining the topic for a research paper as well as an introduction to reference tools in Psychology.
•Wolfe, Jeremy and Jennie Sandberg. What is Where and Why Do I Care?: A Library Guide for Psychology Students. New York: Macmillan, 1993. HUM REF BF76.5.W65 1993
A short, practical guide to the library research process in Psychology.
Back to Table of Contents

II. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

•Cardwell, Mike. The Dictionary of psychology.
London ; Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1999, c1996. HUM REF BF31.C37 1999
•Corsini, Raymond J. The Dictionary of psychology. Philadelphia, PA : Brunner/Mazel, c1999.
HUM REF BF31.C72 1999
The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science. New York: Wiley, 2001.
HUM REF BF31.E52 2001
This four-volume set covers the entire field of psychology. Alphabetically arranged entries cover both subject and biographical information; many include references. Author and subject indexes in volume 4. This is a good place to begin research on a topic. It provides definitions, historical background, general information and references to further sources of information.
•Encyclopedia of human emotions / edited by David Levinson, James J. Ponzetti, Jr., Peter F. Jorgensen.
HUM REF BF531.E55 1999
Two-volume work covers Abandonment to Xenophobia. Provides an index to bibliographies and an extensive subject index.
•Encyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, and psychoanalysis / Benjamin B. Wolman, editor in chief. New York : Henry Holt, c1996. HUM REF RC437.E49 1996
Attempts to update and compress into 1 volume the 13-volume International encyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, psychoanalysis & neurology published in 1977.
•Encyclopedia of psychology. Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000. HUM REF BF31.E53 2000
8 volumes. Bibliographies follow articles. Vol. 8 has an extensive index and a "Synoptic outline of contents" or conceptual categories for the entries in the Encyclopedia.
•The Encyclopedia of Stress / edited by George Fink. San Diego, Ca. : Academic Press, c2000.
SCI REF BF575.S75.E53
This three volume work describes itself as "a complete source of information on the phenomenon of stress." It provides brief overviews for several stress disorders, attempting to include the physiological and biochemical aspects as well as the relationships of stress to human health and emotion.
•The MIT encyclopedia of the cognitive sciences / edited by Robert A. Wilson and Frank C. Keil. Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c1999. HUM REF BF311.M556 1999.
Also available online: http://cognet.mit.edu/MITECS/
The 6 fields represented by the 471 articles are themselves introduced in essays which both guide one through this book and give an overview of the field.

Back to Table of Contents


III. Biographical Information

•Zusne, Leonard. Biographical Dictionary of Psychology. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
HUM REF BF109.A1.Z85 1997
Short biographical entries on several hundred deceased psychologists and others who have contributed to the development of psychology. Years covered range from approximately 546 BC to 1976 AD. Information includes philosophies held, inventions and discoveries, and important books and articles. Additional sources of biographical material are often given.

IV. Style Manuals

•American Psychological Association. Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association, 2001.
HUM REF BF76.7.A46 2001 *
This is the authoritative source for the style and format to be used in preparation of psychology papers. Included are specifications and procedures to follow in submitting manuscripts for publication in various journals.

•Rosnow, Ralph L. Writing Papers in Psychology: a Student Guide. Pacific Grove, California: Brooks/Cole Publishing Company, 1995. HUM BKS BF76.7.R67 1995*

* Check Barton for current location.

Back to Table of Contents


V. Handbooks

•Advances in Child Development and Behavior. San Diego: Academic Press. HUM BF721.A244. v.1, 1963 -- present
Annual publication summarizing the world's literature in child development. Subject index appears at the end of each volume along with a cumulation of the contents of previous volumes.
•Annual Review of Psychology. Stanford, CA: Annual Reviews. HUM BF30.A614. 1950 -- present. Available online: [1984-present]: http://psych.AnnualReviews.org/
Summarizes and critically reviews the best work in all areas of psychology for each year. A great place to begin research. Good source for bibliographies.
•Herrnstein, Richard J. and Edwin G. Boring. (eds.) A Source Book in the History of Psychology. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1966. HUM REF BF81.H568
A collection of classic papers in psychology (most are pre-1900.) Topics range from the nature of psychology to writings on learning and memory. Included are works by William James, Ebbinghaus, Aristotle, Locke, and Descartes.
Handbook of Child Psychology / William Damon, editor-in-chief. New York: Wiley, 1998. HUM REF BF721.C287 1998 v. 1-4
This handbook provides a theoretical overview of the field of child psychology. The set is divided into 4 volumes: v.1 History, Theory and Methods; v.2 Infancy and Developmental Psychobiology; v.3 Cognitive Development; v.4 Socialization, Personality, and Social Development. Author and subject indexes at the end of each volume. Bibliographies at the end of each chapter.
Handbook of emotions / edited by Michael Lewis, Jeannette M. Haviland-Jones. New York : Guilford Press, c2000.
HUM REF BF561.H35 2000
The Harvard guide to psychiatry / edited by Armand M. Nicholi, Jr. Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1999. HUM REF RC454.N47 1999
•The Oxford handbook of memory / edited by Endel Tulving, Fergus I.M. Craik.
HUM REF BF371.O84 2000
•Posner, Michael I. (ed.) Foundations of Cognitive Science. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1989.
HUM REF and SCI BF311.F66 1989
A review of the foundations of cognitive science with chapters on: memory, visual attention, problem solving, language acquisition, etc. Useful bibliographies.
•Psychoanalytic Study of the Child. New Haven: Yale University Press. HUM BF721.P724 v.1,1945 - present
Published annually, this book series focuses on the psychoanalytic development of children. Use the index volume to see abstracts of works included.
•Psychology of Learning and Motivation: Advances in Research and Theory. San Diego:Academic Press, Inc. HUM BF683.P974 v.1,1967 - present
Annual publication summarizing the literature in learning and memory. Subject index is included in the back of each volume.

Back to Table of Contents


VI. Access to Electronic journals and Databases

Retrieve a list of psychology oriented databases with descriptions online:
http://libraries.mit.edu/db/psych
Retrieve a list of electronic journals in psychology and related fields online: http://libraries.mit.edu/ej/psych
 

Back to Table of Contents


VII. Library of Congress Classifications Relevant to Psychology:

General Psychology   BF
Abnormal Psychology   BF173
Clinical Psychology
  RC467
Cognitive Psychology   BF309-493
Comparative Psychology   BF660-678
Developmental Psychology   BF712-724.85
Educational Psychology   LB1051-1091
Emotion, Psychology of   BF511-593
Industrial and Applied Psychology   BF481-483
Learning and Conditioning   BF335-337
Memory   BF370-395
Motivation   BF501-504.3
Neuropsychology   QP360
Parapsychology   BF1001-1389
Perception   BF311
Personality, Psychology of   BF698
Physiological Psychology   QP351-499
Psychiatry   RC455
Psychoanalytic Theory   BF173.A2-175
Psycholinguistics   P37
Psychological Tests   BF176
Senses and Sensation   BF231-299
Social Psychology   HM251-291

Back to Table of Contents


VIII. Use of the Teuber Library (NE20-380)

The Teuber Library contains specialized materials on cognition, language, memory, and perception. Many of the Teuber Library's books and journals are not duplicated in the MIT Libraries. The web site at http://web.mit.edu/bcs/teuber/ gives more information, including library hours and access to the online list of journals. Books in the Teuber Library may be borrowed on a weekly basis only. Students in 9.00 need permission from their TA's to use the Teuber Library and will need to leave their dorm phone numbers in addition to showing their MIT IDs.

Back to Table of Contents

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 12/04/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT