Ask Us!

General Resources

Resources by:

Properties

Materials

Chemicals

Need More Help?

Other webpages for property information


Erja Kajosalo
Chemistry Librarian
kajosalo@mit.edu

Angie Locknar
Materials Science and Engineering Librarian
locknar@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Properties of Materials and Chemicals

Resources by Materials: Unknown

Online resources [MIT only]:
ASM Alloy Center

ASM property data, performance charts, and processing guidelines for specific metals and alloys.

Tip: Go to Materials Property Data or the Alloy Finder and do an Advanced Search for your properties.

CHEMnetBASE

Includes major chemical reference works from Chapman & Hall/CRC, including Combined Chemical Dictionary and Properties of Organic Compounds (both fully sub-structure searchable), as well as The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics; Polymers, A Property Database; and Properties of Organic Compounds.

Tip: In CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, look for the Substance/Property Search link on the left hand side. If looking for a chemical, try the Combined Chemical Dictionary or Properties of Organic Compounds.

CINDAS Microelectronics Packaging Materials Database [MPMD] Contains data on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of electronics packaging materials, including over 750 materials and over 15,000 data curves. Developed under the sponsorship of the Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC).
CINDAS Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database [TPMD] Contains thermophysical properties of over 5,000 materials with approximately 50,000 data curves. Searchable by material, by property, or by partial string (name). Dynamic graphing capabilities allow users to compare the same property of multiple materials, change scale ranges, and export and import data.
CrossFire Databases

CrossFire Gmelin for inorganic materials
CrossFire Beilstein for organic materials

Tip: Put the molecular formula in Hill Order.

Knovel

Engineering and science handbooks online

Tip: Go to the Advanced Search screen to enter your parameters, e.g. melting point > 1000 C.

Polymers: a property database

Tip: Click Search, then Property Search to enter your parameters.

Online resources [Freely available]:
AZoM - The A to Z of Materials and AZojomo - The AZo Journal of Materials Online AZoM is a materials information source for the engineering and design community. It also publicizes news, views and developments within the materials science community.

 

Back to top

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 07/30/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT