Ask Us!

General Resources

Resources by:

Properties

Materials

Chemicals

Need More Help?

Other webpages for property information


Erja Kajosalo
Chemistry Librarian
kajosalo@mit.edu

Angie Locknar
Materials Science and Engineering Librarian
locknar@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Properties of Materials and Chemicals

Resources by Materials: Polymers

Online resources [MIT only]:
ASM Handbooks Online
Look for the ASM Desk Editions, Engineered Materials Handbook.
CINDAS Microelectronics Packaging Materials Database [MPMD] Contains data on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of electronics packaging materials, including over 750 materials and over 15,000 data curves. Developed under the sponsorship of the Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC).
CINDAS Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database [TPMD] Contains thermophysical properties of over 5,000 materials with approximately 50,000 data curves. Searchable by material, by property, or by partial string (name). Dynamic graphing capabilities allow users to compare the same property of multiple materials, change scale ranges, and export and import data.
CrossFire Databases

CrossFire Beilstein for organic materials
CrossFire Gmelin for inorganic materials

Tip: Put the molecular formula in Hill Order.

Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology Comprehensive coverage of the broad and multidisciplinary field of materials. Each article was commissioned and written by an internationally recognised expert and provides an overview of a particular aspect of the field. Includes extensive bibliographies, cross-referencing and indexes.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

Tip: Look for the substance (e.g. Gallium Arsenide) in the handbook or encylopedia. Often there is a section on properties. You may need to back up further (e.g. Gallium) to find what you need.

Mark Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology

Tip: Look for the substance (e.g. Gallium Arsenide) in the handbook or encylopedia. Often there is a section on properties. You may need to back up further (e.g. Gallium) to find what you need.

Plastics and Rubber Handbooks via Knovel
Search all of Knovel to include handbooks in Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Physics, and more.
Polymer Handbook (4th Edition) via Knovel Contains information about a polymeric macromolecules and data for polymers, monomers and other topics that are required for experimental and theoretical research and applications of polymers.
Polymers: A Property Database

Browse through the table of contents or search for a specific piece of data on properties of polymers.

Tip: Click Search, then Property Search to enter your parameters.

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry

Tip: Look for the substance (e.g. Gallium Arsenide) in the handbook or encylopedia. Often there is a section on properties. You may need to back up further (e.g. Gallium) to find what you need.

Online resources [Freely available]:
MatWeb
MatWeb is a free materials information database with property data on 19,013 materials including metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites.

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST):

NIST's mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.
Article databases for finding information on polymers [MIT only]:
Compendex

A database for all areas of engineering

Tip: Browse for Controlled Terms.

Engineered Materials Abstracts Contains information on ceramics, composites and polymers.
Inspec

A database for physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computer science

Tip: Use the Chemical Indexes, Descriptors, and Identifiers.

SciFinder Scholar For searching Chemical Abstracts, chemical literature

Back to top

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 07/30/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT