Ask Us!

General Resources

Resources by:

Properties

Materials

Chemicals

Need More Help?

Other webpages for property information


Erja Kajosalo
Chemistry Librarian
kajosalo@mit.edu

Angie Locknar
Materials Science and Engineering Librarian
locknar@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Properties of Materials and Chemicals

Resources by Materials: Metals & Alloys

Online resources [MIT only]:  
ASM Materials Information
Includes the ASM Handbook, ASM Alloy Center, and the ASM Micrograph Center.
CINDAS Microelectronics Packaging Materials Database [MPMD] Contains data on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of electronics packaging materials, including over 750 materials and over 15,000 data curves. Developed under the sponsorship of the Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC).
CINDAS Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database [TPMD] Contains thermophysical properties of over 5,000 materials with approximately 50,000 data curves. Searchable by material, by property, or by partial string (name). Dynamic graphing capabilities allow users to compare the same property of multiple materials, change scale ranges, and export and import data.
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology Comprehensive coverage of the broad and multidisciplinary field of materials. Each article was commissioned and written by an internationally recognised expert and provides an overview of a particular aspect of the field. Includes extensive bibliographies, cross-referencing and indexes.

Landolt-Bornstein, Group IV Physical Chemistry via Knovel

Presents phase equilibria and thermodynamic data of binary alloy systems and crystallographic data of intermediate phases in easily accessible, fully interactive table and graphs. Information is given on metastable crystalline phases as well as quasicrystalline or amorphous alloys. Interactive data is field searchable, while the text of the reference is full text searchable.
Metals and Metallurgy Handbooks via Knovel
Search all of knovel to include handbooks in Mechanical Engineering, Chemistry, Physics, and more.
Reaxys

Use Reaxys to access Gmelin for inorganic materials

Tip: Put the molecular formula in Hill Order.

Online resources [Freely available]:
MatWeb
MatWeb is a free materials information database with property data on 19,013 materials including metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites.

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST):

NIST's mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.
PGM Database
A collection of published data and internal Johnson Matthey data defining the physical properties and characteristics of platinum group metals and their alloys.
Article databases for finding information on Metals & Alloys [MIT only]:
Compendex

A database for all areas of engineering

Tip: Browse for Controlled Terms.

Inspec

A database for physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computer science

Tip: Use the Chemical Indexes, Descriptors, and Identifiers.

CSA Materials Research Database with Metadex

Metadex is the premier database for metals and alloys, going back to 1966. Other databases include Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts and Weldasearch.

Tip: Use the Descriptor (DE) field.

SciFinder

For searching Chemical Abstracts, chemical literature.

Note: This is a web-based product, but you need to register to access the database.

Back to top

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on Tuesday, 06-Oct-2009 17:23:34 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT