Ask Us!

General Resources

Resources by:

Properties

Materials

Chemicals

Need More Help?

Other webpages for property information


Erja Kajosalo
Chemistry Librarian
kajosalo@mit.edu

Angie Locknar
Materials Science and Engineering Librarian
locknar@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Properties of Materials and Chemicals

Resources by Chemicals: Inorganic

Online resources [MIT only]:
Gmelin through Reaxys

The Gmelin database contains over 2.2 million inorganic and organometallic compounds with inorganic chemical facts with more than 800 chemical and physical data fields available for each substance, including electric, magnetic, thermal, crystal, and physiological data.

SciFinder

SciFinder is the most comprehensive chemical information database.

Note: This is a web-based product, but you need to register to access the database.

Tip: Use "Explore Substances" to find a particular substance or group of substances by using a chemical name or CAS Registry Number. This feature is useful for:

  • Finding and verifying chemical names, CAS Registry Numbers, molecular formulas, and other substance information
  • Obtaining calculated and experimental property data
  • Identifying commercial sources
  • Retrieving regulatory compliance information
  • Obtaining articles and patents that discuss the substance
Knovel - Engineering and Scientific Handbooks Database of searchable full text of many leading chemistry reference handbooks. Includes critical data on inorganic and organic compounds and pure substances. Features interactive tables and key properties, including physical, thermodynamic, and mechanical properties.
Combined Chemical Dictionary

Contains over 500,000 substances which included analytical reagents, carbohydrates, inorganic and organometallic compounds, natural products, organic compounds and drugs.  Includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical, and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables.

Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (CRC)

Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds and includes interactive tables.
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry

Presents articles in alphabetical order with multiple entries for key elements.  The content is organized to the following subject areas: Main Group Elements; Transition Metals and Coordination Chemistry; Organometallic Chemistry; Bioinorganic Chemistry; Solid State, Materials, Nanomaterials and Catalysis; and General Inorganic Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Methods.

 

Back to top

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on Tuesday, 06-Oct-2009 17:23:34 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT