Ask Us!

General Resources

Resources by:

Properties

Materials

Chemicals

Need More Help?

Other webpages for property information


Erja Kajosalo
Chemistry Librarian
kajosalo@mit.edu

Angie Locknar
Materials Science and Engineering Librarian
locknar@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Properties of Materials and Chemicals

Resources by Materials: Ceramics

Online Resources [MIT Only]:
ASM Handbooks Online
Look for the ASM Desk Editions, Engineered Materials Handbook
Ceramics and Ceramic Engineering Handbooks via Knovel Provides an introduction to a wide range of carbon fiber composites, including polymer-matrix, metal-matrix, carbon-matrix, ceramic-matrix, and hybrid composites.
CINDAS Microelectronics Packaging Materials Database [MPMD] Contains data on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of electronics packaging materials, including over 750 materials and over 15,000 data curves. Developed under the sponsorship of the Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC).
CINDAS Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database [TPMD] Contains thermophysical properties of over 5,000 materials with approximately 50,000 data curves. Searchable by material, by property, or by partial string (name). Dynamic graphing capabilities allow users to compare the same property of multiple materials, change scale ranges, and export and import data.

Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology

Comprehensive coverage of the broad and multidisciplinary field of materials. Each article was commissioned and written by an internationally recognised expert and provides an overview of a particular aspect of the field. Includes extensive bibliographies, cross-referencing and indexes.

Reaxys

Search for organic and inorganic compounds in this database. Also known as Beilstin and Gmelin databases.

Tip: Put the molecular formula in Hill Order. For more info, see ACS's page on Hill Order.

Article databases for finding information on Ceramics [MIT only]:
Compendex

A database for all areas of engineering

Tip: Browse for Controlled Terms

Engineered Materials Abstracts Contains information on ceramics, composites and polymers.
Inspec

A database for physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computer science.

Tip: Use the Chemical Indexes, Descriptors, and Identifiers

SciFinder

For searching Chemical Abstracts, chemical literature.

Note: This is a web-based product, but you need to register to access the database.

Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts

Tip: Use the Descriptor (DE) field

Online resources [Freely available]:

American Ceramic Society  

The organization's website serves the informational, educational, and professional needs of the global ceramics community.
MatWeb
MatWeb is a free materials information database with property data on 19,013 materials including metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites.
MEMS Clearinghouse: Material Index The MEMS and Nanotechnology Clearinghouse contains lists of properties in the Material Index.

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST):

  • Materials Science and Engineering Laboratory
  • NIST's mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.

    Back to top

     


    empty

    empty This page was last updated on Tuesday, 06-Oct-2009 17:23:34 EDT


    empty
    MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT