General Resources
Resources by:
Properties
Materials
Chemicals
Need More Help?
Other webpages for property information
Erja Kajosalo Chemistry Librarian kajosalo@mit.edu
Angie Locknar Materials Science and Engineering Librarian locknar@mit.edu
Tip: Look for the substance (e.g. Gallium Arsenide) in a handbook or encylopedia. Often there is a section on properties. You may need to back up further (e.g. Gallium) to find what you need.
Search: Handbooks, Databases & Websites, Articles, and Types of Properties
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Comprehensive resource of physical constants and properties. Also found in print in Science Library, Barker Library, Lindgren Library, Aeronautics & Astronautics Library at QD65.H235.
Tip: In the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, look for the Substance/Property Search link on the left side.
CrossFire Databases
CrossFire Gmelin for inorganic materials.
CrossFire Beilstein for organic materials.
For instructions, see: How to find properties data in Beilstein/Gmelin
Note: This is not a web-based product. Download the software or use computers in the Science Library or Barker Library. MIT users only. Tip: Put the molecular formula in Hill Order
Note: This is not a web-based product. Download the software or use computers in the Science Library or Barker Library. MIT users only.
Tip: Put the molecular formula in Hill Order
CHEMnetBASE
Tip: In the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, look for the Substance/Property Search link on the left side. If looking for a chemical, try the Combined Chemical Dictionary or Properties of Organic Compounds.
Knovel
Browsable and searchable engineering and science handbooks.
Tip: Look over the search tips section to build an effective search strategy.
Landolt-Börnstein
(Print with online index)
Ask a Librarian for instruction on using this material, found in the Science Library Reference Collection: QC61.L258. Some volumes are available online via Knovel - Group IV, Volume 5.
Static pages: Organic / Inorganic Searchable Index: Organic
Finding articles which may contain property information
Inspec
Database for physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computer science.
Tip: Use the Chemical Indexes, Descriptors, and Identifiers
SciFinder Scholar
Search Chemical Abstracts, chemical literature. For instructions, see: How to find properties data in SciFinder Scholar.
Note: This is not a web-based product. Download the software onto your computer or use computers in the Science or Barker Engineering Libraries. MIT users only.
CSA Materials Research Database with Metadex
Tip: Use the Descriptor (DE) field.
Compendex
Database for all areas of engineering.
Need more help?
Barton
Search the MIT Libraries' catalog.
Tip: Search for substance and/or property as a keyword. Broaden your search by searching for the type of property instead of the specific property, e.g. optical properties. When searching for a molecular formula, try searching for both the forumla and the full name, e.g. GaAs or gallium arsenide.
Tip: Search for substance and/or property as a keyword. Broaden your search by searching for the type of property instead of the specific property, e.g. optical properties.
When searching for a molecular formula, try searching for both the forumla and the full name, e.g. GaAs or gallium arsenide.
University Web pages
Websites focused on physical and chemical property information.
Other Databases
Freely available databases and properties information.
ASK US!
Just when you think you have exhausted all of your resources, you have hope: ask a librarian!
Back to top
This page was last updated on 07/30/07