Ask Us!

Resources:

Databases
& E-Journals

Preprints & E-prints

New Books

Reference Sources

Internet Resources

News


Organizations:

Societies

Laboratories

Physics at MIT

Other Physics Departments

Physics Libraries


MIT Department of Physics


Mathew Willmott
Library Liaison for Physics
willmott@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Physics & Astrophysics

Reference Sources

Data Sources

  • The Constants and Equations Pages (TCAEP)
    This site is divided into science, math and astronomy sections. The science pages include lists of constants and equations as well as conversion calculators. The astronomy pages feature data on planets, asteroids, comets and constellations.

  • Conversion of Units
    Conversion calculator from the Institute of Chemistry at the Freie Universität Berlin.
  • NASA's High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center
    The High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC) is the primary archive for high-energy astronomy missions, in the extreme ultraviolet, X-ray and gamma-ray wavelengths. The HEASARC provides archival data, multi-mission software and analysis tools, and information about current and past observatory missions.

  • National Nuclear Data Center
    From Brookhaven National Laboratory - focus is on low and medium energy nuclear physics; particularly neutron, charged-particle, and photonuclear reactions, nuclear structure, and decay data.

  • Periodic Tables
    List of online periodic tables compiled by the MIT Chemistry Librarian. (Click on the "Back" button to return to this page.)

  • Physical Reference Data
    From the National Institute of Standards and Technology (includes physical constants, spectroscopic data).

  • Review of Particle Physics Database
    Annual description of properties of established and hypothetical particles, as well as related reviews and tools. Published in W.-M. Yao et al., Journal of Physics G 33, 1 (2006).

Selected Printed Sources in the Science Reference Collection, Building 14S, First Floor

For other locations, see Barton.

  • StarGuides Plus: A World-Wide Directory of Organizations in Astronomy and Related Space Sciences - QB1.S775 2004
  • The Astronomical Almanac - QB8.U58.A2 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics - QB14.E54 2001
  • StarBriefs Plus: A Dictionary of Abbreviations, Acronyms and Symbols in Astronomy and Related Space Sciences - QB14.S743 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Applied Physics - QC5.E543 1991
  • Graduate Programs in Physics, Astronomy and Related Fields - QC30.A5125u 2006
  • AIP Physics Desk Reference - QC61.P49 2003
  • Springer Handbook of Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics - QC173.S66 2006
  • Springer Handbook of Condensed Matter and Materials Data - QC173.454.S67 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Condensed Matter Physics - QC173.454.E53 2005
  • Handbook of Optics - QC369.H35 1995

     

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 11/30/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT