Databases & E-Journals
Preprints & E-prints
New Books
Reference Sources
Internet Resources
News
Societies
Laboratories
Physics at MIT
Other Physics Departments
Physics Libraries
Mathew Willmott Library Liaison for Physics willmott@mit.edu
September, 2006
Thanks to the generosity of a group of faculty from the MIT Chemistry Department, MIT now has a site license to ChemDraw Ultra 10.0, allowing anyone at MIT to use this chemical structure & biological pathway drawing tool.
Access through this site license will save money for many MIT research groups who would ordinarily need to purchase this software for their labs. In addition, this arrangement will provide everyone at MIT with the most up-to-date version of the software, with the most capabilities and greatest compatibility in sharing files.
For more information or to download the software, visit our page on ChemDraw installation.
back to top
MIT is now using RAPID ILL to borrow and lend journal articles—dramatically reducing the time it takes to get articles not owned by the MIT Libraries. Articles requested through ILB (Interlibrary Borrowing) are sent electronically, and delivered to your ILLiad account as soon as they arrive— often within a few hours of making a request.
MIT is participating in RAPID ILL as a member of the Boston Library Consortium, which includes Boston University, Boston College, Brandeis University, Brown University, Williams College, and others. MIT will also be able to obtain articles quickly from a group of ARL (Association of Research Libraries) institutions, including Cornell University, Columbia University, New York University, University of Pennsylvania, University of Michigan, and others.
Most article requests will be routed through RAPID whenever possible, as part of the ILLiad request process. The only change you’ll notice in requesting ILB materials is that many of the materials will arrive faster.
Articles delivered through RAPID ILL, like all other Interlibrary Borrowing services, are free to members of the MIT community. See Interlibrary Borrowing (http://libraries.mit.edu/ilb) for more information.
If you consult a library database often, bookmark it in your browser using a shortcut URL. When the database vendor changes the address of the database, we'll update the shortcut, and you'll never have to change your bookmarks or see the 404 Not Found error! Go to http://libraries.mit.edu/vera-shortcuts for a list of shortcuts.
Some useful shortcuts:
AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill: The Online Encyclopedia of Science and Technology http://libraries.mit.edu/get/accesssci
ADS (NASA Astrophysics Data System) http://libraries.mit.edu/get/ads
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (3rd Electronic Edition) http://libraries.mit.edu/get/crchand
INSPEC http://libraries.mit.edu/get/inspec
knovel -- Engineering and Scientific Handbooks http://libraries.mit.edu/get/knovel
Lecture Notes in Physics http://libraries.mit.edu/get/lnp
NASA Extragalactic Database (NED) http://libraries.mit.edu/get/ned
Safari Technical Books Online http://libraries.mit.edu/get/safari
SPIN Web http://libraries.mit.edu/get/spin
SPIRES http://libraries.mit.edu/get/spires
Springer Tracts in Modern Physics http://libraries.mit.edu/get/stmp
Topics in Applied Physics http://libraries.mit.edu/get/topapp
Web of Science http://libraries.mit.edu/get/webofsci
Find out about library hours, classes, new library resources and more! Bookmark the Libraries' news blog at http://news-libraries.mit.edu or subscribe to the Libraries' RSS Feeds at http://mit-libraries.net/blog/rss-feeds/ .
Create an RSS Alert from any Inspec search and you will be delivered headlines for documents matching your search criteria as those documents are added to Inspec. RSS Alerts are available from any search result page. Try it at http://libraries.mit.edu/get/inspec .
RSS feeds are now available for individual archives and categories from arXiv http://arxiv.org/.
- From the arXiv help site: "Daily updated RSS news feed pages are available for all active archives within arXiv. The URLs for each archive are constructed by appending the archive name to http://arXiv.org/rss/. For example, the URL for the RSS page for the Computer Science archive is http://arXiv.org/rss/cs. "News feeds are also available for individual subject classes of archives that have subject classes. A specific subject class is selected by appending a period (.) and the subject class letters to the URL. For example, the URL for the RSS page for Mathematics -- Quantum Algebra is http://arXiv.org/rss/math.QA"
September, 2005
The MIT Libraries is pleased to announce a new tool to help you get to online full text fast! The SFX FullText Finder: http://libraries.mit.edu/fulltext If you have a citation to an article, simply type the information into this form and if the MIT Libraries has a subscription you will be given a link directly to the journal. If you have entered enough information, you should be brought directly to the article itself. This tool will work from off-campus, assuming you already have MIT web certificates. If the MIT Libraries does not have an online subscription to the journal, you will be presented with a link to run an auto-search of the Barton catalog to see if we own the journal in print. You will also be presented with a link to our Interlibrary Borrowing Services in case we do not own the journal at all. We hope this tool will be useful to you - please let us know if you have comments or questions about the SFX FullText Finder!
CINDAS Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database
This database, which you can access at http://libraries.mit.edu/get/cindastpmp , contains thermophysical properties of over 5,000 materials with approximately 50,000 data curves.
We have expanded our access to Annual Reviews, starting with Vol. 1, including:
You can access these and many more Annual Reviews through Vera at http://libraries.mit.edu/vera .
MIT Libraries have subscribed to RefWorks. RefWorks is a web-based resource designed to help organize references and create bibliographies. RefWorks makes it easier to write papers as well as post results to web pages by allowing faculty, students, and staff to search, retrieve relevant citations, and build bibliographies. RefWorks is similar to EndNote, a popular bibliographic software package at MIT. While EndNote software must be purchased and installed on your computer, RefWorks is web-based software with account-based access supported by a site license. Anyone at MIT with an Athena account can create and maintain RefWorks accounts, and accounts can be created for individual and group use. The Libraries will provide limited support for RefWorks users, particularly with issues involving connectivity with library-supported resources. Off-campus access is possible through Vera or by using the Vera shortcut http://libraries.mit.edu/get/refworks. See http://libraries.mit.edu/help/refworks/index.html for more details.
April, 2005
Browse our new collection of books published in their language of origin, including French, German, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Turkish, Russian, Hebrew, Greek, Arabic and children's books in many of these languages. The collection is located in the Humanities Library, 14S-200. For more information, Ask Us! http://libraries.mit.edu/ask Sponsored by the MIT Libraries and by a Graduate Student Life Grant from the Graduate Student Office to support recreational reading in languages not taught at MIT.
http://web.mit.edu/gso/community/grants.html
February, 2005
What is SpecInfo? http://libraries.mit.edu/get/specinfo
SpecInfo on the Internet uses SpecSurf XS Java applet for searching and displaying C-NMR, H-NMR, Hetero-NMR, IR and mass spectra together with structures and additional information. Includes over 600,000 spectra. NMR shifts for the most important nuclei can be predicted by using two different algorithms. Requires Java software for displaying spectra and structures.
The MIT Libraries now have extended access to the following journals online:
In addition, the Libraries now provide access to Inspec (http://libraries.mit.edu/get/inspec), the database for physics and electrical engineering, starting in 1896.
All of the Libraries' online journals and databases are available through Vera (http://libraries.mit.edu/vera).
The ASM Materials Information database is now available online via the MIT Libraries. The ASM Materials Information database includes online access to the ASM Handbooks along with:
The escalating costs of providing access to research material, together with the license constraints placed on the use of digital content by commercial publishers, are seriously eroding the ability of libraries to provide students and faculty with the resources they need.
Just as digital distribution is providing the potential for broad and easy communication of research results, business practices related to intellectual property have become more inhibiting.
To address these concerns, the MIT Libraries have created a new web site on scholarly communications issues. This site brings together key web documents related to publishing, pricing, and copyright issues. If you find the site useful, we encourage you to link to it from your department web site.
We expect to continue to develop the site over time, so if there are other features you’d like us to incorporate, send us your comments and suggestions!
September, 2004
What is the Pauling File? The Pauling File is a comprehensive source of thermodynamic, crystal structure, powder diffraction and physical property data for binary systems. It covers all inorganic ordered solid state materials and consists of:
If you have questions about this product, or any library service, just ask!
April, 2004
The MIT Libraries are pleased to announce that the MIT community now has access to the MRS Symposia Proceedings online. The MRS Online Proceedings Library includes over 10,000 papers presented at Materials Research Society Fall and Spring Meetings since 1998. This includes 17 proceedings volumes that were never published in print format. Please note: not all MRS symposia papers can be found online from 1998 - present. The Science Library will continue to receive all print volumes of the MRS Symposia Proceedings. Use Barton (http://libraries.mit.edu/barton) to search for the print volumes. To access the MRS Online Proceedings Library, visit Vera (http://libraries.mit.edu/vera) and search for MRS. Or go to it directly at http://libraries.mit.edu/get/mrsproc.
February, 2004
The MIT Libraries are pleased to announce that the MIT community now has access to the SPIE Digital Library.
The SPIE Digital Library, one of the most extensive resources available on optics and photonics, contains more than 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1998. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers published since 1990. Plans are underway to expand the DL back to 1990 by the end of 2004, an archive of nearly 200,000 papers covering a wide scope of optical technologies and applications. Approximately 15,000 new papers will be added each year.
The SPIE Digital Library can be access through Vera (http://libraries.mit.edu/vera) or by using this shortcut URL: http://libraries.mit.edu/get/spie.
May, 2003
SFX buttons are now appearing in citations in many of the Libraries’ online databases:
The MIT Libraries have just implemented the Ex Libris SFX tool to facilitate linking from article citations in online databases to the full text. SFX allows users searching from databases licensed for the MIT community, such as INSPEC or Web of Science, to link directly to journal articles. Clicking the SFX button in a citation brings up a menu of options:
For more information on SFX, see the SFX FAQ.
April, 2003
The following library resources are now available online. See below for more information about Journal Citation Reports.
The MIT Libraries are pleased to announce the availability of Journal Citation Reports (JCR) online.
What is the JCR?
The Journal Citation Reports is a unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations.
The JCR can show you the:
To access JCR: Go to Vera (http://libraries.mit.edu/vera) and type "jcr". Or go to it directly at http://libraries.mit.edu/get/jcr.
The JCR Web Science Edition contains data from roughly 5,000 journals in the areas of science and engineering. The data contained in the online JCR is from 2001 - present. For data on previous years, please contact your local reference desk, or Ask Us! (http://libraries.mit.edu/ask)
For more information on using JCR, visit the JCR tutorial: http://www.isinet.com/tutorials/jcrweb/
Return to MIT Library News
This page was last updated on 11/30/07