Ask Us!

Selected Web Resources

Preprints and
Working Papers


Philosophy
Databases

Philosophy
E-Journals

The links above will connect to the Vera database of MIT's electronic resources.


MIT Philosophy
Department


Michelle Baildon
History, Science, Technology & Society, Philosophy and Anthropology Librarian
baildon@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   aristotle.gif

Philosophy

Selected Web Resources

  • American Philosophical Association
    The web site of the main professional organization for philosophers in the United States.

  • Dictionary of philosophical terms and names
    1000 entires cover the terms and names undergraduates are likely to encounter when studying philosophy. Created by Garth Kemerling from the University of Iowa.

  • EpistemeLinks.com
    A comprehensive general site maintained by computer software developer Thomas Ryan Stone, philosophy alumni of Rochester University and Ohio State University. Links to The Paideia Project of the 20th World Congress of Philosophy.

  • Ethics Updates
    Updates in current literature, both professional and popular. An excellent site for undergraduates and those teaching undergraduate courses. Created by Lawrence Hinman at the University of California, San Diego.

  • Feminist Theory Website
    Created and maintained by University of Tennessee Philosopher Kristin Switala. Contains bibliographies, biographies and essays by and about women scholars and activists.

  • Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    Created and maintained by the University of Tennessee Philosophy Department. Contains a keyword search feature and timeline.

  • Jobs for Philosophers
    International philosophy job advertisements provided by the University of Hamburg.

  • Philosophy@large
    Comprehensive web site of the Philosophy Department of the University of Liverpool in the United Kingdom. Includes guides to departments World wide, and international jobs for philosophers. Has an interesting specialist section, with links to sites covering issues such as Animal Rights, Philosophy of Clinical Trials, Indigenous Knowledge Systems, and Science Fiction.

  • Philosophy in Cyberspace (Monash University)
    Consists of five sections: Branches (Metaphysics, Logic etc.), Text-related (journals, bibliographies, pre-prints etc.), Organisations, Forums (newsgroups, mailing lists.), and Miscellaneous (conferences, syllabi, jobs, humor).

  • Philosophy Research Base
    A meta-index of Internet philosophy resources that links to large philosophy sites and to specific subject subsections of those sites. Created by Danne Polk at Villanova University.

  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    A publication of the Metaphysics Research Laboratory. Has mirror sites in Australia, The Netherlands, and the United Kingdom.

 

 

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 04/02/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT