Ask Us!

Databases

Books

Internet Resources

MIT Labs, Centers + Initiatives







Angie Locknar
Materials Science and Engineering Librarian
locknar@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Databases

You will need to search a variety of databases to find journal articles, conference papers, or other information on nanoscience and nanotechnology.

To Find Articles in: Use: Searching Tips:
Materials, electronics, aerospace, and space applications Aerospace and High Technology Database

Don't let the name fool you. This database covers literature in many fields related to aerospace research, including materials science, physics, and electronics.

Look in the DE (Descriptor) field for terms related to your search, such as nanocomposites or nanocrystalline.

 

Biological fields such as biochemistry, biophysics, biomaterials, and biology

 

Biosis Previews Narrow your search by adding taxonomy terms, gene sequences, or chemical names.
All areas of engineering Compendex

Include Inspec and/or NTIS to widen your search to electronics, physics, and government sponsored research.

Use the Ei Controlled Term Browse Index (on the right hand side) to see how nano terms were classified (e.g. nanotubes, nanostructured materials). Previous to 1990, use the All Fields search.

 

Computing, electronics, control systems, materials, optics, and physics

INSPEC

Include Compendex and/or NTIS to widen your search to all areas of engineering and government sponsored research.

Use the Controlled Term Browse Index (on the right hand side) to see how nano terms were classified (e.g. nanoelectronics, nanostructured materials). Previous to 1990, use the All Fields search.

 

Materials, such as metals, ceramics, or engineered materials

 

Materials Research Database Includes 8 subfiles covering many materials types (ceramics, metals, etc) and the Aerospace and High Technology Database.
Government sponsored research reports NTIS

National Technical Information Service. Covering unclassified reports from government agencies and government sponsored research. Include Compendex and/or Inspec to widen your search to all areas of engineering, electronics, computing, and physics.

Use the Controlled Term Browse Index (on the right hand side) to see how nano terms were classified (e.g. nanodevices, nanoporous solids). Previous to 1990, use the All Fields search.

 

Biomedical research, neuroscience, clinical medicine, pharmaceuticals (drug delivery)

 

PubMed, Medline PubMed/Medline does not include conference literature.

Chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, materials science, pharmaceuticals

 

SciFinder Scholar

Note: This is not a web based product. You will need to download the software onto your computer, or come to Barker Engineering or the Science Library to do your search.

Use the Research Topic search and enter your search terms in natural language, as in the example "I am interested in..."

Limit your search by language, document type, or publication year to narrow your results.

This database will also search Medline.

 

A broad range of science, engineering and medical topics

Also used to find who has cited an article

 

Web of Science

Use the General Search to look for articles on a topic.

Use the Cited Ref Search to see what articles have cited a particular article.

 

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 11/15/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT