Ask Us!

Databases & EJournals/
Subject Guides

Music Meta-Sites

Writing a Paper


Subject Guides:

Brass Music

Classical Music

Jazz

Music of the USA

Musical Theater

Piano Music

Pop and Rock Music

Songs

Woodwind Music

World Music


Humanities: Music and Theater Arts Section

Lewis Music Library

Peter Munstedt
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

Music

World Music             Printable Version (PDF)

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Directories

Continuum encyclopedia of popular music of the world / edited by John Shepherd... [et al.].
Ref ML102.P66.C66 2003

v.1: Media, industry and society
v.2: Performance and production
v.3: Caribbean and Latin America
v.4: North America
v.5: Asia and Oceania
v.6: Africa and the Middle East
v.7: Europe

The essential guide to Dutch music: 100 composers and their work / Jolande van der Klis (ed.)
Ref ML106.N4.H4813 2000

Garland encyclopedia of world music.
Ref ML100.G16 1998 (audio CD accompanies each volume)

v. 1: Africa / Ruth M. Stone, ed.
v. 2: South America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean / Dale A. Olsen and Daniel E. Sheehy, eds.
v. 3: The United States and Canada / Ellen Koskoff, ed.
v. 4: Southeast Asia / Terry E. Miller and Sean Williams, eds.
v. 5: South Asia: The Indian subcontinent / Alison Arnold, ed.
v. 6: The Middle East / Virginia Danielson, Dwight Reynolds, Scott Marcus, eds.
v. 7: East Asia:China, Japan, and Korea / Robert C. Provine, Yosihiko Tokumaru, J. Lawrence Witzleben, eds.
v. 8. Europe / Timothy Rice, James Parter, Chris Goertzen, eds.
v. 9: Australia and the Pacific Islands / Adrienne L. Kaeppler and J.W. Love, eds.
v.10: The world's music: general perspectives and reference tools / Ruth M. Stone, ed.

The illustrated encyclopedia of musical instruments: from all eras and regions of the world / illustrations, Anton Radevsky; text, Bozhidar Abrashev & Vladimir Gadjev.
Ref ML102.I5.I613 2000

International who's who in popular music. 9th ed.
Ref ML106.G7.W43 2007

Jeffries, Stan. Encyclopedia of world pop music, 1980-2001.
Ref ML102.P66.J44 2003

Kaufmann, Walter. Selected musical terms of non-Western cultures: a notebook-glossary.
Ref ML108.K37 1990

Musical instruments of the world: an illustrated encyclopedia / by the Diagram Group.
Ref ML102.I5.M88 1997

Wright-McLeod, Brian. The encyclopedia of native music: more than a century of recordings from wax cylinder to the Internet.
Ref ML156.4.I5.W75 2005

Bibliographies of Various Countries and Regions

Chib, Satyendra K. Sen. Companion to North Indian classical music.
Ref ML102.H56.C4 2004

Ficher, Miguel. Latin American classical composers: a biographical dictionary.
Ref ML105.F53 2002

Lieberman, Fredric. Chinese music: an annotated bibliography.
Ref ML120.C5.L5 1979

Morey, Carl. Music in Canada: a research and information guide.
Ref ML120.C2.M67 1997

Orovio, Helio. Cuban music from A to Z.
Ref ML106.C8.O7613 2004

The Oxford companion to Australian music / edited by Warren Bebbington.
Ref ML106.A93.O95 1997

Poulton, Alan J. A dictionary-catalog of modern British composers.
Ref ML120.G7.P68 2000

Rôya Caudhuri, Vimalakanta. The dictionary of Hindustani classical music.
Ref ML102.H56.R613 2000

Thompson, Dave. Reggae & Caribbean music.
Ref ML102.P66.T46 2002

Tiemstra, Suzanne Spicer. The choral music of Latin America: a guide to compositions and research.
Ref ML128.C48.T5 1992

Tsuge, Genichi. Japanese music: an annotated bibliography.
Ref ML120.J3.T8 1986

Discographies

Broughton, Simon. World: 100 essential CDs; the rough guide.
Ref ML156.4.P6.B76 2000

The Federal cylinder project: a guide to field cylinder collections in federal agencies.
Ref ML156.4.F5.F4 1984 v.1-3, 5, 8

Indiana University, Bloomington. Archives of Traditional Music. Early field recordings: a catalogue of cylinder collections at the Indiana University Archives of Traditional Music.
Ref ML156.2.I54 1987

Spencer, Peter. World beat: a listener's guide to contemporary world music on CD.
Ref ML156.4.P6.S7 1992

World music: the rough guide / edited by Simon Broughton… [et al.]
v. 1, Africa, Europe and the Middle East; v.2, Latin and North America, Caribbean, India, Asia and Pacific.
Ref ML3545.W67 1999 v.1-2

Journals/Periodicals

African music.
[bound volumes will be shelved at ML5.A26] v.7:no.3 (1996) to present

Asian music: journal of the Society for Asian Music.
[No Call #] v.32 (2000/2001) to present and online (MIT only)

Ethno-musicology.
[No Call #] v.1 (1953) to present; all but latest 4 years online (MIT only)

Journal of the Indian Musicological Society.
ML5.I415 v.31 (2000) to present

Journal of the musical arts in Africa
on order (print and online)

Lied und populäre Kultur: Jahrbuch de Deutschen Volksliedarchivs Freiburg = Song and popular culture.
ML3630.J2 45.Jahrg.(2000) to present; all but latest 4 years online
    Earlier title: Jahrbuch für Volksliedforschung.
    ML3630.J2  15.Jahrg. (1970)-44.Jahrg. (1999) and online (MIT only)

Revista de musica latinoamericana. Latin American music review.
[No Call #] v.1 (1980) to present and online (MIT only)

Yearbook for traditional music.
ML1.I719 v.13 (1981) to present; all but latest 4 years online (MIT only)
    Earlier title: Yearbook of the International Folk Music Council.
    ML1.I719 v.1 (1969)-v.12 (1980) and online (MIT only)
    Earlier title: Journal of the International Folk Music Council.
    ML1.I7185 v.1 (1949)-v.20 (1968) and online (MIT only)

Online Music

The MIT Libraries subscribe to the Naxos Music Library which includes a large number of world music recordings. To access the Naxos Music Library, go to http://libraries.mit.edu/get/naxos (MIT certificates required from off campus).

return to top

Selected Multi-Volume Sets in the Media Collections

Exploring the world of music [an introduction to music with a global perspective] / Martin D. Toub.
MT6.E986 1998 v.1-12 [video]

JVC video anthology of world music and dance.
M1627.J83 1990 v.1-30 [video]
A 30-volume set. Each video covers a particular country or region.

JVC/Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of Africa.
M1627.J347 1996 v.1-3 [video]

JVC/Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of the Americas.
M1627.J35 1995 v.1-6 [video]

JVC/Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of Europe.
M1627.J48 1996 v.1-2 [video]

Worlds of music: an introduction to the music of the world's peoples / Jeff Todd Titon, general editor.
ML3798.W67 1992 [audio CDs; accompanying book has same call number]

Internet Resources

http://www.lib.washington.edu/music/world.html
Extensive list of world music links maintained by the Music Library at the University of Washington.

http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/ethnic.html
List of links maintained by the William and Gayle Cook Music Library at the Indiana University School of Music.

http://www2.siba.fi/Kulttuuripalvelut/folk.html
List of world music resources maintained by the Sibelius Academy.

http://www.ams-net.org/musicology_www.php
Links page maintained by the American Musicological Society.

 


empty

This page was last updated on 08/03/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT