Ask Us!

Databases & EJournals/
Subject Guides

Music Meta-Sites

Writing a Paper


Subject Guides:

Brass Music

Classical Music

Jazz

Music of the USA

Musical Theater

Piano Music

Pop and Rock Music

Songs

Woodwind Music

World Music


Humanities: Music and Theater Arts Section

Lewis Music Library

Peter Munstedt
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

Music

Woodwind Music             Printable Version (PDF)

** Selected titles are listed here; for more books on these topics, look in the same call number sections **

Repertoire Sources - General and Ensembles

Clark, David Lindsey. Appraisals of original wind music: a survey and guide.
Ref ML128.W5.C6 1999

Gillaspie, Jon A. The wind ensemble catalog.
Ref ML128.W5.G52 1998

Horne, Aaron. Woodwind music of Black composers.
Ref ML128.W5.H65 1990

Hosek, Miroslav. Das Bläserquintett = The woodwind quintet.
Ref ML128.W5.H67 [1979]

Houser, Roy. Catalogue of chamber music for woodwind instruments.
Ref ML128.W5.H842 1973

Peters, Harry B. Woodwind music in print.
Ref ML128.W5.P48 1997

Secrist-Schmedes, Barbera. Wind chamber music: for two to sixteen winds: an annotated guide.
Ref ML128.C4.S432 2002

Secrist-Schmedes, Barbera. Wind chamber music: winds with piano and woodwing quintets: an annotated guide.
Ref ML128.C4.S43 1996

Stoneham, Marshall. Wind ensemble sourcebook and biographical guide.
Ref ML128.W5.S76 1997

Voxman, Himie. Woodwind music guide: Ensemble music in print / compiled by Himie Voxman & Lyle Merriman.
Ref ML128.W5.V7 1982 v.2

Wind ensemble literature / H. Robert Reynolds, et al.
Ref ML128.W5.W6 1975

Repertoire Sources - Specific Instruments

Beebe, Jon P. Music for unaccompanied solo bassoon.
Ref ML128.B26.B43 1990

Boenke, Heidi M. Flute music by women composers: an annotated catalog.
Ref ML128.F7.B6 1988

Bulling, Burchard. Fagott Bibliographie.
Ref ML128.B26.B84 1989

Gifford, Virginia Snodgrass. Music for oboe, oboe d'amore, and English horn.
Ref ML128.O2.G5 1983

Gillespie, James E., Jr. Solos for unaccompanied clarinet: an annotated bibliography of published works.
Ref ML113.D483 no.28 [1973]

Griscom, Richard. The recorder: a research and information guide.
Ref ML128.R31.G75 2003

Haynes, Bruce. Music for oboe, 1650-1800: a bibliography.
Ref ML128.O2.H39 1992

Hosek, Miroslav. Oboen-Bibliographie.
Ref ML128.O2.H7 [1975]

Pellerite, James J. A handbook of literature for the flute.
Ref ML128.F7.P387 1978

Pierreuse, Bernard. Flute litterature: catalogue general.
Ref ML128.F7.P5 1982

Pinksterboer, Hugo. The rough guide to clarinet.
Ref ML945.P56 2001

Pinksterboer, Hugo. The rough guide to flute and piccolo.
Ref ML935.P56 2001

Tuthill, Burnet C. Concertos for clarinet [and] Sonatas for clarinet and piano: annotated listings.
Ref ML128.C6.T966 [1972]

Vester, Frans. Flute repertoire catalogue:10,000 titles.
Ref ML128.F7.V583 [1967]

Wilkins, Wayne. Index of clarinet music.
Ref ML128.C58.W5 [1975]

Books in the Circulating Collection

The main call number section for books on wind instruments is ML930, although some will be found in other sections as well. For more specific sources use the following class numbers as a guide:

ML935 = flute
ML940 = oboe
ML945 = clarinet
ML950 = bassoon

Interpretation and Performance

Bartolozzi, Bruno. New sounds for woodwind.
MT339.B292 1982 [book & audio cassette]

Mather, Betty Bang. The art of preluding, 1700-1830: for flutists, oboists, clarinettists and other performers / by Betty Bang Mather and David Lasocki.
MT68.M37 1984

Mather, Betty Bang. Free ornamentation in woodwind music, 1700-1775: an anthology with introduction / by Betty Bang Mather and David Lasocki.
MT80.M37 [1976]

Merriman, Lyle. Woodwind research guide: a selective bibliography of materials pertaining to the literature, development, and acoustics of woodwind instruments.
Ref ML128.W5.M5 [1978]

Nederveen, Cornelis Johannes. Acoustical aspects of woodwind instruments.
ML931.N43 1998

Vinquist, Mary. Performance practice: a bibliography / edited by Mary Vinquist and Neal Zaslaw.
Ref ML128.L3.V788 [1971]

Warner, Thomas E. An annotated bibliography of woodwind instruction books, 1600-1830.
Ref ML113.D483 no.11 [1967]

Woodwind anthology: a compendium of woodwind articles from the Instrumentalist.
MT339.5.W66 1983

Selected Internet Resources

http://www.lib.washington.edu/music/instruments.html
List of instrument links maintained by the Music Library at the University of Washington.

http://library.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/instr.html (scroll down to Woodwinds)
Excellent list of links maintained by the William and Gayle Cook Music Library at the Indiana University School of Music.

http://www.ams-net.org/musicology_www.php
Extensive links page maintained by the American Musicological Society.

 


empty

This page was last updated on 08/02/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT