Ask Us!

Databases & EJournals/
Subject Guides

Music Meta-Sites

Writing a Paper


Subject Guides:

Brass Music

Classical Music

Jazz

Music of the USA

Musical Theater

Piano Music

Pop and Rock Music

Songs

Woodwind Music

World Music


Humanities: Music and Theater Arts Section

Lewis Music Library

Peter Munstedt
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

Music

Songs                          Printable Version (PDF)

** Selected titles are listed here; for more books on these topics, look in the same call number sections **

Repertoire - Art Songs

Barlow, Harold. A dictionary of vocal themes.
Ref ML128.V7.B258 [1950]
If you know a tune, this book will help you identify the song title.

Bradley, Carol June. Index to poetry in music: a guide to the poetry set as solo songs by 125 major song composers.
Ref ML128.S3.B69 2003

British Broadcasting Corporation. Central Music Library. Song catalogue.
Ref ML128.S3.B7 [1966]
Extensive list arranged by composer and title.

Carman, Judith E. Art-song in the United States, 1759-1999: an annotated bibliography. 3rd ed.
Ref ML128.S3.C37 2001

Coffin, Berton. Singer's repertoire.
Ref ML128.V7.C67 1960 pt.1-5

Doscher, Barbara M. From studio to stage: repertoire for the voice.
Ref ML128.V7.D67 2002

Emmons, Shirlee. Researching the song: a lexicon.
Ref ML102.S6.E46 2006

Espina, Noni. Repertoire for the solo voice: a fully annotated guide to works for the solo voice published in modern editions and covering material from the 13th century to the present.
Ref ML128.S3.E8 1977

Kagen, Serguis. Music for the voice: a descriptive list of concert and teaching material.
Ref ML128.V7.K11 1968

Klaus, Kenneth S. Chamber music for solo voice and instruments, 1960-1989: an annotated guide.
Ref ML128.S3.K55 1994

Newman, Marilyn Stephanie Mercedes. The comprehensive catalogue of duet literature for female voices: vocal chamber duets with keyboard accompaniment composed between 1820-1995.
Ref ML128.V7.N53 1999

Ord, Alan J. Songs for bass voice: an annotated guide.
Ref ML132.S6.O73 1994

Phillips, Lois. Lieder line by line, and word for word.
Ref ML54.6.P55.L5 1996

Snyder, Lawrence D. German poetry in song: an index of lieder.
Ref ML128.S3.S66 1995

Villamil, Victoria Etnier. A singer's guide to the American art song, 1870-1980.
Ref ML128.S3.V5 1993

Repertoire - Popular Songs
(See also Subject Guide: Pop and Rock Music)

Bloom, Ken. Hollywood song: the complete film & musical companion.
Ref ML128.M7.B6 1995 v.1-3

Brooks, Elston. I've heard those songs before: the weekly top ten tunes for the past fifty years.
Ref ML128.V7.B78 1981

Crew, Danny O. American political music: a state-by-state catalog of printed and recorded music related to local, state and national politics, 1756-2004.
Ref ML128.A54.C74 2006 v.1-2

DeVenney, David P. The Broadway song companion: an annotated guide to musical theatre literature by voice type and song style.
Ref ML128.M78.D48 1998

Ewen, David. American popular songs from the revolutionary war to the present.
Ref ML128.N3.E94 [1966]

Facts behind the songs: a handbook of American popular music from the nineties to the '90s / Marvin E. Paymer, general editor.
Ref ML102.P66.F2 1993

Funnell, John. Best songs of the movies: Academy Award nominees and winners, 1934-1958.
Ref ML2075.F86 2005

Heskes, Irene. Yiddish American popular songs, 1895-1950: a catalog based on the Lawrence Marwick roster of copyright entries.
Ref ML128.J4.H49 1992

Hischak, Thomas S. The American musical theatre song encyclopedia.
Ref ML102.M88.H59 1995

Hischak, Thomas S. The American musical film song encyclopedia.
Ref ML102.M68.H57 1999

Jasen, David A. Tin Pan Alley: an encyclopedia of the golden age of American song.
Ref ML102.P66.J37 2003

Lax, Roger and Frederick Smith. The great song thesaurus.
Ref ML128.S3.L4 1984

Lewine, Richard and Alfred Simon. Songs of the theater.
Ref ML128.S3.L55 1984

Lowens, Irving. A bibliography of songsters printed in America before 1821.
Ref ML128.S3.L7 1976

McAleer, Dave. The book of hit singles: top 20 charts from 1954 to the present day.
Ref ML156.4.P6.M42 2001

O'Brien, Robert F. School songs of America's colleges and universities: a directory.
Ref ML128.S75.O2 1991

Pollock, Bruce. The rock song index: essential information on the 7,500 most important songs of rock and roll.
Ref ML128.R6.P65 1997

Whitburn, Joel. Joel Whitburn presents A century of pop music: a year-by-year top 40 rankings of the songs and artists that shaped a century.
Ref ML156.4.P6.W47 1999

Indexes to Collections
(See also Subject Guide: Pop and Rock Music)

Abromeit, Kathleen A. An index to African-American spirituals for the solo voice.
Ref ML128.S4.A27 1999

De Charms, Desiree. Songs in collections: an index.
Ref ML128.S6.D293 [1966]

Ferguson, Gary Lynn. Song finder: a title index to 32,000 popular songs in collections, 1854-1992.
Ref ML128.S3.F47 1995

Goodfellow, William D. SongCite: an index to popular songs.
Ref ML128.P63.G65 1995

Hall, Alison. E.H. Fellowes: an index to the English madrigalists and the English school of lutenist song writers.
Ref ML120.G7.H34 1984

Havlice, Patricia Pate. Popular song index.
Ref ML128.S3.H4 & suppls. 1978, 1984, 1989
One of the most thorough resources to look for songs.

Leigh, Robert. Index to song books: a title index to over 11,000 copies of almost 6,800 songs in 111 song books published between 1933 and 1962.
Ref ML128.S6.L529 [1964]

Popular music, 1900-1919: an annotated guide to American popular songs / Barbara Cohen-Stratyner, ed.
Ref ML120.U5.C6 1988
Companion volume to the revised cumulation.

Popular music, 1920-1979: a revised cumulation / Nat Shapiro and Bruce Pollock, eds.
Ref ML120.U5.S529 1985 v.1-3
An annotated index of over 18,000 American popular songs.

Popular music: an annotated index of American popular songs.
Ref ML120.U5.S5291 v.9 (1980/1984) to present
Continues: Popular music, 1920-1979

Sears, Minnie Earl. Song index: an index to more than 12,000 songs in 177 song collections comprising 262 volumes. Also her Song index: an index to more than 7000 songs in 104 song collections, comprising 124 volumes.
Ref ML128.S3.S439 & Suppl.

return to top

Bibliographies of Secondary Sources
(Writings About Songs and Singing)

Cowden, Robert H. Popular singers of the twentieth century: a bibliography of biographical materials.
Ref ML128.S295.C72 1999

Jackson, Irene V. Afro-American religious music: a bibliography and a catalogue of gospel music.
Ref ML128.S4.J3 [1979]

Marco, Guy A. Opera: a research and information guide.
Ref ML128.O4.M28 2001

McTyre, Ruthann Boles. Library resources for singers, coaches, and accompanists: an annotated bibliography, 1970-1997.
Ref ML128.V7.M45 1998

Seaton, Douglass. The art song: a research and information guide.
Ref ML128.S3.S33 1987

Swanekamp, Joan. English ayres: a selectively annotated bibliography and discography.
Ref ML128.S3.S9 1984

Selected Internet Resources

http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/songind.html
Helpful list of song indexes, including both popular songs and art songs.

http://www2.siba.fi/Kulttuuripalvelut/opera.html
Sibelius Academy's listing of opera web sites.

http://dir.yahoo.com/Entertainment/Music/Lyrics/
Extensive list of web sites for lyrics.

 


empty

This page was last updated on 08/03/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT