Ask Us!

Databases & EJournals/
Subject Guides

Music Meta-Sites

Writing a Paper


Subject Guides:

Brass Music

Classical Music

Jazz

Music of the United States

Musical Theater

Piano Music

Pop and Rock Music

Songs

Woodwind Music

World Music


Humanities: Music and Theater Arts Section

Lewis Music Library

Peter Munstedt
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides    

Music

Piano Music                      Printable version (pdf)

Bibliographies and Encyclopedias | Repertoire Sources (General) | Repertoire Sources (One Hand, Duets, 2 or More Pianos) | Books in the Circulating Collection | Journals | Highlights from the Media Collections | Internet Resource

** Selected titles are listed here; to find more books on these topics, look in the same call number sections **

Bibliographies and Encyclopedias

Dubal, David. The art of the piano: its performers, literature, and recordings.
Ref ML105.D8 2004 [book & audio CD]

Gillespie, John and Anna Gillespie. Notable twentieth-century pianists: a bio-critical sourcebook.
Ref ML397.G45 1995 v.1-2

The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians. 2nd edition / edited by Stanley Sadie.
Ref ML100.G833 2001 v.1-29 and available online (MIT only)

Hinson, Maurice. The pianist's dictionary.
Ref ML102.P5.H46 2004

Hinson, Maurice. The pianist's reference guide: a bibliographical survey.
Ref ML128.P3.H54 1987

Piano: an encyclopedia / Robert Palmieri, editor; Margaret W. Palmieri, associate editor.
Ref ML102.P5.E53 2003

Palmieri, Robert. Piano information guide: an aid to research.
Ref ML128.P3.P34 1989

Wolcott,Michiko Ishiyama. Piano, the instrument: an annotated bibliography.
Ref ML128.P3.W65 2001

return to top

Repertoire Sources (General)

Axford, Elizabeth C. Traditional world music influences in contemporary solo piano literature: a selected bibliographic survey and review.
Ref ML128.P3.A94 1997

BBC. Central Music Library. Piano and organ catalogue.
Ref ML128.P3.B7 [1965] v.1-2

Dees, Pamela Youngdahl. A guide to piano music by women composers: v.1, Composers born before 1900; v.2, Women born after 1900.
Ref ML102.P5.D44 2002 v.1-2

Drucker, Arno. American piano trios: a resource guide.
Ref ML128.C4.D78 1999

Everett, William A. British piano trios, quartets, and quintets, 1850-1950: a checklist.
Ref ML120.G7.E94 2000

Friskin, James. Music for the piano: a handbook of concert and teaching material from 1580 to 1952.
Ref ML128.P3.F7 1973

Gillespie, John and Anna Gillespie. A bibliography of nineteenth-century American piano music with location sources and composer biography-index.
Ref ML128.P3.G54 1984

Hinson, Maurice. Guide to the pianist's repertoire. 3rd ed.
Ref ML128.P3.H665 2000

Hinson, Maurice. Music for piano and orchestra: an annotated guide.
Ref ML128.P3.H53 1993

Hinson, Maurice. The piano in chamber ensemble: an annotated guide.
Ref ML128.C4.H5 [1978]

Phemister, William. American piano concertos: a bibliography.
Ref ML128.P3.P5 1985

Sitsky, Larry. Australian piano music of the twentieth century.
Ref ML742.A8.S58 2005

Walker-Hill, Helen. Piano music by black women composers: a catalog of solo and ensemble works.
Ref ML128.P3.W3 1992

Wright, H. Stephen. Film music at the piano: an index to piano arrangements of instrumental film and television music in anthologies and collections.
Ref ML128.M7.W75 2003

return to top

Repertoire Sources (One Hand, Duets, 2 or More Pianos)

Chang, Frederic Ming and Albert Faurot. Team piano repertoire: a manual of music for multiple players at one or more pianos.
Ref ML128.P3.C48 1976

Hinson, Maurice. Music for more than one piano: an annotated guide.
Ref ML128.P3.H52 1983

Maxwell, Grant L. Music for three or more pianists: a historical survey and catalogue.
Ref ML700.M39 1993

McGraw, Cameron. Piano duet repertoire: music originally written for one piano, four hands.
Ref ML128.P3.M2 1981

Patterson, Donald L. One handed: a guide to piano music for one hand.
Ref ML128.P3.P38 1999

return to top

Books in the Circulating Collection

  • The main call number sections for books on the piano are ML650-ML700, although some will be found in other sections as well.
  • Look in ML417 for biographies of classical pianists and ML397 for jazz pianists.
  • Books on interpretation and performance will be found in MT220-MT228 and MT235.
  • Adult beginner piano books are in MT225.
  • Primary subject headings in the library catalog are:
    • Piano
    • Piano –– History
    • Piano –– Instruction and Study
    • Piano –– Performance
    • Pianists; etc.

return to top

Journals

Clavier.
[No Call #] v.33 (1994) to present

Keyboard.
[No Call #] v.12 (1986) to present

Piano and keyboard.
[No Call #] no.179 (1996) to no.208 (2001)
Ceased publication after January 2001.

return to top

Highlights from the Media Collections

The art of piano: a film written by Christian Labrande & Donald Sturrock.
ML397.A78 1999a [DVD]

The golden age of the piano: a documentary on the great pianists of the twentieth century.
ML744.G65 1994 [DVD]

Great pianists of the 20th century. CD series (200 discs).
PhonCD G797 v.1-100 (2 discs each), index

The history of the pianoforte: famous or noteworthy instruments played by great artists: a documentation in sound.
ML650.H58 1999 [video]

Piano grand!: a Smithsonian celebration.
DVD M21.P536 2000

The Rubenstein Collection.
CD series, v.1-82 (92 discs). Cataloged separately; consult Barton catalog.

return to top

Selected Internet Resources

http://library.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/instr.html (scroll down to Keyboard)
Indiana University’s Internet Music Resources web site lists a large number of sites for piano music.

http://www.ams-net.org/musicology_www.php#INS
The American Musicological Society’s page includes historical keyboard links.

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 08/08/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT