Ask Us!

Guides to the Collection

Music Meta-Sites

Writing a Paper


Subject Guides:

Classical Music

Jazz

Music of the USA

Musical Theater

Piano Music

Pop and Rock Music

Songs

World Music


Humanities: Music and Theater Arts Section

Lewis Music Library

Peter Munstedt
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Music

Musical Theater                       Printable version (PDF)

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias | Bibliographies and Indexes | Discographies | Books in the Circulating Collection | Performance and Production | Internet Resources

** Selected titles are listed here; to find more books on these topics, look in the same call number sections **

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Baxter, Joan. Television musicals: plots, critiques, casts, and credits for 222 shows, 1944-1996.
Ref ML2080.B39.1997

Bloom, Ken. American song: the complete musical theatre companion.
Ref ML128.M78.B6 1985 v.1-2

Bloom, Ken. Hollywood song: the complete film and musical companion.
Ref ML128.M7.B8 1995 v.1-3

Burton, Jack. The blue book of Hollywood musicals: songs from the sound tracks and the stars who sang them since the birth of the talkies a quarter-century ago.
Ref ML128.M7.B8 [1953]

DeVenney, David P. The Broadway song companion: an annotated guide to musical theatre literature by voice type and song style.
Ref ML128.M78.D48 1998

Gänzl, Kurt. The encyclopedia of the musical theatre.
Ref ML102.M88.G3 1994 v.1-2

Gänzl, Kurt. Gänzl's book of the musical theatre.
Ref MT95.G2 1989

Green, Stanley. Broadway musicals, show by show.
Ref ML1711.G735 1990

Hischak, Thomas S. The American musical theatre song encyclopedia.
Ref ML102.M88.H59 1995

Krasker, Tommy. Catalog of the American musical: musicals of Irving Berlin, George & Ira Gershwin, Cole Porter, Richard Rodgers & Lorenz Hart.
Ref ML128.M78.K72 1988

Lewine, Richard. Songs of the theater.
Ref ML128.S3.L55 1984

More opening nights on Broadway: a critical quotebook of the musical theatre, 1965 through 1981 / compiled by Steven Suskin.
Ref ML1711.8.N3.M8 1997

The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians / edited by Stanley Sadie. 2nd edition.
Ref ML100.G883 2001 v.1-29 and available online (MIT only)

Norton, Richard C. A chronology of American musical theater.
Ref ML1711.8.N3.N67 2002 v.1-3

Peterson, Bernard L. A century of musicals in black and white: an encyclopedia of musical stage works by, about, or involving African Americans.
Ref ML102.M88.P37 1993

The queer encyclopedia of music, dance, & musical theater / Claude J. Summers, editor.
Ref ML100.Q44 2004

Stubblebine, Donald J. Broadway sheet music: a comprehensive listing of published music from Broadway and other stage shows, 1918-1993.
Ref ML128.M78.S78 1996

Stubblebine, Donald J. Early Broadway sheet music: a comprehensive listing of published music from Broadway and other stage shows, 1843-1918.
Ref ML128.M78.S79 2001

return to top

Bibliographies and Indexes

Dillard, Philip H. Sir Arthur Sullivan: a resource book.
Ref ML134.S97.D53 1996

Drone, Jeanette Marie. Index to opera, operetta, and musical comedy synopses in collections and periodicals.
Ref ML128.O4.D76 [1978]

Hoskins, Robert H.B. The theater music of Samuel Arnold: a thematic index.
Ref ML134.A78.A2 1998

McTyre, Ruthann Boles. Library resources for singers, coaches, and accompanists: an annotated bibliography, 1970-1997.
Ref ML128.V7.M45 1998

Wildbihler, Hubert. The musical: an international annotated bibliography.
Ref ML128.M78.W56 1986

return to top

Discographies

Gramophone musicals good CD guide. 2nd ed.
Ref ML156.4.M8.G725 1998

Hummel, David. The collector's guide to the American musical theatre.
Ref ML156.4.O46.H85 1984 v.1-2

Miletich, Leo N. Broadway's prize-winning musicals: an annotated guide for libraries and audio collectors.
Ref ML156.4.M8.M54 1993

Raymond, Jack. Show music on record: from the 1890s to the 1980s.
Ref ML156.4.O46.R4 1982

return to top

Books in the Circulating Collection

The main call number sections for books on musical theater are ML1711 and ML2054, although some will be found in other sections as well. Biographies of musical theater composers will be found in ML390 through ML429. The primary subject heading is Musicals – History and criticism.

return to top

Performance and Production

Balk, H. Wesley. The complete singer-actor: training for music theater.
MT955.B213 1985

Broadway: the American musical / a film by Michael Kantor.
ML1711.8.N3.B763 2004 [DVD]

Citron, Stephen. The musical from the inside out.
MT67.C54 1991

Jones, Tom. Making musicals: an informal introduction to the world of musical theatre.
MT67.J775 1998

Miller, Scott. From Assassins to West Side Story: the director's guide to musical theatre.
MT955.M595 1996

White, Matthew. Staging a musical.
MT955.W35 1999

return to top

Selected Internet Resources

http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/opera.html
Excellent list of links maintained by the William and Gayle Cook Music Library at the Indiana University School of Music.

http://www.musicalheaven.com/
Site featuring synopses of hundreds of musicals, along with MIDI files and links to related pages.

http://www.musicals101.com/
"The Cyber Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre, TV, and Film." Site contains articles on the history of musical theater and information on hundreds of musicals. Also features theater calendars, photo galleries, news and reviews, and other theater resources.

http://www.playbill.com/
Web site for Playbill.

return to top

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 11/21/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT