Ask Us!

Databases and
Electronic Journals/
Subject Guides

Music Meta-Sites

Writing a Paper


Brass Music

Classical Music

Jazz

Music of the USA

Musical Theater

Piano Music

Pop and Rock Music

Songs

Woodwind Music

World Music


Humanities: Music and Theater Arts Section

Lewis Music Library

Peter Munstedt
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Music

Jazz                               Printable Version (PDF)

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias | Bibliographies | Discographies | Books in the Circulating Collection | Journals/Periodicals | Selected Multi-Volume Sets in the Media Collections | Internet Resources

** Selected titles are listed here; to find more books on these topics, look in the same call number sections **

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Bird, Christiane. Da Capo jazz and blues lover's guide to the U.S.: with more than 900 hot clubs, cool joints, landmarks, and legends, from boogie-woogie to bop and beyond. 3rd ed.
Ref ML3508.B57 2001

Carr, Ian. Jazz: the rough guide / Ian Carr, Digby Fairweather, and Brian Priestley.
Ref ML102.J3.C325 2000

Chilton, John. Who's who of British jazz.
Ref ML102.J3.C4 1997

Chilton, John. Who's who of jazz: Storyville to Swing Street.
Ref ML106.U3.C5 1985

Cook, Richard. Richard Cook's jazz encyclopedia.
Ref ML102.J3.C66 2005

Feather, Leonard G. The biographical encyclopedia of jazz / Leonard Feather and Ira Gitler.
Ref ML102.J3.F4 1999

Gold, Robert S. Jazz talk.
Ref ML102.J3.G6 1975
Dictionary of jazz slang and terminology.

International dictionary of black composers / editor Samuel A. Floyd Jr.
Ref ML390.I58 1999 v.1-2

International who's who in popular music. 9th ed.
Ref ML106.G7.W43 2007

Jenkins, Todd S. Free jazz and free improvisation: an encyclopedia.
Ref ML102.J3.J46 2004

The New Grove dictionary of jazz.
Ref ML102.J3.N48 2001 v.1-3 and included in the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians online version, available (MIT only) at http://libraries.mit.edu/get/grove-music

Powell, Neil. The language of jazz.
Ref ML102.J3.P68 2000
Dictionary of jazz terminology.

Santelli, Robert. The big book of blues: a biographical encyclopedia. Rev. ed.
Ref ML102.B6.S26 2001

Stambler, Irwin. Folk and blues: the encyclopedia / Irwin Stambler and Lyndon Stambler.
Ref ML102.F66.S73 2001

Yanow, Scott. Jazz on film: the complete story of the musicians & music onscreen.
Ref ML3508.Y39 2004

return to top

Bibliographies

Albert, Richard N. An annotated bibliography of jazz fiction and jazz criticism.
Ref PN6120.95.J28.A43 1996

Carl Gregor, Duke of Mecklenburg. International jazz bibliography; jazz books from 1919 to 1968 [& suppls. 1970-73].
Ref ML128.J3.C278 [1969] & suppls.

Carner, Gary. Jazz performers: an annotated bibliography of biographical materials.
Ref ML128.B3.C37 1990

Feinstein, Sascha. A bibliographic guide to jazz poetry.
Ref Z1231.P7.F45 1998

Gray, John. Fire music: a bibliography of the new jazz, 1959-1990.
Ref ML128.J3.G7 1991

Meadows, Eddie S. Jazz research and performance materials: a select annotated bibliography.
Ref ML128.J3.M33 1995

Meadows, Eddie S. Jazz scholarship and pedagogy: a research and information guide. 3rd ed.
Ref ML128.J3.M34 2005

return to top

Discographies

All music guide to the blues: the definitive guide to the blues / edited by Vladimir Bogdanov, Chris Woodstra, Stephen Thomas Erlewine.
Ref ML156.4.B6.A45 2003

All music guide to jazz: the experts' guide to the best jazz recordings / edited by Michael Erlewine, et al. 3rd edition.
Ref ML156.4.J3.A45 1998

Cook, Richard. The Penguin guide to jazz on CD / Richard Cook and Brian Morton. 7th ed.
Ref ML156.4.J3.C67 2004

Cuscuna, Michael. The Blue Note label: a discography.
Ref ML156.4.J3.C87 2001

Lord, Tom. The jazz discography.
Ref ML156.4.J3.L6 1992 v.1-5

Russell, Tony. The Penguin guide to blues recordings.
Ref ML3521.R88 2006

Raben, Erik. Jazz records, 1942-80: a discography.
Ref ML156.4.J3.R17 1987 v.1-6

Yanow, Scott. Jazz on record: the first sixty years.
Ref ML156.4.J3.Y36 2003

return to top

Books in the Circulating Collection

The main call number sections for books on jazz are ML3506 and ML3561.J3, although some will be found in other sections as well. Biographies of jazz composers will be in ML410 and biographies of jazz performers in ML421 and ML422. The primary subject headings are Jazz; Jazz musicians; and Jazz -- History and criticism.

return to top

Journals/Periodicals

Annual review of jazz studies.
ML3505.8.A56 v.1 (1982) to present
Continues Journal of jazz studies.

Coda.
[No Call #] Issue 194 (1984) to present

Down beat.
[No Call #] v.42 (1975) to present

Jazz times.
[No Call #] v.32:no.1 (2002:Feb.) to present

Jazziz.
[No Call #] v.16:no.2 (1999:Feb.) to present

Jazziz on disc.
PhonCD ML5.J39 (1999:Feb.) to present
Compact disc supplement to Jazziz.

Journal of jazz studies, v.1 (1973)-v.6 (1979)
Continued by Annual review of jazz studies.

return to top

Selected Multi-Volume Sets in the Media Collections

Big band jazz: from the beginnings to the fifties.
PhonCD J B48 banj v.1-4 & booklet

The Blue Note Years.
v.1, Boogie, blues, and bop; v.2, The jazz message; v.3, Organ and soul; v.4, Hard bop and beyond; v.5, The avant garde; v.6, The new era; v.7, Blue note now as then.
PhonCD J B625 not v.1-7 & suppl.

The complete Jazz at The Philharmonic on Verve, 1944-1949.
PhonCD J J339 phive v.1-10 & booklet

Jazz [Smithsonian/Folkways].
v.1, The south; v.2, The blues; v.3, New Orleans; v.4, Jazz singers; v.5-6, Chicago 1,2; v.7, New York, 1922-1934; v.8, Big bands before 1935; v.9, Piano; v.10, Boogie woogie, jump, and Kansas City; v.11, Addenda.
PhonCD J J339 smi v.1-11

Jazz [videorecording] / produced by Ken Burns.
v.1, Gumbo; v.2, The gift; v.3, Our language; v.4, The true welcome; v.5-6, Swing; v.7, Dedicated to chaos; v.8, Risk; v.9, The adventure; v.10, A masterpiece by midnight.
ML3506.J383 2000 v.1-10 [DVD]

Jazz piano: a Smithsonian collection.
PhonCD J J339 pia v.1-4 & booklet

Jazz piano from the famous Savoy jazz archives.
1401137 precat (3 discs)

Jazz singers [a Smithsonian collection of jazz vocals from 1919-1994].
PhonCD J 339 sin v.1-5 & booklet

The Smithsonian collection of classic jazz.
PhonCD J Sm69 col a v.1-5 & booklet

return to top

Internet Resources

http://www.allaboutjazz.com
Monthly webzine featuring profiles, interviews, and reviews.

http://www.iaje.org
Web site for the International Association of Jazz Educators. Features an excellent links page.

http://www.jazzcorner.com
A portal for the official web sites of hundreds of musicians and jazz organizations.

http://www.jazztimes.com
Web site for Jazz Times.

http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/jazz.html
Excellent list of links maintained by the William and Gayle Cook Music Library at the Indiana University School of Music.

http://www.pbs.org/jazz
Online version of Ken Burns's Jazz documentary.

http://www.ams-net.org/musicology_www.php#JAZ
Extensive links page maintained by the American Musicological Society.

http://www.si.edu/ajazzh
Online version of the Smithsonian Institution's America's Jazz Heritage program.

return to top

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 08/13/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT