Ask Us!

Databases & EJournals/
Subject Guides

Music Meta-Sites

Writing a Paper


Subject Guides:

Brass Music

Classical Music

Jazz

Music of the USA

Musical Theater

Piano Music

Pop and Rock Music

Songs

Woodwind Music

World Music


Humanities: Music and Theater Arts Section

Lewis Music Library

Peter Munstedt
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

Music

Brass Music                          Printable Version (PDF)

** Selected titles are listed here; for more books on these topics, look in the same call number sections **

Brass

Anderson, Paul G. Brass music guide: ensemble music in print.
Ref ML128.W5.A58 1987
Lists brass chamber music, brass ensemble music, and ensembles combining brass with other instruments. Composer, title, instrumentation, publisher indices.

Brass players' guide.
Ref ML128.W5.B7 2005 (latest only kept) and online at http://www.rkingmusic.com/
Music-ordering catalog lists publisher and price for most available works including brass instruments.

The Cambridge companion to brass instruments / edited by Trevor Herbert and John Wallace.
ML933.C36 1997
A good place to obtain overviews concerning the history of brass instruments along with their technical and musical development. Emphasis is on the western art music tradition.

Fasman, Mark J. Brass bibliography: sources on the history, literature, pedagogy, performance, and acoustics of brass instruments.
Ref ML128.W5.F3 1990
Contains an extensive listing of secondary sources on brass music.

Horne, Aaron. Brass music of black composers: a bibliography.
Ref ML128.W5.H62 1996
Lists works by African, African-American, African-European, and African-Latino composers. Pieces are also listed by genre.

Rasmussen, Mary. A teacher's guide to the literature of brass instruments.
Ref ML128.W5.R225 1968
Lists methods, solos, and small chamber groups with recommendations for different age and maturity groups. Includes bibliography. Dated but still a useful source.

Secrist-Schmedes, Barbera. Wind chamber music: winds with piano and woodwind quintets: an annotated guide.
Ref ML128.C4.S43 1996
Music is listed according to various ensembles. Includes lists of music publishers and record companies.

Skei, Allen B. Woodwind, brass, and percussion instruments of the orchestra: a bibliographic guide.
Ref ML128.W5.S6 1985
Includes special topics, covering the histories, acoustics, and music of the brass and other orchestral instruments.

Horn

Brüchle, Bernhard. Horn Bibliographie.
Ref ML128.H67.B8 1970 and Bd.2, 1975 suppl.

Brüchle, Bernhard. Horn Bibliographie Bd.3, Erganzungen zur Ausgaben von 1970 und 1975.
Ref ML128.H67.B8 Suppl. 1983

Humphries, John. The early horn: A practical guide.
ML955.H86 2000

Reynolds, Verne. The horn handbook.
MT420.R49 1997

Wilkins, Wayne. The index of french horn music.
Ref ML128.H67.W5 and 1978 suppl.

Trumpet

Barclay, R. L. The art of the trumpet-maker.
ML961.B37 1992

Cansier, Philip T. Twentieth-century music for trumpet and organ: an annotated bibliography.
Ref ML128.T78.C32 1984

Carnovale, Norbert. Twentieth-century music for trumpet and orchestra.
Ref ML128.T78.C34 1975

Tarr, Edward H. The trumpet.
ML960.T3713 1988

return to top

Trombone

Arling, Harry J. Trombone chamber music: an annotated bibliography.
Ref ML128.T76.A7 1978

Dempster, Stuart. The modern trombone: a definition of its idioms.
ML965.D45 [1979]

Everett, Thomas G. Annotated guide to bass trombone literature.
Ref ML128.T76.E9 1978

Guion, David M. The trombone: its history and music, 1697-1811.
ML965.G84 1988

Lane, G. B. (George B.). The trombone: an annotated bibliography.
Ref ML128.T76.L36 1999

Tuba

Bevan, Clifford. The tuba family.
ML970.B48 1978

Guide to the tuba repertoire: the new tuba source book / compiled and edited by R. Winston Morris and Daniel Perantoni.
Ref ML128.T8.T8 2006

Morris, R. Winston. Tuba music guide.
Ref ML128.T8.M7 [1973]

Selected Internet Resources

http://library.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/instr.html
Excellent list of links maintained by the William and Gayle Cook Music Library at the Indiana University School of Music.

http://www.ams-net.org/musicology_www.php
Extensive links page maintained by the American Musicological Society.

http://www.historicbrass.org/
Web site of the Historic Brass Society, an international music organization concerned with early brass music.

 


empty

This page was last updated on 08/13/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT