A guide to metadata by
the Metadata Advisory Group of the MIT Libraries EAD
– Encoded Archival Description*
Definition and documentation:
The EAD Document Type Definition (DTD) is a data structure
standard for encoding archival finding
aids#. It defines the structural elements
and designates the content of descriptive guides to archival
and manuscript holdings following the syntax of the Standard
Generalized Markup Language (SGML – ISO 8879). The Society
of American Archivists (SAA) is the owner of the intellectual
component of the EAD, and the SAA EAD Working Group (EAD Roundtable)
is overseeing its development. The MARC Standard Office of
the Library of Congress (LC) acts as the maintenance agency
and provides access to the online documentation.
EAD enables standardized exchange of descriptive data contained
in specific types of archival finding aids known either as
archival inventories*
or manuscript registers§.
It provides tools for a detailed, multilevel description,
structured display, navigation, and searching. It plays a
similar role for archival materials to that played by a MARC
record for library holdings. While collection-level MARC records
contain bibliographic information about archival and manuscript
holdings, full text finding aids provide detailed descriptions
of collections essential for understanding their content and
research value.
The official EAD documentation consists of:
EAD DTD and related files
EAD Tag Library
EAD Application Guidelines
It is available at the official EAD web site:
http://www.loc.gov/ead/
Tools and helper files are available at the SAA EAD Roundtable’s
web site:
http://jefferson.village.virginia.edu/ead/eadfiles.html
The EAD Listserv, operating since December 1995, provides
a means for the exchange of information about EAD development.
It is not an open list; subscriptions are limited to developers
and implementers. Also, it is not moderated, which means that
all messages sent by approved subscribers are sent to all
other subscribers. Information about the EAD electronic list
can be found at:
http://lcweb.loc.gov/ead/eadlist.html
In addition, the Research Libraries Group (RLG) maintains
an EAD support site in an effort to assist RLG members to
apply EAD in preserving and disseminating information about
their archival and manuscript collections over the World Wide
Web.
http://www.rlg.org/rlgead/
Constituency:
The EAD DTD has been developed for use by the archivists and
manuscript curators. It is intended to provide standardized,
digital description of archival and manuscript collections
and facilitate uniform, on-line, Web-based access to the detailed
information about primary research materials held in repositories
worldwide.
An inventory, maintained at http://www.uidaho.edu/special-collections/Other.Repositories.html,
lists approximately 4,800 web sites (as of February 2002),
describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books,
historical photographs, and other primary resources throughout
the world. Subscribers to Archival Resources, a service provided
by RLG since 1998, can search more than 600,000 catalog records
for archival collections and items through the Archival and
Mixed Collections (AMC) file. In addition, the same service
provides access to more than 25,000 full-text finding aids
to specific collections.
EAD training opportunities are available through the SAA Continuing
Education Program (http://www.archivists.org/prof-education).
In addition, there are one-week summer classes organized by
the Rare Book School at the University of Virginia.
History of use – progress towards standardization:
Development of the EAD marks the latest stage in the long-term
efforts assumed by the archival community to facilitate broad
access to information about archival and manuscript materials
in the United States. The government-sponsored (Work Progress
Administration) survey of historical records in the 1930’s
was one of the first projects undertaken to achieve this goal.
The initiation of the National Union Catalog of Manuscript
Collections, published between 1959 and 1993, constituted
the next step. It was followed by the publication of the Guide
to the Archives and Manuscript Collections in the United States
in 1961. The development of the MARC AMC (Archival and Manuscript
Control) format began in the late 1970’s, leading to
a data structure standard, while a data content standard (APPM
standard) was published in Archives, Professional Papers,
and Manuscripts: Cataloging Manual for Archival Repositories,
Historical Societies, and Manuscript Libraries (1st ed,
1963).
Work towards providing online access to standardized, electronic
description of archival and manuscript collections began in
the early 1990’s when the Library at the University
of California at Berkeley received funds from the Department
of Education to study the problem. Daniel Pitti, the principal
investigator of the Berkeley project, investigated different
options for developing a non-proprietary standard for machine-readable
finding aids. As a result, SGML was selected as a framework
for future development. By 1995, the first version of the
Berkeley Finding Aid Project Document Type Definition, BFAP
DTD (also known as FINDAID DTD), was released. It consisted
of an optional title page, description of archival material,
and optional back matter. By that time, nearly 200 finding
aids from 15 repositories were converted to SGML documents.
In July 1995, a group of archivists, known later as the Bentley
team, started working towards revision of the finding aid
data model and its DTD, formulating guidelines, and providing
examples. They came up with a set of principles (also known
as Ann Arbor Accords) for the design of the future DTD. The
basic structure of the EAD document was to consist of two
segments, one describing the information about the finding
aid, the other about the archival material. The information
about the archival material was to include a multilevel description
of a unit of records and additional information that, although
not directly related to the described documents, might be
of use to researchers.
In August 1995, EAD concepts and ideas were presented at the
SAA Annual Meeting. At that time, the SAA Committee on Archival
Information Exchange established the EAD Working Group, which
assumed responsibility for monitoring and supporting ongoing
development of the EAD DTD, tag library, and application guidelines.
The Library of Congress Network Development and MARC Standards
Office was asked, and agreed, to serve as the maintenance
agency for the developing standard.
The alpha version of the EAD DTD was released in February
1996. The beta version followed several months later, in September
1996. Version 1 was released in August 1998, providing greater
compatibility with the emerging Extensible Markup Language
(XML) standard. Version 2 is scheduled for release in 2002.
Suggestions and comments are solicited for potential changes
to the EAD, and discussions are taking place about EAD’s
relationship to other archival data standards such as MARC
AMC, the International Standard for Archival Description General
(ISAD-G), and the Canadian Rules for Archival Description
(RAD).
Prerequisites:
Application of the EAD DTD requires working experience with
archival inventories and manuscript registers, knowledge of
APPM archival data content standards (Archives, Professional
Papers, and Manuscripts: Cataloging Manual for Archival Repositories,
Historical Societies, and Manuscript Libraries), familiarity
with SGML and/or XML, EAD DTD, and controlled vocabularies
(e.g. LCSH, LCNAF, Art and Architecture Thesaurus, Directory
of Occupational Titles).
Content and encoding:
An excellent overview of the EAD DTD structure can be found
at:
http://lcweb.loc.gov/ead/tglib/tlover.html
In addition, the RLG EAD Support Site provides RLG Recommended
Application Guidelines for EAD: http://www.rlg.org/rlgead/guidelines.html
In principle, encoded finding aids consist of three parts,
the first describing the information about the finding aid
itself (<eadheader>), the second describing
the prefatory matter useful for the display or publication
of the finding aid (<frontmatter>),
and the third one containing the description of the archival
records or manuscript papers (<archdesc>).
Document Type Definition defines document structure, while
elements constitute informational units. Elements can be modified
with attributes. EAD presentation (display) is prescribed
using style sheets - separate files controlling presentation
of data (text layout and format). Style sheets can also supply
default text and images.
EAD Tag Library, available at the official EAD web
site (http://www.loc.gov/ead/),
provides an overview of the EAD structure and a description
of the EAD elements. EAD Application Guidelines, also available
at the official EAD web site (http://www.loc.gov/ead/), describes
administrative considerations of embarking on an EAD project,
issues related to creating finding aids in EAD, authoring
and publishing EAD documents, basic SGML and XML concepts,
and EAD linking elements. In addition, it provides a list
of recommended elements; crosswalks between EAD, MARC, DC,
and ISAD-G; implementation checklist; examples, glossary of
terms; and a bibliography.
Encoding:
Documentation on the official SGML EAD DTD:
http://lcweb.loc.gov/ead/
FAQ regarding XML implementation of EAD concepts:
http://jefferson.village.virginia.edu/ead/xml.html
The EAD Cookbook:
http://jefferson.village.virginia.edu/ead/cookbookhelp.html
Crosswalks:
EAD Application Guidelines, available at the official
EAD web site (http://www.loc.gov/ead/)
provide crosswalk tables for conversion between different
metadata schemes:
ISAD-G to EAD
EAD to ISAD-G
Dublin Core to EAD
USMARC to EAD
Implementation:
As of now (February 2002), there are almost 150 archival and
manuscript repositories providing access to their finding
aids through the RLG Archival Resources service. The SAA EAD
Roundtable maintains an annotated list of archival and manuscript
repositories involved in implementation of encoded archival
description for providing access to their collections (http://jefferson.village.virginia.edu/ead/).
To date nearly fifty repositories publish EAD versions for
at least part of their holdings. In addition, almost twenty
EAD cooperative projects were undertaken so far. Two years
ago (1998), the American Institute of Physics initiated a
project to provide online access to the selected archival
and manuscript collections in the field of physics. MIT Institute
Archives and Special Collections has participated in the AIP
initiative. As a result, finding aids for some of our collections
were marked up and published on the Web (http://www.aip.org/history/ead/).
Reading materials
A brief list of on-line readings and Internet sites is maintained
by the SAA EAD Roundtable on the EAD Help Pages (http://jefferson.village.virginia.edu/ead/readings.html).
* The following sources were consulted
in preparation of this text:
• Encoded Archival Description: Application Guidelines.
Version 1. Chicago: The Society of American Archivists, 1999.
• Pitti, Daniel. “Encoded Archival Description:
The Development of an Encoding Standard for Archival Finding
Aids”, American Archivist, vol. 60, Summer
1997, pp. 268-283. Also other articles devoted to EAD and
published in the summer and fall 1997 issues of the American
Archivist, vol. 60, nos. 3-4.
• Encoded Archival Description Official Web Site - http://www.loc.gov/ead/
• RLG EAD Support Site - http://www.rlg.org/rlgead/
# According to
A glossary for archivists, manuscript curators, and record
managers (compiled by Lewis J. Bellardo and Lynn Lady
Bellardo, Chicago: The Society of American Archivists, 1992,
p. 14):
a finding aid is defined as “the descriptive tool, published
or unpublished, manual or electronic, produced by a creator,
records center, archives, or manuscript repository to establish
physical control and/or intellectual control over records
and/or archival materials. Basic finding aids include local,
regional, or national descriptive databases; guides; inventories;
registers; location registers; indexes; calendar and, for
electronic records, software documentation”
- According to
A glossary…, p. 19, an archival inventory is
described as “a basic archival finding aid whose unit
of entry is usually the series. An inventory generally includes
a brief administrative history of the organization(s) whose
records are being described as well as descriptions of the
records. Series descriptions give as minimum such data as
title, inclusive dates, quantity, arrangement, relationships
to other series, and scope and content notes. Inventories
may also contain appendices that provide such supplementary
information as container lists, folder lists, a glossary of
abbreviations and special terms, lists of file units on special
subjects, indexes, and classification plans/schemes.”
§ According
to A glossary…, p. 30, a manuscript register
the finding aid developed in the Manuscript Division of the
Library of Congress to describe groups of papers and records
by giving their provenance and conditions of access and use;
scope and general content, including inclusive dates and bulk
dates, a biographical note about the person, family group,
or organization, whose material it is; its arrangement; a
folder list; and on occasion, selective indexes.”
|