Ask Us!

Home

General Research

Journals and E-Journals

Advertising

Brands

Consumer Behavior

Demographics

Direct Marketing

Statistics

Organizations

Related Websites


Sloan School of Management

 

Maggie Bartley
Dewey Library
mbart@mit.edu

 




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Marketing

General Research

To find books, theses, government documents, or working papers on marketing, the best strategy is to conduct a Subject Begins With, Subject Keyword, or Keyword Search in the Library Catalog, Barton.

The following databases and print sources provided a wide variety of information on marketing and related topics.

Databases

The following databases are accessible from both on-campus computers, and from off-campus computers with MIT certificates. Additional databases can be found through Vera - Databases for Management & Business.

ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Journal articles on business and management topics.

Business & Industry
Information on public and private companies, industries, products, markets for all manufacturing and service industries. Use the "Concept Term" and "Marketing Term" features to narrow results to a specific aspect of marketing.

Factiva
Database of news and business publications, media transcripts and company reports.

Hoover’s Online
Covers in-depth information on nearly 14,000 companies, both private and public, and US and non-US.

ISI Emerging Markets
News, company and financial information from emerging markets in Asia, Eastern Europe and Latin America.

LexisNexis Academic
Articles in business, news and legal publications. See Industry and Market News file.

Mergent Online
Provides reports on over 20 industries for North America, Europe, Asia Pacific, and the world; as well as detailed company information.

Reference USA
Directory of over 10 million public and private U.S. companies.

For a list of company directories, see Company Information: U.S. and Company Information: International.

 

Print sources

The following resources are located in the Dewey Library unless otherwise noted. See Barton for full bibliographic information for each title.

Broadcasting and Cable Yearbook
Reference HE8689.B77
Market statistics and media information for areas throughout the U.S.

Dictionary of Marketing Communications
Reference HF5412.G68

Dictionary of Marketing Terms
Reference HF5803.T56

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
Reference HF5837.E53
Provides background on 500 important marketing campaigns of the 20th century. Details on each campaign include historical contact, targets markets, competition, marketing strategy, and outcome. Photographs of television and print advertising are sometimes provided.

Working Americans, 1880-2005
Reference HD8066.D47
Chronicles family life decade-by-decade, providing details on family earnings, spending habits, and major social and economic trends. Includes many examples of advertising appearing in various print media in each decade.

 

 

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 11/01/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT