Ask Us!

Introduction

Industry Overviews

Competitive Environment

Market Analysis

Sample Business Plans





Maggie Bartley
Dewey Library for Management and Social Sciences
mbart@mit.edu


MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Market Research - DIY Resources

Industry Overviews

Business plans usually give an overview of the industry context of the new venture, including analysis of trends, challenges, growth prospects and financial norms in the industry.

The following sources provide the types of information needed for preparing an industry overview.

Industry Profiles & Analysis | News About Industries | Industrial Statistics & Classification Codes | Industry Ratios & Norms

Industry Profiles & Analyses

Profiles and analyses are produced by investment houses and risk advisory services. The perspective is on guiding investment decisions.

Business Monitor Online

 

 

Quarterly reports on major industries in 175 countries. Includes forecasts and SWOT analyses.

Investext Plus

Reports on industries by analysts in investment houses and brokerages.

ISI Emerging Markets

Reports on industries in emerging market countries in Asia, Latin American, Africa, Eastern Europe.

Plunkett's Research Online

 

 

Reports on 25+ industries, with analyses, market trends, and industry statistics. Includes new, emerging industries.

Standard & Poor's Market Insight


Semi-annual reports on 50+ major industries. Covers industry environment, market trends, statistics, and more.

News About Industries

Industry and trade associations work to keep people within an industry informed about the industry through newsletters, magazines, and trade fairs. The information can range from detailed focus on a product line to general coverage of an industry.

Business & Industry (RDS)

Full text articles from 1000+ industry association publications. Special focus on industry, market, and product information.

Factiva

Full text articles from industry publications. Strong on international sources of business information.

LexisNexis Academic

Full text articles from trade and industry publications.

Industrial Statistics & Classification Codes

The US Census Bureau is the major source of statistical data on US industries. The Bureau uses NAICS, an industry classification system, to display data at levels of detail ranging from industry sector to discrete products. Knowing the classification codes for an industry or product can be helpful for many aspects of industry research.

American Factfinder

Quick access to US Census data on industry sectors and products. At the top page choose Annual Economic Surveys and/or Economic Census.

Data on employment, plant hours, payroll, number of establishments, cost of materials, value of shipments, inventories, and detailed capital expenditures.

North American Industry Classification Manual (NAICS)
Print edition: Dewey Library Reference | HF1042.N67 1997 (copies also at Barker, Rotch)


Standard Industrial Classification Manual
(SIC)
Print edition: Dewey Library Reference |
HA40.I6 U587 1987

A hierarchical, numeric classification system used to define products and organize information about industry sectors. NAICS was adopted in 1997.

The SIC code has been superceded by NAICS but is still used by some commercial databases.

Ratios

Ratios are tools that allow you to plan and assess your firm's progress over time and to compare it to other firms in the same industry or of the same size. Financial and operational ratios are available.

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Dewey Library Reference | HF5681.R25.T8644
Dewey Library Reserve Desk | CDROM HF5681.R25.T86442

Analyzes 192 industries with 50 financial performance items.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet)
Dewey Library Reference | HF5681.R25.I53

14 key business ratios in 800+ lines of business.
RMA Annual Statement Studies
Dewey Library Reference | HF5681.B2.R642

Composite financial data and ratios grouped by SIC.

top

 

 

 

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 10/29/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT