Ask Us!

Introduction

Industry Overviews

Competitive Environment

Market Analysis

Sample Business Plans





Maggie Bartley
Dewey Library for Management and Social Sciences
mbart@mit.edu


MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Market Research - DIY Resources

Competitive Environment

To understand the strengths and weaknesses of your idea, you will want to research how it compares with products already out on the market. The following resources provide information about competitive environments.

Competitors - Directories | Competitors - Financials | Market Share / Market Size | News | Patents

Competitors - Directories

Company directories provide basic location and contact information with some data on revenues, personnel, and size. These databases also include a "list builder" function that allows you to generate customized lists of companies by size, location, industry, and other variables.

CorpTech Directory

95,000 high tech companies--small start-ups to Fortune 500--in 3,000 high tech product categories.
Directory of Corporate Affiliations
Dewey Library Reference | HG4057.A219

Basic directory with parent-subsidiary links.
Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Database Several million leading public and private companies. To find international companies (excluding the U.S. and Canada), use the Advanced Search feature.
Hoover's Online 18 million public and private US and international companies.
Reference USA 14 million US businesses.
Scrip Pharmaceutical Companies Fact File
(Local workstation in Dewey Library E53-100)
1000+ pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies worldwide.
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers (free web site) Comprehensive listing of manufacturers in the US and Canada. Includes information on products and links to some product catalogs.

Competitors - Financials

Financial filings of public companies (those listed on US stock exchanges) are readily available on the web. The sources below repackage this information in either a value-added format or with additional analysis. At present there are no sources for private company financial information.

Investext Plus Investment analysts' assessments of companies' financial performances.
Mergent Online
Database of annual reports to shareholders and SEC filings of companies listed on US stock exchanges, 1994 to date.


Market Share / Market Size

The size of the market for a product and the share of this market held by competitor firms are key to understanding the competitive environment. Unfortunately there is no general market size/market share data source. You may need to draw on multiple sources to put together information on market share and size.

Business & Industry (RDS)

News articles and stories from industry associations.

How to search this source for market share/market size: Type your product name into the Words and Phrases box and then highlight Market Share and/or Market Size in the Concept menu.

Market Share Reporter
Dewey Library Reference | HF5410.M35
Annual compilation of reported market share data on selected companies, products, and services.

How to search this source for market share/market size: Use the back-of-book indexes to look up products, services, brands, and companies.
Standard & Poor's Market Insight

Print editions also available at Dewey Library Reserve Desk.
Industry studies and data.

How to search this source for market share/market size:
Choose your industry from the drop down menu, then open the Sub-Industry Revenue Share link on the left navigation bar.

News Articles

In addition to covering markets, products and industries, news databases are also good sources for information on companies. They are also one of the most likely sources for information on private companies and start-ups.

ABI/Inform Dateline Articles from city, state, and regional business publications.
Business & Industry (RDS) Articles from trade and industry association publications.
Factiva
Articles from US and international sources.
LexisNexis Academic Articles from industry publications, business magazines, and general news sources.

Patents

Patent research can yield valuable information about competitors' products and help you to assess the strengths and weaknesses of your product.

esp@cenet: Europe's Network of Patent Databases

Contains patent and patent application information from many countries, 1920 to date.
Free Patents Online Privately run, free (for now) database of US patents, 1976 to date, and European patents, 2002 to date. Enhanced search functionality.
US Patent & Trademark Office Database Provides access to the full text and images of all U.S. patents. Updated weekly.


top

 

 

 

 



 

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 04/16/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT