Literature Resources
Classical and Medieval Literature Sites
16th-19th Century Literature Sites
Twentieth Century Literature Sites
American, Canadian and Australian Literature Sites
Drama Sites
Poetry Sites
Women & Literature Sites
MIT Literature Department
Marlene Manoff Associate Head/ Collection Manager, Humanities Library mmanoff@MIT.EDU
Lost Poets of the Great War - contains information on, as well as the text of poems by Rupert Brooke, Wilfred Owen, Isaac Rosenberg and others. There is also a chronology of World War I and a bibliography. Also includes some audio material. Maintained by Harry Rusche (Emory University).
Index of 20th Century American and British Literature (Alphabetical by Author) - pieces range from mere blurbs to scholarly essays.
Index of 20th Century American and British Literature (Outline Format) - an index to free internet articles on topics in English and American literature.
Location Register of 20th-century English Literary Manuscripts and Letters - "a standard reference source for the study of (20th-century) English literature. It includes information about the manuscript holdings of repositories of all sizes, from the British Library to small-town museums, and about literary authors of all genres, from major poets to minor science fiction writers and romantic novelists." (University of Reading)
American Decadence - features "a variety of forms of decadent literature that appeared in America 1890 to 1950. The website includes examples of American decadent little magazines of the 1890s-1920s, American decadent novels of the 1920s, examples of the "paperbacking" of American decadence ..."
Literary Kicks - a hypertext devoted to Beat authors maintained by Levi Asher - "unaffiliated with any corporation, university or organization." Contains biographical material, bibliographies, photographs and much interesting information about the Beats and Beat culture.
The Literature and Culture of the American 1950s - includes an impressive collection of articles and other material from and about American literature, art, politics and sociology of the 1950's. Maintained by Alan Filreis for a course at the University of Pennsylvania.
The Sixties Project & Viet Nam Generation, Inc. - includes literature about the Viet Nam war as well as the work of a collective assembling an archive of material from the Sixties.
Psychedelic '60s: Literary Tradition and Social Change - based on an exhibit of University of Virginia Library Special Collections Department. Contains reproductions of album covers, manifestoes, posters and memorabilia from the 1960s linked by an historical narrative covering music, literature & politics.
SF Site - well organized site providing a wide range of material on science fiction, horror & fantasy writing. Includes interviews, reviews, an author directory & more.
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database - an index to over 50,000 historical and critical items about science fiction, fantasy and horror. Compiled by Hal W. Hall (Texas A & M).
MIT Science Fiction Society Homepage - a catalog of the world's largest open-shelf collection of science fiction (broadly defined). It also contains hours and membership information.
Feminist Science Fiction - a hypertext that includes information about feminist authors of science fiction, descriptions of their work, conference listings and bibliographies. Maintained by Laura Quilter (U of Ill, Chicago).
Medical Humanities: Literature, Arts and Medicine Database - "an annotated bibliography of prose, poetry, film, video and art which is being developed as a dynamic, accessible, comprehensive resource in medical humanities." It contains "information on 23 art works, 13 artists, 46 films, 1034 literature works, and 621 authors." It is a multi-institutional project, centered at NYU School of Medicine, coordinated by Dr. Felice Aull.
Hypertext and Hypermedia: A Select Bibliography - originally compiled by Scott Stebelman, the site is currently being updated by Seth Katz and Jim Bonnett at Bradley University.
Virtual Seminars for Teaching Literature - a collection of interactive teaching sites focused on the poetry of World War I. The project is based at Oxford University.
Hyperizons: The Hypertext Fiction Homepage - a large collection of pointers to hypertext fiction and hypertext fiction theory and criticism. Maintained by Michael Shumate (Duke).
Interactive Fiction Page - a collection of pointers to interactive fiction resources on the net, including connections to guides to writing interactive fiction, authoring tools, ftp sites, usenet FAQs, newsgroups and newsletters. Maintained by Scott Reilly (Carnegie Mellon).
Surrealism - includes the Department of Objects and Delusions, manifestos, the surrealist compliment generator, personalized Dada readings, and an assortment of texts. Also contains links to pages dedicated to Surrealist authors.
The Modern Word - contains substantive essays & reviews of selected 20th and 21st century authors. Includes biographical & critical material. The site has an impressive literary advisory board.
Modernism Timeline, 1890-1940 - provides a list of events, including publications, inventions, elections, exhibitions, etc., for the relevant period. Maintained by John M. Eckman.
Contemporary Postcolonial & Postimperial Literature in English - provides an introduction to contemporary postcolonial authors. Organized by country, the site offers geographical and historical background for each country and a wide variety of essays on each author. The site is directed by George Landow at Brown University but many pages are by his students.
Everything Postmodern - "strives to be one of the most comprehensive guides to postmodern theory on the web today." Contains links to over 1000 postmodern theory sites. Divided into four main sections: general resources (including links to relevant journals), thinkers, fringe and miscellaneous. Created & maintained by Gregory Broquard.
This page was last updated on 02/29/08