Ask Us!

Literature Resources

Classical and Medieval Literature Sites

16th-19th Century Literature Sites

Twentieth Century Literature Sites

American, Canadian and Australian Literature Sites

Drama Sites

Poetry Sites

Women & Literature Sites


MIT Literature Department


Marlene Manoff
Associate Head/
Collection Manager,
Humanities Library
mmanoff@MIT.EDU





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

literature

16th-19th Century
(in roughly chronological order by century)

  • Renaissance Electronic Texts - "a series of old-spelling, SGML-encoded editions of early individual copies of English Renaissance books and manuscripts and of plain transcriptions of such works." Edited by Ian Lancashire (U of Toronto Library).
  • Renascence Editions - a collection of online works printed in English between the years 1477 and 1799. These texts have been carefully produced, but are not being presented as scholarly editions. The general editor is Richard Bear (University of Oregon).
  • Legends - provides primary source material and up-to-date scholarship. It covers King Arthur, Robin Hood, Fairy Tales, Sagas and Sea Kings, Ballads and Broadsides, Shakespeare's Sonnets and many more. Maintained by Elizabeth Willey, Donald G. Keller and Paula Katherine Marmor.+
  • Early Modern Women Database - provides a portal to more than 200 Web resources for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas. It covers the time period from the 14th to early 19th centuries, although primary and secondary resources from antiquity to the present are also represented. University of Maryland.
  • Women Writers Project, 1330-1830 - "a collection of pre-Victorian women's writing in English... The texts cover a huge range of genres and topics, and represent an unparalleled resource for the study of women's writing and history, and of English literature generally." (Brown U).
  • Early Modern Center English Ballad Archive, 1500-1800 - "Dedicated to mounting online extant ballads published in English from 1500-1800, the English Department’s Early Modern Center at the University of California at Santa Barbara has begun by archiving the over 1,800 ballads in the Samuel Pepys collection." (UCSB).
  • Eighteenth-Century Resources on the Net - an attempt to provide a comprehensive collection of pointers to eighteenth-century material across a variety of disciplines. It includes links to collections of texts, documents, conference information, societies, bibliographies, biographies, exhibitions and web pages of individuals working on the eighteenth-century. It brings together a tremendous amount of material from and on this period available on the net. Maintained by Jack Lynch (Rutgers).
  • Eighteenth Century Studies - "This collection archives works of the eighteenth century from the perspectives of literary and cultural studies. Novels, plays, memoirs, treatises and poems of the period are kept here...along with modern criticism." Now part of the EServer based at the University of Washington.
  • The Gothic Literature Page - "devoted to study of Gothic Literature in England from 1764 to 1840. This site is intended to provide students and scholars of the Gothic novel access to the growing number of resources available on the web. An introduction to the Gothic novel, collected summaries, papers, critical and bibliographical information and related sites are assembled together to expedite research." Maintained by Franz Potter.
  • Dictionary of Sensibility - a hypertext to help understand the language of eighteenth-century sensibility. Provides a list of terms, explanations of terms and links to occurrences of those words in texts. (University of Virginia).
  • Emory Women Writers Resource Project - "Emory Women Writes Resource Project is a collection of edited and unedited texts by women writing in English from the seventeenth century through the nineteenth century. The Project is a pedagogical tool, designed to offer graduate and undergraduate students in various disciplines the opportunity to edit their own texts." Project Director Sheila Cavanagh, Emory University
  • Internet Library of Early Journals - A digitized collection of 18th and 19th century English journals, including a minimum of twenty year runs of Gentlemans' Magazine, The Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine. This is a joint project of the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford.
  • Representative Poetry - a historical anthology of English poetry from the early medieval period to the early twentieth century. It includes about 730 poems as well as criticism of poetry. It provides author, title, date and keyword indexes. The current editor is Ian Lancashire (U of Toronto).
  • Romantic Circles - a website devoted to the study of Romantic period literature and culture. Includes texts, scholarly resources, conference information and a variety of other material of interest to Romanticists. It contains, for example, an Anthologies section which "seeks to provide a comprehensive list of all the major anthologies currently available for the study of Romantic literature, tables of contents for those anthologies, supplementary anthologies that assist the study of Romantic literature, and errata for various anthologies." General Editors are Neil Fraistat and Steven E. Jones. It also has a large and distinguished advisory board.
  • Romantic Chronology - a hypertext chronology 1642-1851, including literary, social and political events in Britain and France. Edited by Laura Mandell (Miami U.) and Alan Liu (U.C. Santa Barbara).
  • A Romantic Natural History - "a website designed to survey the relationships between literary works and natural history in the century before Darwin's On the Origin of Species (1859)". Includes text, chronology, illustrations & bibliography. Constructed and maintained by Ashton Nichols at Dickinson College.
  • British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832 - an online scholarly archive of texts. The project aims to make complete texts available that are not readily accessible from other sources. In the initial stages, texts will be drawn from the Shields Library of the University of California, Davis.
  • Women Romantic Era Writers - links to the works in full-text of many women authors of the Romantic period. Also contains secondary material. Maintained by Adriana Craciun at the University of Nottingham.
  • Web Concordances: Shelley, Keats, Blake, Coleridge and Hopkins - provides concordances for selected works by these five poets. Maintained by R.J.C. Watt at University of Dundee.
  • The Bluestocking Archive - an archive of texts by or relating to the eighteenth-century British Bluestocking Circle. Maintained by Elizabeth Fay at U. Mass., Boston.
  • British Poetry 1780-1910 - a collection of scholarly editions, marked up and freely available for study or classroom use. Maintained by Jerome McGann and David Seaman (Alderman Library, U of VA).
  • British Fiction, 1800-1829: A Database of Production, Circulation, and Reception - "allows users to examine bibliographical records of 2,272 works of fiction written by approximately 900 authors, along with a large number of contemporary materials (including anecdotal records, circulating-library catalogues, newspaper advertisements, reviews, and subscription lists)."
    Cardiff University
  • The Literary Gothic - provides links to works by and about Gothic writers, including primary texts, literary criticism and reviews. Created by Jack G. Voller (Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville)
  • American Verse Project - a collection of American poetry published prior to 1920 (mostly 19th century) coded in SGML in conformance with the Text Encoding Initiative. Verse was selected for this project "from standard bibliographies, anthologies, and histories of American literature....These were supplemented by specialized bibliographies of writing by American women and people of color." A joint project of the Humanities Text Initiative and the University of Michigan Press.
  • American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology - selections from a 41-volume series entitled The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography. Built and maintained by Bruce Fort (U. of Va.).
  • Wright American Fiction - over 2800 novels and other works of fiction published between 1851 and 1875, with more to be added. The site consists of scanned images of the original volumes. A project of many Big Ten university libraries hosted at Indiana University.British Periodicals at Minnesota: The Early Nineteenth Century - contains chronological and alphabetical listings of periodicals that began publication in Great Britain between 1801 and 1850, as well as earlier titles that continued to publish after 1800. Contains bibliographic information only - not the complete texts. Compiled by Michael Hancher.
  • New Books in Nineteenth-Century Studies - "This site offers complete publication information for scholarly works on the British Romantic and Victorian periods. Here you can find authors, titles, publishers, prices, ISBN numbers and publishers' descriptions for new and forthcoming critical works, anthologies, and critical editions of nineteenth-century British materials. In addition, original reviews are available for selected works." Maintained by the University of Southern California Department of English.
  • Victorian Studies Bibliography - Lists important articles, books and reviews dealing with the Victorian period. The bibliography is connected to the journal Victorian Studies at the University of Indiana
  • NINES - a networked interface for nineteenth-century electronic scholarship, NINES is " a project to found a publishing environment for aggregated, peer-reviewed online scholarship centered in nineteenth-century studies, British and American."
  • Victoria Research Web - an offshoot of the Victoria discussion list, "VRW is intended to supply a handy set of tips and links to help Victorianists find practical information they need, whether it's an archive catalogue, a listserv address, a sample syllabus, or a journal's submission guidelines." Maintained by Patrick Leary, Indiana University.
  • The Victorian Web - a hypertext containing a great deal of material on Victorian literature, history and society. Maintained by George Landow, Brown U.
  • Index of 19th Century British Literature - an index to articles and other information available freely on the web concerning 19th century English, Scottish, and Irish authors.
  • Victorian Women Writers Project - "The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate, SGML-encoded transcriptions of literary works by British women writers in the late Victorian period." Edited by Perry Willett, Indiana U.
  • Victorian Studies Online Teaching Anthology - provides actual page images of Victorian periodicals from the University of Minnesota Library. There are 116 texts grouped under three themes: conditions of women, empire, and science, evolution and eugenics.
  • The Modern English Collection - part of the Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia, it offers a large collection of literary works, marked up with SGML in conformance with the Text Encoding Initiative guidelines. It includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations from 1500 to the present. In most instances, the print sources are clearly noted. Many texts include illustrations.
  • Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls - this site contains information on the holdings of Stanford University's 8000 item Dime Novel and Story Paper Collection and includes material on the background and history of dime novels, penny dreadfuls, and story papers. It provides the full text of nine novels.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 02/29/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT