Ask Us!

Literature Resources

Classical and Medieval Literature Sites

16th-19th Century Literature Sites

Twentieth Century Literature Sites

American, Canadian and Australian Literature Sites

Drama Sites

Poetry Sites

Women & Literature Sites


MIT Literature Department


Marlene Manoff
Associate Head/
Collection Manager,
Humanities Library
mmanoff@MIT.EDU





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

literature

Poetry sites

Poets & Writers - online version of the leading U.S. poetry magazine. Includes a directory of writers, information about grants and conferences, audio clips and other resources.

The Poetry Society - a resource for British poets & poetry. Includes an online poetry classroom project, information about poetry events in the London area, lists of forthcoming poetry titles in the UK and links to two poetry Society journals, Poetry Review and Poetry News

Poets.org - the site of the Academy of American Poets - includes biographies and other information about 450 American poets, with selections from their works & some audio clips. Also contains a database of 1200 poems searchable by title & first line.

Electronic Poetry Center - includes poetry and prose by contemporary poets, journals of contemporary poetry, poetry reviews, an opportunity to contribute to a collaborative poem, information about poetry competitions, poetry conferences and more (U of Buffalo).

"Who's Zoomin Who?" - a comparison of the websites (listed above) of the Academy of American Poets and the Electronic Poetry Center by David Caplan. If the above link (to the MUSE archive for Postmodern Culture) does not work, click here.

Internet Poetry Archive - a joint venture of University of North Carolina Press and the UNC Office of Information Technology. Its goal is to make available selected poems from a number of contemporary poets. The initial offering includes Seamus Heaney, Czeslaw Milosz and Philip Levine. It contains the text of selected poems, critical material and audio clips of the poets reading their own work.

Representative Poetry - a historical anthology of English poetry from the early medieval period to the early twentieth century. It includes about 1,340 poems as well as criticism of poetry. It provides author, title, date and keyword indexes. The current editor is Ian Lancashire (U of Toronto).

British Poetry 1780-1910 - a collection of scholarly editions, marked up and freely available for study or classroom use, maintained by Jerome McGann and David Seaman (Alderman Library, U of VA).

British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832 - the project aims to produce an online scholarly archive consisting of electronic editions of poetry by British women written between 1789 and 1832. Texts are being included that are not readily accessible from other sources.

American Verse Project - a collection of American poetry published prior to 1920 (mostly 19th century) coded in SGML in conformance with the Text Encoding Initiative. Verse was selected for this project "from standard bibliographies, anthologies, and histories of American literature....These were supplemented by specialized bibliographies of writing by American women and people of color." A joint project of the Humanities Text Initiative and the University of Michigan Press.

Contemporary American Poetry Archive - an electronic archive designed to make out-of-print volumes of poetry available to readers, scholars, and researchers.

The Poetry Archives - contains well over three thousand English language poems plus a few translations of classical poetry. The majority date from the 16th to 19th century.

Lost Poets of the Great War - contains information on, as well as the text of poems by Rupert Brooke, Wilfred Owen, Isaac Rosenberg and others. There is also a chronology of World War I and a bibliography. Also includes some audio material. Maintained by Harry Rusche (Emory University).

Twentieth Century Poetry in English - contains information on about 160 poets, with separate pages for eleven major poets. These include biographical and critical information, photos, discographies, and filmographies as well as full-text of some poems. Maintained by Eiichi Hishikawa at Kobe University, Japan.

Modern American Poetry: A multi-media companion to the Anthology of Modern American Poetry (Oxford University Press, 2000) - although this site is a companion to the print volume, it functions independently, offering a wealth of information about modern American poets. It includes poetry, biographical material, illustrations, reviews, interviews and syllabi. Edited by Cary Nelson at University of Illinois.

Zuzu's Petals Literary Resource - contains "10,000+ organized links to helpful resources for writers, artists, performers, and researchers... Our mission is to expand the influence of poetry beyond its traditionally academic audience and to make quality writing an everyday craving." Includes Zuzu's Petals Quarterly

South African Poets - contains the text of a few poems by each of about 50 South African poets. Also includes photos and a small amount of information about each poet. Maintained by Peter Horn at University of Cape Town.

Sonnets Central - A collection of English-language sonnets including sonnets from Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand, and a few from France, Germany, Italy, Spain, and Sweden in English translation. For each author a brief introduction and sometimes a portrait precede links to individual sonnets. Internal links to 13 classic essays on the sonnet show the development of critical awareness of the form up to 1917. Maintained by Eric Blomquist.

The Canadian Poetry Archive - "features selected poems from over 100 early English- and French-language Canadian poets. Digitized from public domain anthologies found in the National Library of Canada's rich literature collection, the poems represent some of Canada's most notable poetry from the 19th and early 20th centuries."

Canadian Poetry - contains information on Canadian poets, poetry journals, poetry presses, literary events and awards, grants and contests, poetry courses and some poetry.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 02/29/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT