Ask Us!

Internet Collections by
Period, Genre etc.

Databases

Specific Authors or
Works

Literary Works in
Full Text

Literary Meta-Sites

Reference Works

Miscellaneous
Sites:
Listervs, Societies,
etc.


MIT Literature Department


Marlene Manoff
Associate Head/
Collection Manager,
Humanities Library
mmanoff@MIT.EDU





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

literature

Miscellaneous Sites, including Listservs, Literary Associations, Electronic Text Centers, Bibliographies, and Scholarly Societies

  • Directory of Electronic Text Centers - a directory of electronic text centers and humanities computing centers compiled by Mary Mallery at the Center for Electronic Text in the Humanities. It includes descriptions of resources, snail mail and email addresses and direct links to gopher and web sites when available.
  • English Department Home Pages Worldwide - lists over 1300 departments. Maintained by David L. Hoover (NYU).
  • English Departments Online - annotated list of English departments. Maintained by Tom Goldpaugh (Marist College).
  • Fictionmags Index - "lists thousands of individual (fiction) magazine issues of all eras by author, title, and issue."
  • Literature, Cognition and the Brain - a website devoted to the intersection of literary studies, cognitive theory, and neuroscience. It includes abstracts, reviews, work in progress, a bibliography and links to conferences and other related web sites. Maintained by Alan Richardson at the University of British Columbia.
  • Oxford Text Archive - the archive "exists to serve the interests of the academic community by providing low-cost archival and dissemination facilities for electronic texts."
  • Studies of Interest to English & American Literature Librarians - a quite comprehensive bibliography that "cumulates citations appearing in Biblio-Notes: Issued by the English and American Literature Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association."
  • Bibliography of Studies on the MLAIB International Bibliography - maintained by Susanna Van Sant. Originally compiled by Scott Stebelman.
  • Bibliographical Society of the University of Virginia - founded in 1947 at the University of Charlottesville in order to promote interest in books and manuscripts, maps, printing, the graphic arts and bibliography, and textual criticism. It publishes Studies in Bibliography.
  • Scholarly Societies Project - "This is one of a set of subject pages created by compilers at the University of Waterloo Library to facilitate access to websites maintained by or for scholarly societies across the world."
  • SHARP(Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing) - a web site that includes a great deal of material on printing and publishing history. It contains links to many organizations, exhibits, projects, conferences, teaching resources, journals, etc. dealing broadly with the history of the book.
  • Council of Literary Magazines and Presses - provides support for "creative voices of communities underrepresented in the mainstream culture."
  •  

     

     

     

     

     

     


    empty

    This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:27 EDT


    empty
    MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT