Ask Us!

Internet Collections by
Period, Genre etc.

Databases & E-Journals

Specific Authors or
Works

Literary Works in
Full Text

Literary Meta-Sites

Reference Works

Miscellaneous
Sites:
Listervs, Societies,
etc.


MIT Literature Department


Marlene Manoff
Associate Head/
Collection Manager,
Humanities Library
mmanoff@MIT.EDU





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

literature

Literary Meta-Sites (Websites with Broad Coverage of Literary Resources)

  • ASLE online - The Association for the Study of Literature and Environment website deals with literature that considers the relationship between human beings and the natural world. It covers the genres of literary nonfiction, nature poetry, and environmental fiction, including ecofeminism. It includes full-text Electronic Archives, with five topical divisions: ecocriticism, bibliography, a library of environmental writing, 164 syllabi, and assorted documents, news bulletins, and essays.
  • English Literature on the Web - an extremely large collection of pointers to material on English literature. Organized by period and by author. Maintained by Mitsuharu Matsuoka at Nagoya University, Japan. No search engine but includes an alphabetical index.
  • Literary Resources on the Net - a huge collection of literature resources organized by period. Maintained by Jack Lynch (U. of Penn.). Includes its own search engine.
  • Anglistik Guide - subject guide to scholarly material in Anglo-American language and literature. Maintained at the State and University Library of Gñttingen. Resources are catalogued using a set of Dublin Core metadata.
  • EServer - founded in 1990 as the English Server, it provides an alternative niche for work on a range of topics including art, politics, cultural & literary theory, drama, feminism, film television, etc. It is a member-run cooperative.
  • Online Literary Criticism Collection - contains 1584 critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by literary period. Maintained by the Internet Public Library.
  • Internet Sites Related To Electronic Literature - "This list provides links to sites discussed in an essay entitled 'Literature in Electronic Format:The Traditional English and American Canon,' by Joanne Gates, published in the April 1997 issue of Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries, v. 34, no. 8, pp. 1279-1296." Unusual in that it also includes links to publishers of commercial electronic products.

 

 

 

 

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 02/29/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT