Ask Us!

Internet Collections by
Period, Genre etc.

Databases & E-Journals

Specific Authors or
Works

Literary Works in
Full Text

Literary Meta-Sites

Reference Works

Miscellaneous
Sites:
Listervs, Societies,
etc.


MIT Literature Department


Marlene Manoff
Associate Head/
Collection Manager,
Humanities Library
mmanoff@MIT.EDU





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

literature

General Reference Works

National Library Catalogues Worldwide

webCATS Library Catalogues on the World Wide Web

MLA Bibliography (MIT only)

Bibliography of Literary Theory, Criticism and Philology - lists over 130,000 items with a focus on English-speaking authors.

Bartleby.com - provides access to many classic works of literature as well as a number of standard encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, style & usage guides & quotation sources.

Oxford English Dictionary (MIT only)

Lives, the Biography Resource (maintained by Kenneth P. Lanxner)

AA Independent Press guide - "a free online directory of over 2000 literary magazines and publishers form around the world." (maintained by Dee Rimbaud)

Biography.com - includes an online version of the Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia (1994) containing about 20,000 short biographies.

Cambridge History of English and American Literature
Includes all eighteen volumes of the classic literary encyclopedia.

Repositories of Primary Sources - lists websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.

Style/Usage Manuals

Literary Dictionary (edited by Robert Clark, Emory Elliot and Janet Todd)

Pulitzer Prizes - "Documenting 80 years of American intellectual and artistic excellence in journalism, letters, drama, and music."

British Literary Prizes - links to about two dozen websites devoted to particular prizes.

 

 

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 02/29/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT