Ask Us!

Internet Collections by
Period, Genre etc.

Databases & E-Journals

Specific Authors or
Works

Literary Works in
Full Text

Literary Meta-Sites

Reference Works

Miscellaneous
Sites:
Listervs, Societies,
etc.


MIT Literature Department


Marlene Manoff
Associate Head/
Collection Manager,
Humanities Library
mmanoff@MIT.EDU





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

literature

Literary works in full text

Each of the following provides direct access to hundreds of literary works. Please note that not all of these collections require that texts conform to any standards of formatting or accuracy.

The On-line Books Page (at the University of Pennsylvania)
An index to thousands of texts on the internet, many in HTML.
The Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia
Thousands of SGML encoded electronic texts in many languages. Includes a Modern English Collection.
Project Gutenberg
A collection of about a thousand works in plain ASCII text.
Alex: A Catalogue of Electronic Texts
Works of English and American literature and Western philosophy. Maintained by Eric Lease Morgan at NCSU.
Features:
-search for and display texts from the collection
-search the content of located texts
-search the content of multiple documents simultaneously.
-create on-the-fly PDF (Portable Document Format) files.
Athena: Authors & Texts
Thousands of texts sorted by authors name.
Blackmask Online
Thousands of books in six different file formats. Includes popular and genre fiction.

For access to literary collections in full text, you may also want to consult Internet Collections by Period, Genre, Etc., the top level Literature page.

 

 

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 02/29/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT