Ask Us!

Literature Resources

Classical and Medieval Literature Sites

16th-19th Century Literature Sites

Twentieth Century Literature Sites

American, Canadian and Australian Literature Sites

Drama Sites

Poetry Sites

Women & Literature Sites


MIT Literature Department


Marlene Manoff
Associate Head/
Collection Manager,
Humanities Library
mmanoff@MIT.EDU





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

literature

Drama sites

  • WWW Virtual Library Theatre and Drama - gateway to theatre and drama resources in more than fifty countries. Includes a huge volume of material.
  • Theatre and Drama - includes "pointers to a broad range of resources across the world: professional, academic and recreational. The aim is to make the scope multi-cultural and multi-lingual." Maintained by Barry Russell in the UK.
  • Theatre Central - a huge metasite divided into categories including professional theatre companies, show sites, stagecraft, unions, contracts, Directories of Association's publications and discussions, now playing, for the playwright, etc. Created by Andrew Quixote Kraft
  • Screenwriters & Playwrights Home Page - includes resources for screenwriters and playwrights as well as general writing resources.
  • Actor Site - great resource for professional actors. Includes audition information.
  • Internet Broadway Database - "official database for Broadway theatre information." Provides current and historical information on New York theatre productions.
  • WWW Resources for Theater and Drama - a broad collection of theater links maintained by the Indiana University Bloomington Libraries.
  • Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies - a large, well organized guide to theatre and performance studies maintained by Ken McCoy at Stetson University.
  • Artslynx - provides many resources for theatre, dance, music and the visual arts.
  • Digital Librarian: Performing Arts - a large collection of links to theater and performing arts sites. Maintained by Margaret Vail Anderson.
  • Interplay - an online index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals. Maintained by Robert Westover and Janet Wright at Portland State University.
  • New York Theatre Wire - advance news of what's playing on New York's stages. Includes theatre, dance, performance art, music, etc.
  • Theatre History on the Web - "A resource for theatre historians and students of the theatre's history." Contains a large collection of links to theatre sites organized by period as well as links to large theatre collections in research centers, libraries and museums. Maintained by Jack Wolcott at the University of Washington.
  • Theatrehistory.com - Includes material on the origins of theater as well as on ancient & medieval theater history. Also covers a variety of countries and includes a script archive.
  • International Theatre Design Archive: Project 2000 - The United States Institute for Theatre Technology, the nation's leading professional organization for technical theater, launched this ambitious project with a goal of indexing and archiving 2,000 theater designs - scenic, costume, and lighting - from professional, regional and educational theaters by the year 2000. Maintained and hosted by Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville, which has a strong tradition of theater research growth on the Internet, the site is well on its way to its goal.
  • Performing Arts in America 1875-1923 - provides visual & audio images drawn from the extensive collections of the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. Covers dance, music, film and theater. Includes 16,000 primary documents & original sources. Funded in part by the National Endowment for the Arts.
  • Didaskalia: ancient theater today information about both the roots and the modern uses of ancient drama and theater.
  • Centre for Research in Early English Drama | Records of Early English Drama (REED) - "REED examines the historical MSS that provide external evidence of drama, secular music, and other communal entertainment and ceremony from the Middle Ages until 1642... The project is based at Victoria University in the University of Toronto."
  • British Women Playwrights around 1800 - a project begun in 1997 with a session at the Modern Language Association conference devoted to rethinking the paradigms for British women playwrights. The site includes scholarly papers and a forum for discussion, a bibliography of Romantic drama and British women playwrights and links to electronic editions of works by British women playwrights around 1800. The general editors of this site are Thomas C. Crochunis and Michael Eberle-Sinatra.
  • The 19th Century London Stage: an Exploration - a project begun in 1994 at the University of Washington School of Drama. It presents research by graduate students on a variety of topics related to British theater.
  • UK Theatre Web - "the definitive WWW guide to professional and amateur performing arts... in the UK."
  • London Theatre Guide - "news, listings, reviews, seating plans, tickets, map, venues..."
  • SIBMAS International Directory of Performing Arts Collections -
    " lists over 7000 international institutions with material relating to the performing arts (theatre, opera, music, ballet, film, circus, radio, television, cabaret, pantomime."
  •  

     

     

     


    empty

    This page was last updated on 02/29/08


    empty
    MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT