Ask Us!

Literature Resources

Databases

Specific Authors or
Works

Literary Works in
Full Text


Literary Meta-Sites

Reference Works

Miscellaneous
Sites:
Listervs, Societies,
etc.


MIT Literature Department


Marlene Manoff
Associate Head/
Collection Manager,
Humanities Library
mmanoff@MIT.EDU





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

literature

Classical and Medieval Literature Sites

  • Classics Collections Page - a comprehensive collection of links to classical studies material maintained by the University of Florida Library. It includes Local Resources, Guides/Subject Indices, Directories, Bibliographies, Journals, Electronic Texts, Databases, Art & Archaeology, Classical Mythology, Instructional Resources and Other Resources.
  • Classical Mythology - covers Greek & Roman mythology. Provides a useful overview for beginners. Maintained by Robin Mitchell-Boyask (Temple University).
  • The Internet Classics Archive - a searchable archive of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors. Includes mainly Greek and Roman texts (in English translation), but also some Chinese and Persian works, complete with commentary." Maintained by Daniel C. Stevenson (MIT).
  • Online Medieval & Classical Library - a collection of classical & medieval literary texts with a powerful search engine. Created by Douglas Killings (University of California, Berkeley).
  • Electronic Resources for Classicists: The Second Generation - prepared by Maria C. Pantelia (UNH).
  • Classical, Medieval, and related links and indices - maintained by Jim O'Donnell (U of Penn).
  • Greek Mythology Link - "concerned with the creative, artistic, literary and inspiring aspects of Greek myths." Provides a great deal of information based in part on Carlos Parada's Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology.
  • Project Perseus - "An Evolving Digital Library on Ancient Greece." Gregory Crane (Tufts University) is Director of the Project.
  • Diotima : Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World - "an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean."
  • The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies - a large collection of medieval (predominantly European) resources, in various European languages, including English (Georgetown).
  • The Internet Medieval Sourcebook - includes links to full text material from the medieval period, an index of selected and excerpted texts for teaching, secondary sources, multimedia, etc. Edited by Paul Halsall
  • Old English Pages - includes electronic texts, translations & manuscript images, art material, history, fonts, sound files,instructional software etc.
  • Middle English Works - authoritative editions in full-text (U of VA).
  • TEAMS Middle English Texts - "The goal of the TEAMS Middle English text series is to make available to teachers and students texts which occupy an important place in the literary & cultural canon but which have not been readily available in student editions." All texts are under copyright. Russell Peck (University of Rochester) is general editor.
  • Anthology of Middle English literature, 1350-1485 - includes material by and about Chaucer, Gawain, Julian of Norwich, Margery Kempe, and Malory, plus Medieval plays and lyrics. Edited by Anniina Jokinen.
  • Centre for Research in Early English Drama | Records of Early English Drama (REED) - "REED examines the historical MSS that provide external evidence of drama, secular music, and other communal entertainment and ceremony from the Middle Ages until 1642... The project is based at Victoria University in the University of Toronto."
  • The Middle English Compendium - offers "easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources." Maintained at the University of Michigan.

 

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 10/28/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT