Ask Us!

Internet Collections by
Period, Genre etc.

Databases & E-Journals

Specific Authors or
Works

Literary Works in
Full Text


Literary Meta-Sites

Reference Works

Miscellaneous
Sites:
Listervs, Societies,
etc.


MIT Literature Department


Marlene Manoff
Associate Head/
Collection Manager,
Humanities Library
mmanoff@MIT.EDU





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

literature

Internet Collections Devoted to Specific Authors or Works

In addition to the alphabetical listings below, three sites provide links to hundreds of web pages devoted to particular authors:


Alphabetical Authors list

A-C

D-M

P-S

T-Z

  • Jane Austen - contains hypertext editions of Austen's six novels plus her minor works. It also includes biographical, bibliographic and critical material. Maintained by Henry Churchyard (U of Texas).
  • Electronic Beowulf - contains sample images as well as an overview of the Beowulf project. The goal is to assemble a database of digital images of the Beowulf manuscript and related manuscripts and printed texts. The project has been developed by Kevin S. Kiernan (U of Kentucky) and Paul Szarmach (Western Michigan U).
  • The William Blake Archive - "The William Blake Archive is an online hypermedia environment that allows its users to access high-quality electronic reproductions of a growing portion of Blake's work. These reproductions have been prepared according to the highest technical and scholarly standards, with the cooperation of a number of the major museum, library, and private collections."
  • Paul Bowles - "In memory of Paul Bowles, American writer and composer, who died on November 18, 1999, in Tangier, Morocco. The official Paul Bowles website is authorized by Bowles' literary and musical heirs and includes a biography of Paul Bowles, information on his novels, books, short stories, translations, music and scores, audio clips, memoirs, galleries of photographs, a biography of Jane Bowles and important resources."
  • The Bronte Sisters - an assemblage of miscellaneous links to Bronte resources on the net. Maintained by Cecilia Falk (Sweden).
  • Lewis Carroll Home Page - includes connections to Carroll texts online, lists of secondary materials and graphics (U OF ILL).
  • Willa Cather Home Page - This site contains connections to online versions of Cather's works as well as full text versions of critical and biographical material. It also includes a bibliography of secondary sources, descriptions of Cather documents in U.S. libraries and links to many Cather-related web pages. Maintained by Scott Newstrom (Harvard).
  • geoffreychaucer.org - provides links to a broad array of useful electronic and print resources, including primary texts, critical studies, graphics, audio readings, syllabi and related course materials, online discussion groups, and databases. Maintained by David Wilson-Okamura.
  • S. T. Coleridge hypertext archive - contains poetry, literary theory and criticism, political commentary and other writings by Coleridge. It also includes a chronology of his life, a small amount of secondary material, as well as pointers to other Coleridge resources on the internet. Maintained by Marj Tiefert and included in the British Poetry Archive of Alderman Library at U of Va.

D-M (return to top of page)

  • The Dickens Project of the University of California is "a scholarly consortium devoted to promoting study and enjoyment of the life, times, and work of Charles Dickens." Its website contains conference information, information about its own publications, and information on Dickens fellowships around the world.
  • William Faulkner Page - includes biographical and critical material, conference information, a filmography, a list of film adaptations of Faulkner's work and much miscellaneous material. Maintained by John B. Padgett (U. of Mississippi).
  • F. Scott Fitzgerald Centennial Home Page - This site is "a commemoration of the 100th anniversary of Fitzgerald's birth." It "will offer detailed information on his life, works, and relationships with other authors. The site will include many illustrations, a biography and timeline, and complete texts of some of his short stories....This site will draw extensively on books, photographs, and related materials from the Matthew and Arlyn Bruccoli Collection of F. Scott Fitzgerald at the University of South Carolina."
  • James Joyce in Cyberspace - a scholarly web providing connections to material by and on Joyce. It includes HTML versions of Dubliners and Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man as well as versions of Ulysses and Finnegans Wake. It provides a Joycean timeline, book reviews of Joyce scholarship and a photo gallery. Maintained by R.L. Callahan (Temple U).
  • Keats, John - Hypertext version of The Poetical Works (1884).
  • The Life and Work of John Keats, 1795 - 1821 - includes much biographical and critical information on Keats, selections from his poetry & letters, and reproductions of drawings & paintings of Keats. Created by Marilee Hanson
  • Into the Wardrobe: The C. S. Lewis WWW Page - maintained by John Visser (Utah State U), who claims his goal is to serve both the C.S. Lewis fan and the CS Lewis scholar. It includes a chronology of the author's life, a bibliography of works by and about Lewis, photographs, sound clips of Lewis reading, digests from the CS Lewis mailing list and links to other Lewis resources.
  • Thomas Middleton Page - includes hypertexted editions of the plays of Thomas Middleton plus some critical material. Maintained by Chris Cleary.
  • The Milton-L Home Page - "endeavors to be a complete guide to Milton and related resources on the Internet." Maintained by Kevin J. T. Creamer (U. of Richmond). Also available through this site is the Milton Review, "a home for juried reviews" of books on Milton or of interest to Milton scholars.
  • The William Morris Society Web Site - includes information on the life and works of Morris; links to his prose and poetry; reproductions of many of his textiles, wallpapers and stained glass; portraits of his circle; events and announcements. Sponsored by the William Morris Society and CUNY.

P-S (return to top of page)

  • The Walker Percy Project - "designed to accommodate the general internet browser by providing an introduction to Percy and his thought as well as serve as a comprehensive, up-to-date database for the professional researcher of Percy." It contains biographical and critical material as well as bibliographic information on work by and about Percy. It also includes photographs and multimedia material. Maintained by Henry P. Mills at UNC.
  • Piers Plowman Electronic Archive - The long range goal is the creation of a multi-level, hypertextually linked electronic archive of the textual tradition of all three versions of the fourteenth-century allegorical dream vision, Piers Plowman. The archive currently contains a description of the project, a brief history of the modern text, facsimile pages, samples of what the final product might look like and information about as well as facsimile pages from, documentary editions. Project editors are Robert Adams, Eric Eliason, Ralph Hanna, III, Thorlac Thurville-Petre and Hoyt Duggan (IATH, U of Va).
  • Thomas Pynchon Home Page - a "profoundly unofficial but widely collaborative Web page devoted to the works of Thomas Pynchon." It includes biographical and critical material on Pynchon, as well as multimedia material, including Quicktime video clips with "Pynchonesque sounds" (Pomona College).
  • The Complete Writings and Pictures of D G Rossetti - "The Rossetti Archive is a hypermedia environment for studying the works of the Pre-Raphaelite poet and painter....The archive is a structured database holding digitized images of Rossetti's works in their original documentary forms. Rossetti's poetical manuscripts, early printed texts - including proofs and first editions - as well as his drawings and paintings are stored in the archive.... The materials are marked up for electronic search and analysis, as they are supplied with full scholarly annotations and notes." This web site contains a selection from the larger archive (IATH, U of VA).
  • Hamlet on the Ramparts - "designed and maintained by the MIT Shakespeare Project in collaboration with the Folger Shakespeare Library and other institutions. We aim to provide free access to an evolving collection of texts, images, and film relevant to Hamlet's first encounter with the Ghost (Act 1, Scenes 4 and 5)."
  • Complete Plays of Shakespeare - Google's highly searchable versions of 37 plays. Also provides links to secondary material as well as videos of performances of the plays.
  • The Complete Works of William Shakespeare - a collection of Shakespeare's plays and poetry maintained by Jeremy Hylton (MIT). The texts were taken from the Moby Shakespeare collection and the editions are not identified. They are, however, fully searchable by word or phrase. For an explanation of some of the limitations (for scholarly purposes) of electronic editions of Shakespeare's works, see Ian Lancashire's paper "The Public-Domain Shakespeare."
  • Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet - an annotated directory of scholarly internet resources, which has its own search engine. The directory is arranged into ten logical sections, for example, "Works" (collected and individual plays, poetry study guides, etc.), "Life and Times" (biographical and relevant historical material) "Criticism" (with a focus on historical criticism). Few metasites have so many categories of materials. Maintained by Terry Gray at Palomar Community College.
  • The Oxford Shakespeare - the 1914 Oxford edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare. Search or browse the full-text of the 37 plays, 154 sonnets and miscellaneous verses. Edited by W.J. Craig.
  • Shakespeare Illustrated - "explores nineteenth-century paintings, criticism, and productions of Shakespeare's plays..." Maintained by Harry Rusche at Emory University.
  • The Shakespeare Web - an interactive hypermedia environment dedicated to the increasingly popular understanding of Shakespeare's plays and other works." Maintained by Dana Lloyd Spradley and Culture Wave Communications Group.
  • Edmund Spenser Home Page - this page seeks "to collect any and all Net materials pertaining to the life and work of Edmund Spenser." Maintained by Richard Bear, U. of Oregon.

T-Z (return to top of page)

  • Tennyson Page - includes several works in full text and a small amount of secondary material. Maintained by Arthur Chandler (San Francisco State).
  • The Thoreau Reader - includes three complete books and four essays by Henry David Thoreau, with annotated versions of "Walden" and "Civil Disobedience," a brief introduction to Thoreau, and links to other related sites.
  • Mark Twain Resources on the World Wide Web - a collection of material by and about Twain with connections to other relevant sites. One particular focus of this web is Twain's anti-imperialist writing; it provides both critical and contextual material. Maintained by Jim Zwick (Syracuse U).
  • The Edith Wharton Society - The EWS home page includes tables of contents for issues of the society's journal, The Edith Wharton Review (1990- ), and a discussion list open to nonmembers. Other links lead to EW's works available online, a bibliography of secondary sources, some dozen well-chosen sites for research and general information about Wharton, and a syllabus exchange.
  • Walt Whitman Home Page - provides access to the four Walt Whitman notebooks that disappeared from the Library of Congress in 1942 and were recently recovered. Contains digitized images of Whitman's handwritten text (Manuscript Division, Library of Congress).
  • Walt Whitman Hypertext Archives - "a structured database holding digitized images of Whitman's works in their original documentary forms." An interesting beginning - not a great deal of Whitman's work has been digitized so far. (Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities at UVA).
  • Wordsworth, William - a hypertext version of the The Complete Poetical Works, published in 1888 by Macmillan. It includes a chronological index to the poems as well as an index to first lines.(Project Bartleby)

A-C

D-M

P-S

T-Z


(return to top of page)

 


empty

This page was last updated on 02/29/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT