Ask Us!

Literature Resources

Databases & E-Journals

Specific Authors or
Works

Literary Works in
Full Text


Literary Meta-Sites

Reference Works

Miscellaneous
Sites:
Listervs, Societies,
etc.


MIT Literature Department


Marlene Manoff
Associate Head/
Collection Manager,
Humanities Library
mmanoff@MIT.EDU





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

literature

American, Canadian, Australian and Irish Literature and Culture Sites

PAL: Perspectives in American Literature - A Research and Reference Guide - an online version of the volume by Paul P. Reuben. Provides carefully organized collection of resources covering over 300 years of American literature. Arranged by period. (CSU Stanislaus)

Outline of American Literature - a history of American literature from the Colonial period through the 1980s. By Kathryn VanSpanckeren (University of Tampa). Published by the United States Information Agency.

American Writers - explores the influence of 45 writers on U.S. culture. These include Abraham Lincoln, Mark Twain, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edith Wharton, Ernest Hemingway, Black Elk, Will Rogers and William Buckley as well as other literary and historical figures. Produced by C-SPAN to accompany a TV program.

American Authors - provides biographical and critical material on about 100 American authors. Also includes a timeline of U.S. political and literary history and a good deal of background information. Maintained by Donna M. Campbell at Gonzaga University.

American Studies Information Community - an annotated catalog of online resources in American Studies and related fields (University of Virginia)

Language of the Land - Using maps and photographs from the collections of the Library of Congress, this exhibition documents the connections between America's geography and its literature.

American Authors on the Web - links to author websites (edited by Mitsuharu Matsuoka, Nagoya University, Japan)

Modern American Poetry: A multi-media companion to the Anthology of Modern American Poetry (Oxford University Press, 2000) - although this site is a companion to the print volume, it functions independently, offering a wealth of information about modern American poets. It includes poetry, biographical material, illustrations, reviews, interviews and syllabi. Edited by Cary Nelson at University of Illinois.

Library of Southern Literature - provides an overview of literature of the American South, a bibliography by the late Robert Bain, the full text of about 70 primary works, and a considerable amount of critical material. (UNC Chapel Hill)

Post-World War II American Literature and Culture Database - contains information, including links to libraries and special collections dealing with popular culture, punk and hardcore, science fiction and Generation X, etc. Sponsored by the U.C. Berkeley English Dept.

Electronic Archives for Teaching the American Literatures - contains "essays, syllabi, bibliographies, and other resources for teaching the multiple literatures of the United States" (Georgetown U).

Wright American Fiction - over 1700 novels and other works of fiction published between 1851 and 1875, with more to be added. The site consists of scanned images of the original volumes. A project of many Big Ten university libraries hosted at Indiana University.

Early American Fiction Collection - 158 volumes of 136 authors plus manuscript items. This is a publicly accessible subset of a larger collection at the University of Virginia.

Storytellers: Native American Authors Online. - "This site was conceived ... to make the writings of Native American authors, particularly poets, both more visible and more widely available." African American Writers : Online E-texts - a large collection of texts by and about African American authors. Sponsored by the Internet School Library Media Center.

American Studies Web - a guide to American studies resources in many fields including politics, economics, sociology, gender, history, art, and literature. Maintained by David Phillips.

Writing Black - a collection of literature and history resources written by and about African Americans. This is part of an American Literature site at Keele University (U.K.).

Nineteenth Century in Print: Periodicals - digitized and searchable versions of 23 nineteenth-century American periodicals provided as part of the American Memory project at the Library of Congress.

American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology - selections from a 41-volume series entitled "The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography". Built and maintained by Bruce Fort, University of Virginia.

The Vault at Pfaff's - "an archive of art and literature by New York City's Nineteenth-Century Bohemians." Includes texts (mostly from The New York Saturday Press), biographies and other material related to about 150 literary and artistic figures who gathered at Charles Pfaff's beer cellar in lower Manhattan. Writers include Whitman, Poe and Twain.

The Mississippi Writers Page - includes biographies, bibliographies and criticism of Mississippi writers. Maintained by the University of Mississippi English Department.

Canadian Information By Subject: Literature - a large collection of pointers to internet resources on Canadian Literature compiled by the National Library of Canada.

Infoculture - a joint project of the Canadian (Public) Broadcasting Corporation and Canada's CultureNet to showcase the work of Canadian creative and performing artists. Includes material on visual and performing arts, books and writers, new media, cultural politics and a calendar of events. It's a combination of electronic magazine and website.

Canadian Poetry Association - promotes the reading, writing, publishing and preservation of poetry in Canada. This site includes links to awards, information on Canadian poetry in book form and CD and links to many websites related to Canadian literature.

Canadian Literature Archive - a repository for information about Canadian authors. Its goal is to reprint out-of-print works, provide bibliographies, a photo archive, and proceedings of relevant conferences. It is a project of the English Department of the University of Manitoba.

Early Canadiana Online - a project to provide access to Canada's published heritage. Over 1,037,000 pages have been digitized. It features work published from the time of the first European settlers up to the early 20th century.

Canada's Early Women Writers, a Biographical Database - this database presents biographical and publication information for more than 470 women who lived in Canada or wrote about Canada, and authored an English-language book or pamphlet of fiction or poetry that was published before 1940. Simon Fraser University.

CanLit Links - a very broad Canadian literature metasite with links to material on many Canadian authors (English and French), theater and poetry sites, Canadian Studies Programs, Canadian literature organizations and Canadian literary periodicals. Maintained by Northwest Passages, a British Columbia bookstore specializing in Canadiana.

The Canadian Poetry Archive - "features selected poems from over 100 early English- and French-language Canadian poets. Digitized from public domain anthologies found in the National Library of Canada's rich literature collection, the poems represent some of Canada's most notable poetry from the 19th and early 20th centuries."

Canadian Poetry - contains information on Canadian poets, poetry journals, poetry presses, literary events and awards, grants and contests, poetry courses and some poetry.

Canadian Studies: A Guide to the Sources - a bibliographic essay that provides a listing of core resources for undergraduate use in Canadian studies. It contains many embedded links. By John D. Blackwell and Laurie C.C.Stanley-Blackwell, St. Francis Xavier University.

Online Guide to Writing in Canada - contains information on Canadian authors, discussion lists, writing unions and organizations, booksellers, festivals, awards and general resources.

The Canadian Literature Research Service (CLRS) - "offers researchers specialized reference, research, advisory and bibliographic services and prepares material for exhibitions on Canadian literature and literary publishing and reading lists featuring selected Canadian authors and themes in Canadian literature."

Australian Literature – primarily a collection of links about contemporary Australian authors. Maintained by Perry Middlemiss

OzLit - provides broad coverage of Australian literature including a large collection of literary links, research tools, book of the month page, and links to Australian newspapers.

Literature in Australia and New Zealand, An Overview - part of Contemporary Postcolonial and Postimperial Literature. maintained by George Landow

CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts - "Developed at University College Cork, the Corpus of Electronic Texts project is intended to "bring the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture (in Irish, Latin, Anglo-Norman French, and English) to the Internet in a rigorously scholarly project.""

Concise Dictionary of Irish Writers

Irish Literary Sources and Resources - includes links to background texts, ancient Irish literature and Irish prose fiction.

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 02/29/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT