Islamic Architecture, Art, and Urbanism Library Resources

Visual Resources

Holdings
› Teaching Collection
› Aga Khan Archive

Services
› Research Help



More Resources

ArchNet
› Image Databases
› Map Databases



AKPIA

Textual Resources


Rotch Access in RVC
rotch-access@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides    

Islamic Architecture,
Art, and Urbanism
Visual Resources

Map Databases

Academic and Institutional Databases

Cartes géographiques numériques (Bibliothèque nationale du Québec)
historical maps of North and South America; zoomable to high resolution

The Catalan Atlas (Bibliothèque nationale de France)
folios of a 14th-century atlas; not zoomable to high resolution

CIA Maps of the World
web interface does not zoom to high resolution but downloadable PDF versions capture detail very well and are zoomable

Digital Chart of the World (Pennsylvania State University)
downloads in a variety of formats: GIS data, GIFs images (with multiple options for types of data to embed in map), and longitude and latitude lists for borders of countries

Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Antique Maps Database
Primarily of China, also Africa and Arabian Peninsula

James Ford Bell Library's Historical Map Collection (University of Minnesota)
searchable by mapmaker, region, or date; resolution quality varies

Library of Congress Map Collections: 1500-2004
thematic historical maps; primarily, but not exclusively, US and N. America; also:
Ortelius' Theatrum Orbis Terrarum
Agnese Atlas
Geographical Fun Atlas

Maps of the Middle East (Princeton University)
maps from two important atlases of Islam

OSSHE Historical & Cultural Atlas Resource (University of Oregon and Universität Münster)
selection of interactive maps depicting elements of American and European history; some of the maps require Shockwave

Perry-Castaneda Map Library (University of Texas)
rich source of current and historical maps—by theme and region; excellent resolution; links to other websites with maps including historical maps of the middle east

Ryhiner Project (City and University Library Berne)
selection of historical maps; none available in high resolution

United Nations Cartographic Section
basic outline maps in high resolution

 

Nonacademic Databases

Cartography Associates' Visual Collections
offering free access to map collections from a number of institutions; wide selection of historical maps; excellent zoom interface by Luna Insight

Contextual Guide and Internet Index to Western Civilization
selection of historical maps; resolution only good enough for reference

Education Place
very basic outline maps (world and individual countries)

Geography Network
rich source of downloadable maps and data with many possible layers of data types and content

Historical Atlas of the 20th Century
thematic maps and data across a variety of events and social and economic trends

Lebanon Atlas Map Search
basic outline maps; zoomable to the city level

National Geographic Society
many maps and cultural and historical photos

Quick Maps
source for quick reference, with maps and almanac-like country data

Turkey in Maps
rich source of information; few of the images are high resolution or enlargeable


Portals for Maps of the Islamic World and Beyond

All the Worlds Maps

British Library Map Collection

Oddens' Bookmarks

United Nations University Map Page

World of Maps/Die Welt der Karten




This page was last updated on 04/22/08
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT