Islamic Architecture, Art, and Urbanism Library Resources

Databases, Indexes, Journals

Major Architectural Histories

Charters/Legislation on Architectural Preservation

Reference Works

Links to Schools of Architecture of Islamic Interest



More Resources

ArchNet

Aga Khan Trust for Culture

Visual Resources



Omar Khalidi
Islamic Architecture Librarian
okhalidi@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides    

Islamic Architecture,
Art, and Urbanism
Textual Resources

Databases, Indexes, and Journals

Databases and E-Journals

Databases for Islamic Architecture
E-Journals for Islamic Architecture

The links above will connect to the Vera database of MIT's electronic resources.


Islamic Architecture Indexes

The most pertinent online indexes are

Relevant bibliographies in Rotch Library are

  • A Bibliography of the Architecture, Arts and Crafts of Islam, by K.A.C. Creswel. American University at Cairo Press, 1961, and supplements [one] and two. (Reference ZN6260.C923)
  • Materials Acquired. The Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture of Harvard University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1979-1985. Library Materials Acquired, MIT, 1993-1996. 1997. Cambridge, Mass. (Reference ZNA380.A3)
  • Annual Report. The Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture of Harvard University and Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1981-1993. Cambridge, Mass. (Reference NA2300.A3.A3) Reports from 1985-86 to 1991-1992 inlcude a section on publications acquired by the Rotch Library and the Fine Arts Library at Harvard University.


Key Periodicals

The periodicals noted below specialize in coverage of architecture and planning in Islamic and developing countries. Online or in paper in the Rotch Library periodicals collection.

  • Alam al-Bina. (Cairo). In Arabic, occasional subtitles in English. Available online at ArchNet.
  • Arab World Geographer. (Toronto, Canada). In English and French. Indexes available online.
  • Ars Islamica, 1934-1951. (University of Michigan Press). (Rotch Stacks: N7260.A779)
  • Ars Orientalis. (Washington). Chiefly in English, some articles in French and German. (Rotch N7260.A781) Available online at ArchNet.
  • al-Bena'a, 1979-. (Riyadh). In Arabic, with English summaries.
  • Environmental Design: Journal of the Islamic Environmental Design Research Centre. (Rome). Online.
  • al-Madinah al-Arabiyah. (Kuwait). In Arabic, with focus on management of Arab cities.
  • Medina. (Paris). In Arabic and English. Architecture, interiors, and fine arts. Online.
  • Mimar: Architecture in Development, 1981-1992. (London). In English. Architecture and urban design of the Islamic world. Online.
  • Muqarnas, 1983-. (Yale University Press). In English. (Rotch Reserve: N6260.M83). Online.
  • International Development and Planning Review: IDPR,2002-. Formerly Third World Planning Review, 1979-2001. (Liverpool). Focus on housing and physical planning. Online.
  • Trialog, 1983-. (Darmstadt). In German, with English summaries.




This page was last updated on 05/09/05
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT