Databases

Selected Web Sites

Paper Resources





Sloan School of Management


Millicent Gaskell
Dewey Library
mrg@mit.edu



MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Industry Information

Paper Resources

Industry Studies

Dewey Library holds some studies on individual industries. To find books, theses, government documents, or working papers on specific industries, the best strategy is to conduct a Subject Begins With, Subject Keyword, or Keyword Search in the Library Catalog, Barton. Other options for industry information include the following resources:

Encyclopedia of American Industries
Two volumes. Volume 1: manufacturing industries. Volume 2: service and non-manufacturing. For each industry, information includes an overview, organization and structure, background and development, bibliography for further information, and some or all of the following: basic statistics, current conditions, industry leaders, workforce, research and technology.
Reference Collection - HC102.E53

Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Detailed information on 125 industries of global significance.
Reference Collection - HD2324.E53

Manufacturing and Distribution U.S.A.: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading Companies. (Formed by the union of "Manufacturing U.S.A." and "Wholesale and Retail Trade U.S.A.")
Statistics on over 850 industries.
Reference Collection - HD9721.M364

Market Share Reporter
Market share data for companies, products, and industries. It includes some tables and graphs. Dewey Library holdings go back to 1991.
Reference Collection - HF5410.M35 (Latest edition is on Reference)
Stacks - HF5410.M35 (Previous editions)

Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys
Provides a textual analysis for 22 broad industry categories which are broken down into more specific subsets.
Journals- Latest issues are on Reserve

US Industry and Trade Outlook
This publication continues the US Global Trade Outlook which continues the classic US Industrial Outlook. The text provides an overview of 50 broad industry groups, following the SIC guidelines for industry definition. Each chapter looks at world market share, US trade and export dependence and import penetration, output and output per worker, and trends and forecasts tables.
Reference Collection - HC106.5.A54 (Latest edition is on Reference)
Stacks - HC106.5.A54 (Previous editions)

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code:

The US government uses a system of numeric codes to categorize companies by the type of business in which each is engaged. The SIC system begins with nine major categories -- agriculture, forestry, and fishing; mining; construction; manufacturing; transportation, communications, and public utilities; wholesale trade; retail trade; finance, insurance, and real estate; and services. These groups are divided into two-digit codes, then broken down to three-digit industry groups and finally into four-digit industry codes. Businesses engaged in the same activity, regardless of size or type of ownership, have the same SIC code. Many business information sources are organized by the SIC codes. The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) was devised to bring together the systems of Canada, Mexico, and the United States. While this code was to go into effect in 1997, it has yet to be adopted by industry and the public at large. The following manuals are guides to these codes:

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Manual
The official US government manual which provides SIC codes at the 2-digit and 4-digit levels.
Reference Collection - HA40.I6.U587 1987

Standard Industrial Classification Manual: SIC 2+2
Published by Dun & Bradstreet Information Resources, this manual takes the standard, 4-digit, government codes and expands them to 8-digits. This allows for a more specific classification system which is reflected in the excellent index to products and services.
Reference Collection - HA40.I6.U5876 1988

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The joint classification system of Canada, Mexico, and the United States. The codes are broken down to 5- and 6-digit classifications.
Reference Collection - HF1042.N67 2002

Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Compiles statistics on the industrial, social, political and economic aspects of the US The tables cite the sources for the statistics provided, leading to further numbers and analysis.
Reference Collection - HA202.A2 (latest edition)
Stacks - HA202.A2 (previous editions)

Census of Manufactures
Taken every 5 years by the US Department of Commerce, this census includes statistics on employment, payroll, inventories, capital expenditures, and selected manufacturing costs. It includes SIC Major Groups 20-37.
Reference Collection - HD9724.A211

Annual Survey of Manufactures
This survey supplements the Census of Manufactures.
Reference Collection - HD9724.A211

Industrial Financial Statistics

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
The Almanac provides measures of operating performance, of liquidity, debt servicing ability, profitability, and measures for investor analysis, across all industries. Industries are broken down to the 4-digit SIC level. These ratios provide reference points for individual company analysis as well as industry-to-industry analysis.
Reference Collection - HF5681.R25.T8644 (also available on CD-ROM)

Mergent Industry Review
Comparative statistics for 137 industries. Contains key financial information, rankings, ratios, growth rates, and other data for over 6000 companies.
Reference Collection - HG4961.M68 (latest edition)
Basement - HG4961.M68 (previous editions)

Robert Morris Associates (RMA) Annual Statement Studies
This text contains composite financial data collected from financial statements submitted by borrowers to banks that are members of Robert Morris Associates, the national association of bank loan & credit officers. Financial data covers manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contractor industries.
Reference Collection - HF5681.B2.R642

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 10/18/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT