Databases Selected Web Sites Paper Resources
This guide is a starting point for Industry Research. It lists selected electronic and print resources in this area.
For starting points for specific research questions on industries, see the Dewey Research Advisor. If you need additional assistance, Ask Us!
Other guides that may be useful:
Marketing
Company-U.S.
Company- International
ABI/Inform Global (Covers over 1,600 U.S. and international journals in business and management, 1971 - present) (MIT only) Business and Industry (Articles from trade publications covering industries, products, markets and companies) (MIT only)
Business Monitor (Provides industry sector, economic, political and company research on 175 countries including strong coverage of emerging markets) (MIT only)
Business Source Premier (Covers over 8,000 scholarly journals and popular publications in business and management, plus industry profiles from Datamonitor) (MIT only) Factiva (Database of news and business publications, media transcripts and company reports) (MIT only)
Frost & Sullivan (Global market research reports covering aerospace & defense; chemicals, materials, & foods; communication & IT; consumer products; electronics; environment & energy; healthcare; industrial automation; and transportation) (MIT only: certificates required)
Global Market Information Database (GMID) (Marketing-related product and industry information for 209 countries) (MIT only: certificates required) Hoover’s Online (Covers in-depth information on nearly 14,000 companies, both private and public, and US and non-US.) (MIT only) Investext (Analysts' research reports from investment banks, brokerages and consulting firms) (MIT only) ISI Emerging Markets (Business news and financial data from emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe) (MIT only) LexisNexis Academic (Full text of thousands of business and news publications) (MIT only) LexisNexis Statistical (Indexing and abstracts for over 100,000 U.S. government and non-government statistical publications with links to selected full text documents and agency web sites. Selected tables can be imported to spreadsheets.) (MIT only)
Mergent Online (Provides reports on over 20 industries for North America, Europe, Asia Pacific, and the world; as well as detailed company information.) (MIT only)
Plunkett Research Online (Trends, statistics, and company profiles for different industries) (MIT only)
Sports Business Research Network (Data and articles covering the sports and fitness industries) (MIT only)
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys (via Market Insight) (In-depth reports on over 90 industries, incorporated into 54 reports.) (MIT only) TableBase (Focuses on tabular information, primarily industry-related figures. Statistics include market share and brand rankings, global market size, industry forecasts, trends, time series, and demographics. Tables are linked to full text articles.) (MIT only)
This page was last updated on 10/18/07