Ask Us!

Databases and E-Journals

Academic

Federal Government

State Government

Local Government

International

Affordable Housing

Other Organizations






Peter Cohn
Associate Head & Instruction Coordinator
Rotch Library
pcohn@mit.edu





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Housing

Electronic Resources

Databases and E-Journals

Databases for Housing
E-Journals for Housing

The links above will connect to the Vera database of MIT's electronic resources.


Academic

Housing Information Gateway (University of Colorado)
Links to housing-related non-profits and government agencies, listservs, lists of housing scholars and other resources

Joint Center for Housing Studies (Harvard University)
A Harvard research center focusing on housing in the United States, the JCHS site includes the full text of many of their publications.

Government

Federal

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Develoment

HUD USER
Find HUD publications, datasets, descriptions of current research projects and more.

Millenial Housing Commission
The full-text of the Commission's report:
Meeting Our Nation's Housing Challenges.

USDA Rural Housing Service

State

National Council of State Housing Agencies
In addition to information on this organization, there are links to housing agencies in most states.

Massachusetts Dept. of Housing & Community Development

Massachusetts Housing Finance Agency (MassHousing)
An independent public agency providing financing for the development of affordable housing (both rental and owned) in Massachusetts.

Massachusetts Housing Partnership
A statewide public non-profit organization that develops and preserves affordable housing in Massachusetts.

Local

Cambridge Mass. Community Development Dept. Housing Division

City of Boston's Housing Page
Links to housing-related city agencies including the Boston Housing Authority

International

Forum: Habitat in Developing Countries (from the Politecnico de Torino, Italy)
A very useful site with publications and links to organizations concerned with the built environment in developing countries. Some of the information is in Italian only.

Communities and Local Government Housing Page (United Kingdom)
Links to agencies, research and statistics on housing in the UK.

United Nations Human Settlements Programme

Affordable Housing

The Affordable Housing Design Advisor
Includes case studies of successful affordable housing development complete with specifics on construction costs, architects, project funders etc.

Fannie Mae
"...the nation's largest source of financing for home mortgages"

Housing Assistance Council
Nonprofit organization providing assistance to local organizations involved in affordable housing in the rural U.S.

Housing and Community Development Knowledgeplex
"...(a) comprehensive interactive resource for the affordable housing and community development field." Registration (free) is required to access some of the material on this web page.

Citizen's Housing and Planning Association
"...the non-profit umbrella organization for affordable housing and community development activities throughout Massachusetts. "

National Housing Conference
A "...nonprofit...public policy and affordable housing advocacy organization."

Other Organizations

Centre on Housing Rights and Evictions
Based in Switzerland, this site contains a collection of publications on housing rights. Also has an extensive list of links to other sites relating to housing and human rights.

Urban Institute
Washington think tank covering many aspects of urban policy including housing. Many of their publications are available at this site. To see a list of their housing research publications click here.

 

 

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 10/18/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT