Ask Us!

History databases

History
E-journals

The links above will connect to the Vera database of MIT's electronic resources.


MIT History Faculty


Michelle Baildon
History, Science, Technology & Society, Philosophy and Anthropology Librarian
baildon@MIT.EDU




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      monitor

History

Selected Web Resources

African American Perspectives (Library of Congress)
Timeline of African American History, 1852-1925 from the American Memory Collection.

American and British History Resources on the Internet (Rutgers)
Has links to the most authoritative American and British history web sites. Includes maps and statistics.

American Historical Association
Web site of the largest historical association in the United States. Serves as the umbrella organisation for historians working in every period and geographical area.

American Slave Narratives (University of Virginia)
A sample of interviews with ex-slaves that took place between 1936 and 1938. Includes photographs and an annotated index.

American Studies Electronic Crossroads (Georgetown University)
A international, interdisciplinary project of the American Studies Association, giving access to a vast amount of American Studies resources, curricula, workshops and institutes.

Ancient World Mapping Center
Maps of the Ancient World from the University of North Carolina.

The Ancient World Web (Julia Hayden)
Indexes 1247 sites, including 200 of the most authoritative ancient history web sites.

Best of History Website (Thomas Daccord)
Award winning web site which rates the sites to which it has links.

Bibliography of the History of Western Sexuality 1700-1945
Created and maintained by Franz Eder of the University of Vienna. Contains about 16,000 titles of primary and secondary literature of the history of sexuality in Europe, Canada and the United States.

CESAR database
Created and maintained by Jeff Ravel of MIT, Barry Russell of Oxford Brookes University, and David Trott of Toronto University. Details the plays, people and performance spaces that graced the French theatre during the 17th and 18th centuries, from the dawn of the age of public playhouses to the French Revolution.

A Century of Lawmaking For a New Nation - U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873.

Early Modern Women Database (University of Maryland)
Web resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas. It focuses on the period from ca. 1500 to ca. 1800 and includes links to Web sites about the Medieval period and 19th Century.

Labyrinth WWW Home Page (Georgetown University)
Links to major resources in Medieval Studies.

Lewis and Clark
The full text of the 1814 Biddle edition of the journals produced by the University of Cincinnati.

Making of America (University of Michigan)
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Moise's Bibliography of the Vietnam War (Clemson University)
Primarily a bibliography of books; few articles are listed.

NetSERF (Columbia University)
Medieval resources, including, maps, bibliographies, and journals.

Organization of American Historians
Web site of the largest learned society devoted to the study of American history.

ORB: the Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
Includeds peer reviewed articles, an encyclopedia, and full text books.

TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
Tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 6%).

United States Military Academy War Maps
Campaign and battle atlases and maps from the battle of Marathon (490 B.C.) through to Somalia (1993).

World Wide Web Virtual Library of European History
Comprehensive resource with links to authoritative sites on the history of European countries from the European University Institute, Florence, Italy.

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 04/02/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT