Ask Us!

Web Resources

Print Resources



MIT Program in Science, Technology and Society

MIT History Faculty


Michelle Baildon
History, History of Science and Technology, Philosophy and Anthropology Librarian
baildon@MIT.EDU





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      edison

Science, Technology & Society

Selected Print Resources

Dictionaries, Biographical Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias | History of Science | History of Technology | History of Medicine | History of Mathematics

 

Dictionaries, Biographical Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias

American Men and Women of Science
Humanities Reference Q141.A512

Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical Sciences / Gratten-Guinness, I ed.
Humanities Reference QA21.C645 1994

Companion to the History of Modern Science / Cantor et al. eds.
Humanities Reference Q125.C565 1990

A Dictionary of the History of Science / Sebastian, A.
Humanities Reference Q124.8.S43 2001

Dictionary of Concepts in the Philosophy of Science / Durbin, P.T.
Humanities Stacks Q174.7.D87 1988

Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Humanities Reference Q141.D554

Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History / Raul Rojas, R. et al, eds.
Humanities Reference QA76.15.E53 2001

Encyclopedia of the History of Science, Technology and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures / Selin, H. ed.
Humanities Reference Q124.8.E53 1997

The History of Science in the United States: An Encyclopedia / Rothenberg, Marc ed.
Humanities Reference Q127.U6 H57 2001

National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoirs
Science Stacks Q141.N271

Oxford Companion to the History of Science
Humanities Reference Q125.Q86 2003

 

History of Science

History of Science: a Guide to the Second Scientific Revolution 1800-1950
Humanities Reference Q125.B88 1988

History of Science: Comprising First Editions of Brahe, Copernicus…Important Books on the Development of the Telescope, Early Chemical Books..as well as a few other Important Old Medical Books: including first editions of Auenbrugger
Off Campus Collection Q125.E64x 1938

History of Science and Medicine through the Centuries: Astronomy, Cosmography, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Alchemy, Electricity, Magnetism, Natural History, Medince, and Allied Subjects / Johnson, W.J.
Humanities Stacks Q125.H57x 1930z

History of Science in the United States: a Critical and Selective Bibliography /Rothenberg, Marc.
Humanities Reference and Stacks ZQ125.R67 1982

History of Science and Technology: a Select Bibliography for Students / Rider, Kenneth.
Humanities Stacks ZQ125.R544 1970

History of Science in the United States: a Chronology and Research Guide / Clark A. Elliot.
Humanities Stacks Q125.E45 1996

New American State Papers: Science and Technology 1789-1860 / Brush, Stephen.
Humanities States Q127.U6.U485 1973

Memoirs of the Fellows of the Royal Society
Science Reference Q41.R887.B6

Reader’s Guide to the History of Science / Hessenbruch, A., ed.
Humanities Reference Q125.R337 2000

Scientific Laws, Principles and Theories: A Reference Guide / Krebs, R.E.
Humanities Reference Q158.5.K74 2001

 

History of Technology

Electronic Inventions and Discoveries: Electronics from Its Earliest Beginnings to the Present Day / Dummer, G.W.A. 4th ed.
Humanities Reference TK7809.D85 1997

History of Science and Technology: a Narrative Chronology. Vol 1 Prehistory – 1900. Vol 2 1900-1970 / Facts on File.
Humanities Stacks Q125.S43713 1988

History of Technology (serial)
Humanities Stacks T14.7.H57

A History of Technology / Singer, Charles, and Williams, Trevor eds.
Humanities Reference, Science Stacks, Dewey Stacks, Barker Stacks T15.S617

A History of Technology and Invention: Progress Through the Ages. Vol 1 The Origins of Technological Civilization. Vol 2 The Expansion of Mechanization 1725-1860 / Daumas, Maurice ed.
Humanities Stacks T15.D241

History of Telecommunications Technology: an Annotated Bibliography / Sterling, Christopher and Shiers, George
Humanities Stacks TK102.2.S74 2000

Wheels, Clocks and Rockets: a History of Technology / Cardwell, Donald
Humanities Stacks T15.C373 2001

 

History of Medicine

A Dictionary of the History of Medicine / Sebastian, A.
Humanities Reference R121.S398 1999

Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine / Bynum, W.F. & Porter, R. eds.
Humanities Reference R133.E5 1993



History of Mathematics

World of Mathematics / Newman, James
Dewey Stacks, Barker Stacks, Science Stacks QA.N553 GH


 


empty

This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:31 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT